adding repos
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    417

    adding repos

    so i am trying to install acidrip but apparently my Fedora 8 doesnt have any repos that have acidrip as a software package. So i tried it on my ubuntu box and it worked. So is there a way i could add the http address from my ubuntu box to my fedora box so i have a repo for acid rip. The repos that ubuntu used to grab acidrip were

    deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com feisty/universe
    deb http://security.ubuntu.com feisty/universe
    deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com feisty/multiuniverse
    deb http://security.ubuntu.com feisty-security/multiuniverse

    i think those are correct. I hope so. Is it possible to add those to my reo list in fedora so i can get acid rip.

    thanx in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    73
    Posts
    23,607
    No - Fedora's a 'RPM' distro and Ubuntu's a 'DEB' distro. Won't work - don't try it. Looks like ATRpms does have it though: http://atrpms.net/dist/f8/acidrip/

    A word of caution! ATRpms has had a bit of a 'history' of messing up systems if you leave that repo enabled. So, if you do decide to add it, I'd strongly suggest that you use an editor, such as 'gedit' and change 'enabled=1' to 'enabled=0'. How you'd do it is this way. First of all, set up ATRpms as a repo and then immediately check /etc/yum.repos.d for how it's listed. Let's say, for example, that it's listed "atrpms.repo".

    Next, open a terminal as root (su -) and use this command:

    gedit /etc/yum.repos.d/atrpms.repo
    < modify to what it's actually called

    That will open a new window and look for 'enabled=1', which you'll change to 'enabled=0', then save, close and 'exit' root.

    Now, if you want to add acidrip, you'd open a terminal and do it this way:

    "yum --enablerepo=atrpms install acidrip"

    That will allow atrpms to run for just that one transaction, but otherwise will be ignored during updates, etc.
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    73
    Posts
    23,607
    Alternatively, just download the one package from atrpms and use 'yum localinstall packagename' to get it running.
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    417
    Quote Originally Posted by bob
    No - Fedora's a 'RPM' distro and Ubuntu's a 'DEB' distro. Won't work - don't try it. Looks like ATRpms does have it though: http://atrpms.net/dist/f8/acidrip/

    A word of caution! ATRpms has had a bit of a 'history' of messing up systems if you leave that repo enabled. So, if you do decide to add it, I'd strongly suggest that you use an editor, such as 'gedit' and change 'enabled=1' to 'enabled=0'. How you'd do it is this way. First of all, set up ATRpms as a repo and then immediately check /etc/yum.repos.d for how it's listed. Let's say, for example, that it's listed "atrpms.repo".

    Next, open a terminal as root (su -) and use this command:

    < modify to what it's actually called

    That will open a new window and look for 'enabled=1', which you'll change to 'enabled=0', then save, close and 'exit' root.

    Now, if you want to add acidrip, you'd open a terminal and do it this way:

    "yum --enablerepo=atrpms install acidrip"

    That will allow atrpms to run for just that one transaction, but otherwise will be ignored during updates, etc.
    How do you set up a repo file??..

    i thought to install a package you did

    yum -y install acidrip

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Littleton, CO
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,856
    You could also see if this meets your needs.
    S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    417
    i dont have a atrpms.repo file under yum.repos.d

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    73
    Posts
    23,607
    Yes, you'd have to add it if you want to. Open a terminal as root (su-) and 'cd /etc/yum.repos.d'. Next, 'gedit atrpms.repo' . That will open up a blank page. Paste this into it:
    [atrpms]
    name=ATrpms - Stable
    baseurl=http://dl.atrpms.net/f$releasever-$basearch/atrpms/stable
    gpgcheck=1
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY.atrpms
    enabled=0
    priority=150

    [atrpms-testing]
    name=ATrpms - Testing
    baseurl=http://dl.atrpms.net/f$releasever-$basearch/atrpms/testing
    gpgcheck=1
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY.atrpms
    enabled=0
    priority=150
    Now, save and close the window and you'll have the atrpms.repo (Edit: I just modified the original atrpms.repo a bit, so if you were quick to copy/paste, double-check it again).

    Then, for your package, let's try "yum --enablerepo=atrpms install acidrip" and see if it works okay.
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    417
    Quote Originally Posted by bob
    Yes, you'd have to add it if you want to. Open a terminal as root (su-) and 'cd /etc/yum.repos.d'. Next, 'gedit atrpms.repo' . That will open up a blank page. Paste this into it:


    Now, save and close the window and you'll have the atrpms.repo

    Then, for your package, let's try "yum --enablerepo=atrpms install acidrip" and see if it works okay.
    ok i downloaded the actual rpm file from the site. acidri-0.14-4.fc8.noarch.rpm

    and did a yum -y install acidrip-0.14-4.fc8.noarch.rpm and it installed all 11 packages BUT it said
    Warning rpmts_HdrFromfdn0: Header V3 DSA signiture NOKEY, KEY ID 66534c2b

    Public key is not installed.

    so i have no idea if it installed or not. gonna try a rpmqueue -qa | grep^a

    i think thats the command

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    417
    yeah the rpmquery -qa | grep ^a

    does not bring up anything to do with acid rip. very interesting

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    73
    Posts
    23,607
    No, you'd have to do one of two things: Either import the gpgkey from ATRpms http://atrpms.net/ or you could also (temporarily) gedit /etc/yum.conf and change the gpgcheck from '1' to '0'
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    417
    Quote Originally Posted by bob
    No, you'd have to do one of two things: Either import the gpgkey from ATRpms http://atrpms.net/ or you could also (temporarily) gedit /etc/yum.conf and change the gpgcheck from '1' to '0'

    well i got it working i think. all i did was double click the .rpm package i downloaded and it used the GUI and it said it was installed successfully. So i wonder why the GUI doesnt need a key but the command line way does.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    73
    Posts
    23,607
    Yum uses keys to protect from 'unsigned' software, which could be something that was modified by a cracker. You can bypass it with yum, if you want to change the yum.conf. RPM, which is the base program, does not contain that safeguard but is very often useful. Here's a tutorial on it if you're interested: http://www.rpm.org/max-rpm/s1-intro-...t-started.html
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Indiana USA
    Posts
    1,715
    you can also use yum from the command line with the --nogpgcheck option to get around that
    The answer to all of lifes questions are buried somewhere in the Google search engine.

    Code:
    [Stephen@localhost ~]$ whatis this?
    this?: nothing appropriate

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    417
    Quote Originally Posted by FriedChips
    you can also use yum from the command line with the --nogpgcheck option to get around that

    Thanx guys. I must have gotten mixed up with what acid rip is. i thought it was a program to rip the dvd to my HDD fully and not converting it to a avi. I thought it ripped it to VTS file and other dvd files. I wonder if acid rip will rip the DTS track or AC3 files to the HDD.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Littleton, CO
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,856
    Try k9copy, it's in livna. You could also try copying the .vob files and opening them with avidemux.
    S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Adding Fedora repos
    By blackboy in forum Fedora Focus
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd October 2009, 02:30 PM
  2. Revisor: Adding RPMFusion Repos
    By Metus in forum Fedora Spins & Remixes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd September 2009, 02:15 PM
  3. Adding Local Repos
    By joe74 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th July 2008, 06:34 PM
  4. Adding more repos to yumex 0.4 (FC4)
    By Omega Blue in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th December 2005, 09:27 AM
  5. Adding extra repos to APT source file
    By gonzalo76 in forum Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th May 2004, 06:25 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •