installation freezes - ASUSTeK SiS900 PCI Fast Ethernet
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    line Guest

    installation freezes - ASUSTeK SiS900 PCI Fast Ethernet

    hi
    everytime i try installing fedora 8, it freezes. i just found out that it might be because of my ASUSTeK SiS900 PCI Fast Ethernet.

    is there any way to disable this? from the bios or directly from the mb?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    48
    Posts
    4,164
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try:
    linux noprobe

  3. #3
    line Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by marcrblevins
    Try:
    linux noprobe
    this stops me keybord from working. i can't install w/o the keyboard

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    48
    Posts
    4,164
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Embedded network card? If so, disable it thru BIOS?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    48
    Posts
    4,164
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Look at:
    http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/l...-bootopts.html

    Not sure which option you need.

  6. #6
    line Guest
    so do i just go to "install or upgrade an existing system (text mode)" press tab and type in "linux noprobe" next to "vmlinuz initrd=initrd.img text"?

  7. #7
    line Guest
    so do i just go to "install or upgrade an existing system (text mode)" press tab and type in "linux noprobe" next to "vmlinuz initrd=initrd.img text"?

  8. #8
    line Guest
    so do i just go to "install or upgrade an existing system (text mode)" press tab and type in "linux noprobe" next to "vmlinuz initrd=initrd.img text"?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    547
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    go into your BIOS as suggested and disabled the network device, then let us know what happens
    * AMD Phenom 9750, 8GB DDR-1066, Gigabyte MA770UD3, ATI X550, F12 64bit
    * Dual Athlon MP2800+, Gigabyte GA-7DPXDWP, 1GB, Centos 5.4

    Linux Rules

  10. #10
    line Guest
    i went back to the bios and i found 'onboard lan' i turned it off.
    started the installer. the same thing happend.,froze

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    547
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i would venture to say that its not he onboard lan causing the problem, its something else. There isnt enough information for me to say more however.
    * AMD Phenom 9750, 8GB DDR-1066, Gigabyte MA770UD3, ATI X550, F12 64bit
    * Dual Athlon MP2800+, Gigabyte GA-7DPXDWP, 1GB, Centos 5.4

    Linux Rules

  12. #12
    line Guest
    Well I hae an hp pavillion 552w. If you can tell me some commands from linux, i can type them in my terminal and let you know the output. I have suse 10.2 working right now.

Similar Threads

  1. SiS900 pci Fast Ethernet
    By Tom in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th February 2007, 03:42 AM
  2. FC4 and sis900 ethernet problem
    By Confuse in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 8th January 2006, 11:52 PM
  3. sis900 ethernet in fujitsu siemens amilo A1630
    By andyx in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th June 2005, 02:23 AM
  4. Need help with SiS900 Ethernet card
    By jrolands in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd February 2004, 08:26 PM
  5. Need help with SiS900 Ethernet card
    By jrolands in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd February 2004, 07:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •