libgcc_s.so.1 problem
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Gremmie Guest

    libgcc_s.so.1 problem

    I just got a Fedora Core 6 AMD64 dedicated server, and I have no clue what I'm doing.

    I have downloaded the linux teamspeak server from goteamspeak.com. When I try to run it I get this:

    $ ./server_linux
    libgcc_s.so.1 must be installed for pthread_cancel to work
    Aborted

    I'm totally guessing here, but is this because it wants the 32-bit version of libgcc? I believe I have the 64 bit version of that library:

    Code:
    ]$ locate libgcc
    /lib64/libgcc_s-4.0.0-20050520.so.1
    /lib64/libgcc_s-4.1.2-20070626.so.1
    /lib64/libgcc_s.so.1
    /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-redhat-linux/4.1.1/libgcc.a
    /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-redhat-linux/4.1.1/libgcc_eh.a
    /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-redhat-linux/4.1.1/libgcc_s.so
    /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-redhat-linux/4.1.1/32/libgcc.a
    /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-redhat-linux/4.1.1/32/libgcc_eh.a
    /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-redhat-linux/4.1.1/32/libgcc_s.so
    /usr/sbin/libgcc_post_upgrade
    /usr/share/doc/libgcc-4.0.0
    /usr/share/doc/libgcc-4.1.2
    /usr/share/doc/libgcc-4.0.0/COPYING.LIB
    /usr/share/doc/libgcc-4.1.2/COPYING.LIB
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Gremmie Guest
    Is it as simple as obtaining an older rpm and doing something like:

    rpm -i --replacepkgs libgcc-3.4.4-2.fc3.i386.rpm

    ?

    Or do I need to build it from source? And if I do --replacepkgs will it really replace my 64-bit version or just allow the install of the 32-bit side by side?
    Last edited by Gremmie; 20th February 2008 at 04:29 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    74
    Posts
    23,880
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You may be right about this program looking for the 32bit version, but perhaps it's not looking in the expected place. Of course, with Fedora 6, there isn't support for it anymore but I'm sure you can find it with RPMPbone. However, I'm running Fedora8 32bit and here's what my search reveals:

    [bob1@localhost ~]$ locate libgcc
    /home/bob1/google-earth/libgcc_s.so.1
    /lib/libgcc_s-4.1.2-20070925.so.1
    /lib/libgcc_s.so.1
    /usr/lib/gcc/i386-redhat-linux/4.1.2/libgcc.a
    /usr/lib/gcc/i386-redhat-linux/4.1.2/libgcc_eh.a
    /usr/lib/gcc/i386-redhat-linux/4.1.2/libgcc_s.so
    /usr/lib/openoffice.org/program/libgcc3_uno.so
    /usr/sbin/libgcc_post_upgrade
    /usr/share/doc/libgcc-4.1.2
    /usr/share/doc/libgcc-4.1.2/COPYING.LIB

    So, maybe by creating the appropriate directories and then copying over the lib to the expected place, you can bypass the problem.
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

  4. #4
    Gremmie Guest
    Yeah, I've tried:

    ln -s /lib64/libgcc_s.so.1 /lib/libgcc_s.so.1

    But no go.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    74
    Posts
    23,880
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, you can still grab the Fedora6 32bit version through http://rpm.pbone.net/ I'd dump the symlink and then go with the 'rpm -ivh install *.rpm'. Can't hurt, might be the trick.
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

  6. #6
    Gremmie Guest
    Bob, thanks for taking the time to help a noob out. I obtained the last rpm for Fedora 6 from rpm.pbone.net, then did:

    rpm -ivh libgcc-4.1.2-13.fc6.i386.rpm

    And voila it installed it into /lib. And now my app is running! Thanks so much!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    74
    Posts
    23,880
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great! And pat yourself on the back, you're the one who figured out the real underlying problem.
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

Similar Threads

  1. libgcc_s.so.1 => GCC_4.2.0
    By Lopekal in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 30th June 2006, 03:37 PM
  2. Upgrade to Test 3 has no libgcc_s.so.1
    By jsrad in forum Fedora Core 5 - Dev
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25th February 2006, 02:21 PM
  3. libgcc_s.so.1 config issue
    By CTR_Mint in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11th November 2005, 11:01 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •