FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    vodamaxe Guest

    Howt o easely "install" Truecrypt 5 at Fedora (8)

    For those of you that want to take advantage of new the truecrypt 5 features:

    there is no (precompiled) Fedora-package at the truecrypt download page.
    Howver, the Ubuntu binaries seem to work fine with Fedora (8) - even the GUI.

    How to "install" it:

    download the UBUNTU package from http://www.truecrypt.org/downloads.php

    extract the archive: gives you a file called truecrypt_5.0-0_i386.deb
    open this file with “archive manager”
    gives you: data.tar.gz
    open this file also with “archive manager” -> this shows a “.” folder inside the archiv. below that folder (still inside the archive) you can see a “bin” and “share” folder. the share folder contains the documentation. the bin folder finaly contains the truecrypt binary. simply extract it to your favourite place - and run it.

    works great (including the GUI) at my Fedora (8) machine.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    216
    Ha sweet.

    How easy.


    About time.

    Heres a archive of just the file needed if anyone wants it.
    http://212.125.94.168/truecrypt5.tar.gz

    .
    Last edited by lynxus; 12th February 2008 at 12:46 PM.

  3. #3
    Cod Guest
    That does indeed work,

    You can however just download the Suse rpm, extra it from the tar.gz file it is distributed in, and then either using the graphical rpm installer or from the command line

    sudo rpm -ivh truecrypt-5.0a-0.i586.rpm

    Even easier

    Cod

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    43
    Posts
    179
    Thanks!

    Finally I have TrueCrypt running on Fedora

    I tried the Suse rpm and it worked great.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    89
    hrmmm... interesting i could not get the suse rpm to work but the ubuntu one worked.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    323
    I got some unresolved dependencies for the rpm.

  7. #7
    vodamaxe Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by ms1234
    I got some unresolved dependencies for the rpm.
    Well, did you tried then to just simply extract the software like described at the very first post of this thread ? To simply extract a file of a archive - dependencies do not matter ...

    Of course, installing software using yum or rpm commands should be always the preferred way - well, anyway, as long as there is no Fedora package - we have to workaround - do we ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    138
    Works like a charm THANKS!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    77
    I moved it to /usr/bin/ and get "permission denied" (regardless of being user or root).

  10. #10
    Cod Guest
    manoynmonic, have you checked the access permissions on the file. If you type 'ls -la' and check the file you have copied over has the same permissions as the other files in that directory.

    Have you tried using the rpm install as root or using sudo?, as that is the easier method and the route you should always take where possible.

    I agree with other posters, it does seem daft that the fedora team have not included this in the standard repos as it is becoming a bit of a standard for data transfer , and is cross platform.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    216
    You could try downloading "just the file needed" from my server.. http://212.125.94.168/truecrypt5.tar.gz

    extract it to somewhere.

    then do a.
    chown yourusername:yourusername truecrypt

    and

    chmod +x truecrypt

    then try.
    ./truecrypt

    Maybe be set as root user when doing it?




    ALSO:
    You could just try compiling form source!
    see http://www.hauntednipple.co.uk the only thing on that site is a walkthrough on how to compile TC on FC8
    -G
    Last edited by lynxus; 22nd March 2008 at 12:16 PM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    AZ
    Age
    35
    Posts
    43
    Sorry to bring back an old thread, I had a little problem and I'm not sure whats the cause.
    I have an encrypted archive I made back when I was running windows. Its still on the NTFS drive as well, when I try to open the archive with truecrypt It prompted for the archive password, then administrator password. After I type in the admin password I get "Failed to obtain administrator privileges, Sudo: Sorry you must have a TTY to run sudo."

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    89
    wyzzerdd:

    I never did get the gui to work correctly as i always get the same error message as you are recieving. What i have done is just use the command line:

    Code:
    truecrypt ~/your_tc_container.tc ~/some_mount_point
    then to dismount use:

    Code:
    truecrypt -d

    Then I just add tose two commands to my .bashrc file as aliases like this:

    Code:
    alias tcm='truecrypt ~/your_tc_container.tc ~/some_mount_point'
    alias tcd='truecrypt -d'

    Works for me although getting the gui gui would be nice.

    You could always open up truecrypt gui using kdesu/gksu and the errors will go away but then trying to add files to your container under your regular account would be a pain so I just stuck with the command line.
    Last edited by BKJ1; 2nd April 2008 at 08:00 AM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    AZ
    Age
    35
    Posts
    43
    Well it seems to work when I log out then log back in as root, it would be nice to be able to run it without being root but oh well at least it works.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ankara, Turkiye
    Age
    51
    Posts
    15
    Hi BKJ1,
    :-)

    I am using the rpm from:
    I have GUI with this.

    In order to install, you will need "--nogpgcheck" option for yum.
    After it is downloaded, it can be installed as:
    yum localinstall --nogpgcheck truecrypt-5.1-1.i386.rpm
    wyzzerdd, I have a 10 MB file on USB stick, I can use it both on Fedora and windoze without problem.
    Please, give it another try with this one.
    Best Regards.
    ________________
    The Future is Open.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26th August 2008, 02:11 AM
  2. F9 & F8 freeze on "transferring install image..." AND F9 "insufficient disk space"
    By fashionhat in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st July 2008, 02:04 PM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 21st October 2006, 12:10 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd May 2005, 04:59 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd May 2005, 11:08 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •