FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 42
  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3
    No, nothing special, it just refused to behave with the ADC monitor but smoothe as silk with the Sony....insert disks and go!

  2. #17
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by machead
    No, nothing special, it just refused to behave with the ADC monitor but smoothe as silk with the Sony....insert disks and go!
    Okay..

    Were you able to go back and use your ADC monitor or did FC5 puke at this?

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3
    I didn't try but if you have another monitor for the install, it would be worth having a go. I've since sold the Cube so I can't experiment.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Toulouse, France
    Posts
    8
    Hello,

    I am a newbie on this forum, and I am trying to install fedora on a PowerBook G4.
    But the first step which is to burn the bootable iso is not working for me.
    Please, if this is not the correct thread to ask this question feel free to route
    me to the appropriate forum.

    Thank you for your advices.

    Sincerely,

    Jcast

    ---
    Technical details

    I downloaded the CDs from the site and the sha1sum program from:
    ftp://ftp.free.fr/mirrors/fedora.red...ore/5/ppc/iso/

    I checked my download was OK:
    sha1sum -c SHA1SUM.txt
    FC-5-ppc-rescuecd.iso: OK
    FC-5-ppc-disc1.iso: OK
    FC-5-ppc-disc2.iso: OK
    FC-5-ppc-disc3.iso: OK
    FC-5-ppc-disc4.iso: OK
    FC-5-ppc-disc5.iso: OK

    Then I checked my cdrecord program was working fine by burning a copy of my original
    MacOSX cd:
    disktool -u disk2s2 ; cdrecord dev=IODVDServices driveropts=burnfree -sao speed=4 disk2.cdr
    [...]
    Track 02: Total bytes read/written: 2960891904/2960891904 (1445748 sectors).

    Using system preference the disk shows as bootable, and I also try to boot (holding the 'C' key)
    on my PowerBook G4 which worked fine.

    I did this to check my process was fine. I also used disk utilities to burn and obtained also
    a good bootable image.

    Then I burned the disk FC-5-ppc-disc1.iso using the same command. The cdrecord burning
    process worked fine but the disk is not bootable. neither does "system preferences" sees it
    as bootable.

    The process using disk utilities also failed.
    So I am questioning whether the image available on the site is really bootable
    or I did something wrong...

    PowerBook G4
    Type de processeur : PowerPC G4 (2.1)
    Vitesse du processeur : 667 MHz
    Mémoire : 512 Mo
    Vitesse du bus : 133 MHz
    Version de la ROM de démarrage : 4.2.9f1

    PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-K05 :
    Révision du programme interne : 1.03
    Interconnexion : ATAPI
    Gestion de la gravure : Oui (livraison/gestion par Apple)
    Cache : 2000 Ko
    Lecture de DVD : Oui
    CD gravables : -R, -RW
    DVD gravables : -R, -RW, +R, +RW, +R DL
    Stratégies d’écriture : CD-TAO, CD-SAO, CD-Raw, DVD-DAO

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by jeancasteres
    Hello,

    I am a newbie on this forum, and I am trying to install fedora on a PowerBook G4.
    I have the same problems on my G4 grey box

    Mike

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Toulouse, France
    Posts
    8
    Hello Mike,

    I posted more info on another maillist one level up, Burn PPC5 iso for PowerBook G4 problems.
    I did not get successful yet, I am wondering if maybe i should use an older version to test if a
    problem was introduced on recent distribs, and then track what maybe the root cause...

    Sincerely,

    Jean Casteres

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Rimini IT
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2

    Post Posting here waiting the solution

    Hi ALL!
    Respect, I post here to be informed when someone post here and or can boot mac Pro intel Core based with the first installation CD of FC6...
    Regards
    GioMBG

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1
    I just successfully installed Fedora Core 6 on a G4 Cube with an ADC monitor connected. Here is the magic line to use at the "boot:" prompt:

    HTML Code:
    linux video=ofonly resolution=1024x768

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Age
    73
    Posts
    15
    Hey I'm with you brother.

    I have a whole ware house full of 43P-140's, 43p-150, a B-50 , four H50's, two F-40's, two F-50' and 4 6F1's. (one of hte 6F1 has 16 gig of ram and 4 way 750 mhz procs, as well as 2 36 Gig drives and 12 73 gig drives that is all mine to play with. God wouldnt hat make a killer Fedora Linux box. Then I have a 620 power4 and Lpar capable and a 52A (two way power5 with two four packs of 146 gig SCSI drives. (That is a test and development, customer support box so I can't mess with that, but with dynamic LPARing I can put a Linux in a LPAR.

    maybe can have a IBM PPC thread and leave all the fruit worshipers of Cupertino to have their own place.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    STLMO
    Posts
    340
    Does this guide still apply with the current Fedora's, 8 & 9? I wouldn't mind installing it on my G4 mini mac. Are there different ways to install on an external hard drive?

    Thnx.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Toulouse, France
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by ghostdawg
    Does this guide still apply with the current Fedora's, 8 & 9? I wouldn't mind installing it on my G4 mini mac. Are there different ways to install on an external hard drive?

    Thnx.
    I would say no: I did not try it and it is old.

    Sincerely,

    Jean Casteres

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Iceland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    41
    I have a G5 PPC and I'm wondering if something is different from Fedora for I386 then PPC ?

    Can I run wine ?

    I know this is not the place to ask this but maybe some of you know, does Red Hat Enterprise run on PPC, can't seem to find info on it, maybe that means it's not available

  13. #28
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1

    ?? I have not read the entire thread but..

    Quote Originally Posted by armann
    I have a G5 PPC and I'm wondering if something is different from Fedora for I386 then PPC ?

    Can I run wine ?

    I know this is not the place to ask this but maybe some of you know, does Red Hat Enterprise run on PPC, can't seem to find info on it, maybe that means it's not available
    - I think they are different so try to find programs for the PPC version format there may not be as many programs as the I386 version, is my theory, but it could be wrong, i'm bit of a newbie to the Fedora 10 OS on the PPC 7400 G4 500Mhz Machine so I think the only thing you can do is search the packages manager that you use for programs? I'm not sure you could find some packages for your version PPC on certain web pages too...

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    4
    I am having trouble with my mac dual G5 after installing fedora 10.

    I'm a bit novice in linux , and the http://www.bytebot.net/geekdocs/ibook/fedorappc.html
    is over my intelligence.

    -I bought a new hard drive (250 gb) clean
    -Tried installing fedora 11 (did not recognize hard drive)
    -downloaded fedora 10 , (burned it on dvd)
    -started my dual G5 with only the 250 gb hard drive(empty )
    -booted the dvd with "C"
    -pressed linux
    -than it booted up to install
    -set all the installing parameters
    -installed (successfully - at least that's how it said)
    -clicked my reboot button
    -and it said : " disabling swap
    unmouting filesystems
    Sending termination signals
    sending kill signals
    rebooting system
    restarting system. "
    - I hear the apple gong but the screen remains frozen with this "quotes"
    - If i turn down the G5 from button , the next time it start's it boot's from dvd (or if i don't have the dvd in it it dose not boot - appears a folder in the middle of the screen- it requires dvd - i think)

    What should i do?? (it's urgent )

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Anchorage, Ak.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    2

    Digital Audio Dual 533

    I have to say I'm mighty impressed with 11 works great out of the box. Even with basic graphics everything is great. Tried Ubuntu, Gentoo, Debian to name a few. All tanked horribly. Not my first time using Fedora, though all other times were on x86 machines.

    Machine:

    Digital Audio Dual 533
    1.5gig ram
    76gig main drive
    120gig slave
    DVD-R/CDRW

    Nathan

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Guide to VNC and Fedora
    By stlouis in forum Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 30th January 2012, 11:12 PM
  2. Guide for Fedora Core 8
    By karthik2fun in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th July 2008, 11:07 AM
  3. Fedora 8 Guide
    By strikeforce in forum Fedora Focus
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th November 2007, 05:00 AM
  4. [Fedora ] Guide me please ^^
    By Takashi^^ in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd May 2006, 11:35 AM
  5. Guide for Fedora Linux
    By harrisxml in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th February 2006, 07:27 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •