FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community

F8 keyring automation in KDE?

I'm new to Fedora, but have used Xandros for the past 6 years full-time. F8 (KDE) accurately detected my Intel Wireless card and set up the driver, and it works just fine. I had to put a password for my router into the keyring, and the password I use is long and convoluted. I may have made a mistake the first time I put it into the keyring, and now it does not always start the wireless for me, but continues to prompt me for the password when booting. Two questions:

1) How can I edit the password for wlan0 in the keyring?

2) Can I automate the use of the keyring so that I do not have to unlock the keyring every time I reboot?

I've searched the forum already, and have found some information for F6 and F7, and something about pam somethingorother, but nothing that appears to answer the two questions I have posted here.

Thanks.

Frank.

You haven't done anything wrong.
    As a workaround, there is a pam module that you can use which will use your login password to open your keyring.

If you have auto-login on though, and don't enter a password then this isn't an option.
    This is my single biggest gripe with linux ... I hate putting that password in each time I boot

If anyone has a way of not having to put a password in to allow networkmanager to connect to wlan I would love to know.
    It has been in the pipeline for ages but never seems to arrive.

Talking

Worked ! and so simple ....

I think i'm gonna cry ...

An easier way would of been leaving the default keyring blank. With this script, you have you password exposed in plain text....

Quote Originally Posted by Iron_Mike
    An easier way would of been leaving the default keyring blank. With this script, you have you password exposed in plain text....