npviewer.bin
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 72
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    16,051
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    npviewer.bin

    Getting some errors today. Firefox is hanging but recovering. Seems to be when I view a web page that has embedded video. The problem is related to npviewer.bin, which seems to be related to nspluginwrapper. I have some captured text here, shortened,
    Code:
    System: Linux 2.6.23.8-63.fc8 #1 SMP Wed Nov 21 18:51:08 EST 2007 i686
    X Vendor: The X.Org Foundation
    X Vendor Release: 10300000
    Selinux: No
    Accessibility: Disabled
    GTK+ Theme: Nodoka
    Icon Theme: Echo
    
    Memory status: size: 0 vsize: 0 resident: 0 share: 0 rss: 0 rss_rlim: 0
    CPU usage: start_time: 0 rtime: 0 utime: 0 stime: 0 cutime:0 cstime: 0 timeout: 0 it_real_value: 0 frequency: 0
    
    
    
    ----------- .xsession-errors ---------------------
    compiz (animation) - Error: Number of animation selection effects, durations, matches, and options are not the same.
    compiz (animation) - Error: Number of animation selection effects, durations, matches, and options are not the same.
    compiz (animation) - Error: Number of animation selection effects, durations, matches, and options are not the same.
    compiz (animation) - Error: Number of animation selection effects, durations, matches, and options are not the same.
    compiz (animation) - Error: Number of animation selection effects, durations, matches, and options are not the same.
    compiz (animation) - Error: Number of animation selection effects, durations, matches, and options are not the same.
    compiz (animation) - Error: Number of animation selection effects, durations, matches, and options are not the same.
    That file goes on for days. Here's another, shortened,
    Code:
    System: Linux 2.6.23.8-63.fc8 #1 SMP Wed Nov 21 18:51:08 EST 2007 i686
    X Vendor: The X.Org Foundation
    X Vendor Release: 10300000
    Selinux: No
    Accessibility: Disabled
    GTK+ Theme: Nodoka
    Icon Theme: Echo
    
    Memory status: size: 0 vsize: 0 resident: 0 share: 0 rss: 0 rss_rlim: 0
    CPU usage: start_time: 0 rtime: 0 utime: 0 stime: 0 cutime:0 cstime: 0 timeout: 0 it_real_value: 0 frequency: 0
    
    
    
    ----------- .xsession-errors ---------------------
    compiz (animation) - Error: Number of animation selection effects, durations, matches, and options are not the same.
    (npviewer.bin:14095): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: IA__g_object_newv: construct property "bits-per-sample" for object `GdkPixbuf' can't be set twice
    (npviewer.bin:14095): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: IA__g_object_newv: construct property "has-alpha" for object `GdkPixbuf' can't be set twice
    (npviewer.bin:14095): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: IA__g_object_newv: construct property "width" for object `GdkPixbuf' can't be set twice
    (npviewer.bin:14095): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: IA__g_object_newv: construct property "height" for object `GdkPixbuf' can't be set twice
    (npviewer.bin:14095): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: IA__g_object_newv: construct property "rowstride" for object `GdkPixbuf' can't be set twice
    (npviewer.bin:14095): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: IA__g_object_newv: construct property "pixels" for object `GdkPixbuf' can't be set twice
    compiz (animation) - Error: Number of animation selection effects, durations, matches, and options are not the same.
    compiz (animation) - Error: Number of animation selection effects, durations, matches, and options are not the same.
    Same thing, very long file. Also, the last few lines of dmesg:
    Code:
    npviewer.bin[3260]: segfault at 74646977 eip 0084b85f esp b6c615c0 error 4
    npviewer.bin[3383]: segfault at 68632d6e eip 0084b85f esp b6c785a0 error 4
    npviewer.bin[3476]: segfault at 67696568 eip 0084b85f esp b6c20540 error 4
    npviewer.bin[3507]: segfault at 73776f72 eip 0084b85f esp 0816acb0 error 4
    npviewer.bin[3566]: segfault at 73746962 eip 0084b85f esp 094f0d60 error 4
    npviewer.bin[3661]: segfault at 68632d6e eip 0084b85f esp b6cc0500 error 4
    npviewer.bin[3775]: segfault at 74646977 eip 0084b85f esp b6c515a0 error 4
    npviewer.bin[3832]: segfault at 68632d6e eip 0084b85f esp b6cde5a0 error 4
    npviewer.bin[3863]: segfault at 83e58955 eip 0084b85f esp b6be8500 error 4
    npviewer.bin[3977]: segfault at 73746962 eip 0084b85f esp 08e29d60 error 4
    npviewer.bin[4343]: segfault at 73746962 eip 0084b85f esp b6c495a0 error 4
    npviewer.bin[4495]: segfault at 73746962 eip 0084b85f esp b6cd5540 error 4
    npviewer.bin[12450]: segfault at 73776f72 eip 0084b85f esp 09360db0 error 4
    npviewer.bin[12783]: segfault at 00000034 eip 0084be20 esp bfa7d4a0 error 4
    npviewer.bin[13506]: segfault at 00000034 eip 0084b85f esp b6c624a0 error 4
    There's also lines in the log, var/log/messages (same as dmesg?) like this:
    Dec 9 12:24:16 toshiba kernel: npviewer.bin[13506]: segfault at 00000034 eip 0084b85f esp b6c624a0 error 4

    nspluginwrapper is part of the, flash-plugin package if I'm not mistaken. This is on the laptop. Maybe I should find another flash plugin. Any thoughts?
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Same problem here, you got compiz-fusion on the go? 64 bit?

    im on a toshiba satellite, centrino duo, and shutting down compiz so far has stopped the problem...maybe. the error is intermittent with me.

    gonna start here:
    http://gwenole.beauchesne.info/proje...pluginwrapper/ see if i can find anything

    also
    [root@bizatch nspluginwrapper]# file npviewer
    npviewer: Bourne shell script text executable

    might be something worth looking at

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    16,051
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Toshiba Satellite. Centrino Duo. 32Bit. Compiz-Fusion. I figured that Compiz may have been behind the problem.
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    still crashing with compiz shut down.... not really a problem as everything works ok, just a bit of a mystery to work on.

    how's your pulseaudio setup(working/kinda/gone) did it work out the box or did you make any mods. im curious because it may be related and because we seem to have similar machines(toshiba laptops)
    Last edited by quik69; 10th December 2007 at 01:12 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    16,051
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sound works out of the box. I didn't have to do anything extra. My 'card' is the Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02). PulseAudio is fine.
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Littleton, CO
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,856
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I get that same error, but only when I have 2, or more, flash objects running at the same time.
    EDIT: I'm going to try gnash-plugin and see how things go.
    Last edited by leadgolem; 10th December 2007 at 01:29 AM.
    S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    16,051
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hasn't happened to me since I started this thread. Figures, doesn't it? I was browsing some news web sites this morning and it happened 3 times in 10 minutes or so. Just tried them again and nothing, however, I've installed noscript between then and now.
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Littleton, CO
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,856
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Doesn't happen to me often. Just when I forget and let multiple flash windows play at the same time.

    Don't bother with gnash-plugin. I couldn't get it to play anything flash, either video or games.
    S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.

  9. #9
    xszymonx Guest
    same problem..
    noscript is ok but i need to run flash so when i activate the code firefox just shuts down -> error ...
    can anyone help me ?

    looks like i alredy have a newer version of nsplugwrapper,...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Age
    49
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Same problem here.

    I'm running a LG M1 Laptop, I think the problems begin when either I upgraded to the newst vlc including the mozilla-vlc or the latest adobe flash-plugin.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Littleton, CO
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,856
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't have mozilla-vlc installed at all. Vlc can play flash, so you may have a plugin conflict. Try pulling mozilla-vlc and see if flash stabilizes. It still doesn't run great on here, but one flash object at a time is mostly stable.
    S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.

  12. #12
    xszymonx Guest
    i'm not sure how :/ i cannot find mozilla-vlc in software

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    mozilla-vlc is available in livna as it depends on proprietary codecs.

    You can read more about enabling livna here: http://fedorasolved.org/post-install...yum-config#fc8

    After enabling livna type "yum install mozilla-vlc" as root into some terminal window to install.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Still crashing, but recovering... does anyone else's flash not load(not crash just not load) if a different audio player is running in the background say like xmms?

    also while troubleshooting i ran across this
    mildly ot but it does run flawlessly proving no other audio is going on in the background....

    im thinking this is a pulseaudio issue and thats why npviewer crashes when multiple flash objects(with audio????) are loaded at once.

    any thoughts??

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    trying this now i'll let you guys know..


    update: mission failure
    could not get it to compile, giving up for tonight
    Last edited by quik69; 11th December 2007 at 04:25 AM.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. What is npviewer?
    By oblufire in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st October 2008, 01:59 AM
  2. why is npviewer.bin hogging up my cpu?
    By tootal2 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th September 2008, 08:18 PM
  3. NPViewer CPU use revisited
    By TiPo in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th July 2008, 09:54 PM
  4. npviewer.bin keeps crashing
    By CrackedLCD in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st March 2008, 10:11 PM
  5. npviewer.bin-bugreport
    By lahtis in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd February 2008, 02:38 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •