FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 3 of 151 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 53 103 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 2252
  1. #31
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    76
    I found a folder named "compiz" in my share folder, is that the only compiz folder that I delete before following the directions on page 1? Couldn't find one in Home, where you said it was. I'm not entirely sure how to read the directories in Linux. /home/*/.compiz... what's the star?

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    76
    I went ahead and added Compiz-Fusion, Extras, and CCSM via the Add / Remove programs. This is the same thing ya?

    The version is 0.6.0.1.fc8.i386, which I guess it slightly different form what you're talking about here. Everything installed correctly, and CCSM works, but none of the effects work at all, except for the Cube.

    Is the compiz-fusion that came with Fedora (Desktop Effects) overriding those in CCSM? Because if I turn off Wobbly Windows & Cube in Desktop Effects, but they are on in CCSM, those won't work either.

    Can someone clear this and my previous post up for me? Are they the same problem? Nothing has crashed, just it isn't working.

    Yes, I have the correct driver and it allows me to enable Desktop Effects.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    113

    How do I apply these updates?

    This may seem to be a stupid question, but how can I apply these updates?
    Simply doing rpm -ivh so-and-so.rpm, with the same sequence of the original packages?
    Quote Originally Posted by leigh123@linux
    Updates for 0.6.99 see post #1
    ---------------------
    Fedora 10/x86_64@
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    4G ram
    320G sATA
    ----------------------

  4. #34
    leigh123linux Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by sweetrain
    This may seem to be a stupid question, but how can I apply these updates?
    Simply doing rpm -ivh so-and-so.rpm, with the same sequence of the original packages?

    Try

    Extract the tar file (use rpm -U to update or you can left click and lasso the files then right click and select the software installer to install the updates )

    su
    cd /to/path/of/extracted/file
    rpm -Uvh *rpm

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16
    I too get the this package needs this one, blah blah blah.

    I highlighted all of them and selected Software Installer. It downloaded additional files through the Package Manager. Is this normal?

    This is what I got when I typed the rpm -i* command:

    [smtava@localhost compiz-fusion-0.6.99.i386]$ rpm -i *rpm
    error: Failed dependencies:
    libdbus-qt-1.so.1 is needed by compiz-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdecorations.so.1 is needed by compiz-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdecore.so.4 is needed by compiz-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libDCOP.so.4 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdecore.so.4 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdefx.so.4 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libqt-mt.so.3 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    glib2-devel is needed by compizconfig-python-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libX11-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXfixes-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXrender-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXdamage-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXcomposite-devel >= 0.3 is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXext-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXinerama-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXrandr-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libSM-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libpng-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    startup-notification-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    mesa-libGL-devel >= 6.5-9 is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    mesa-libGLU-devel >= 6.5-9 is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libxml2-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libxslt-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libdrm-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libDCOP.so.4 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libdbus-qt-1.so.1 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdecorations.so.1 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdecore.so.4 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdefx.so.4 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libqt-mt.so.3 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    PyQt is needed by fusion-icon-qt-0.1-100.fc8.noarch

  6. #36
    leigh123linux Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by lighthammer
    I too get the this package needs this one, blah blah blah.

    I highlighted all of them and selected Software Installer. It downloaded additional files through the Package Manager. Is this normal?


    This is what I got when I typed the rpm -i* command:

    [smtava@localhost compiz-fusion-0.6.99.i386]$ rpm -i *rpm
    error: Failed dependencies:
    libdbus-qt-1.so.1 is needed by compiz-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdecorations.so.1 is needed by compiz-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdecore.so.4 is needed by compiz-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libDCOP.so.4 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdecore.so.4 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdefx.so.4 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libqt-mt.so.3 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    glib2-devel is needed by compizconfig-python-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libX11-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXfixes-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXrender-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXdamage-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXcomposite-devel >= 0.3 is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXext-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXinerama-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libXrandr-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libSM-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libpng-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    startup-notification-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    mesa-libGL-devel >= 6.5-9 is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    mesa-libGLU-devel >= 6.5-9 is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libxml2-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libxslt-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libdrm-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libDCOP.so.4 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libdbus-qt-1.so.1 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdecorations.so.1 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdecore.so.4 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libkdefx.so.4 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    libqt-mt.so.3 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
    PyQt is needed by fusion-icon-qt-0.1-100.fc8.noarch

    Yes it is normal ( they are the dependencies )


    I highlighted all of them and selected Software Installer. It downloaded additional files through the Package Manager.
    This method that you used is probably the best way to install

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16
    I get a blank white screen after installing everything and starting Compiz. What does that mean besides it's not working?

  8. #38
    leigh123linux Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by lighthammer
    I get a blank white screen after installing everything and starting Compiz. What does that mean besides it's not working?

    What VGA card do you have? and have you installed the 3D drivers for it ?

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16
    I have an ATI Radeon Mobility X1400

    My laptop is a Dell Inspirion 6400. When I installed Fedora 8, I checked the graphics card and it listed it correctly. However, my resolution was pretty crappy. 1024 x 768.

    So, I set the video card to fglrx - vendor supplied drier for fglrx cards. I did this because I was trying to get 1280 x 800 resolution which I did.

    I typed glxinfo and I get:

    ---------------------------
    name of display: :0.0
    display: :0 screen: 0
    direct rendering: No (If you want to find out why, try setting LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose)
    server glx vendor string: SGI

    OpenGL vendor string: Mesa project: www.mesa3d.org
    OpenGL rendering string: Mesa GLX Indirect
    OpenGL version string: 1.4 (2.1 Mesa 7.0.2)

    ---------------------------

    blah blah blah. Nothing more except a bunch of OpenGL extensions.


    I take it that I can't run Compiz because of my card? I asked in the Laptop section if anyone has gotten particular video card to work but no response.

    I did follow all of your directions and that is when I got the white screen.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    76
    I added CCSM / Compiz and Compiz Extras via the Add/Remove programs function because I wasn't answered on how to make sure I found the correct compiz folder to remove in regards to the steps on page1, and it installed without any problems, and I am able to access CCSM. The problem is that I think Desktop Effects is overriding CCSM, because Wobbly Windows & Desktop Cube work (the two options that are present), but none of the other effects that are turned on in CCSM work.

    How do I get CCSM to take over control of the effects? When I try turning off the two effect options in Desktop Effects, and using CCSM to enable them, then Wobbly Windows & Cube wont work any more. Is there some sort of conflict?

    I'm not encountering any driver issues, that all is working perfectly.


    Should I use Add / Remove to uninstall all the installed compiz packages and then do steps on page1? Would that be the same as deleting them?

    [update]
    I unstalled all Compiz packages using Add / Remove. Is that ok?

    And what would the file path look like for me to install both the packages that are on my desktop, in
    su
    cd /to/path/of/extracted/file
    rm *debuginfo*
    rpm -i *rpm

    ?

    I'm not an experienced user... could this be explained better?
    Last edited by Jbanicar; 12th November 2007 at 05:05 AM.

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    113

    Still can not get window decorators.

    Hi, leight123,
    I fresh install F8 on a desktop with an All-in-wonder 9600. Got the livna fglrx installed. Everything looks OK (fglrxinfo and glxinfo). Now I DL both the packages (both the installation pkg and the update pkg). Still, the same old problem:
    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# fusion-icon
     * Detected Session: gnome
     * Searching for installed applications...
     * No GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap with direct rendering context
     ... nor with indirect rendering, this isn't going to work!
     * Using the GTK Interface
     * Starting Compiz
     ... executing: compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp --indirect-rendering --loose-binding
    compiz (core) - Fatal: GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap is missing
    compiz (core) - Error: Failed to manage screen: 0
    compiz (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0
    Any suggestions?


    Quote Originally Posted by leigh123@linux
    Try

    Extract the tar file (use rpm -U to update or you can left click and lasso the files then right click and select the software installer to install the updates )

    su
    cd /to/path/of/extracted/file
    rpm -Uvh *rpm
    Last edited by sweetrain; 12th November 2007 at 04:58 AM.
    ---------------------
    Fedora 10/x86_64@
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    4G ram
    320G sATA
    ----------------------

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    219
    Work like a charm with i810 driver here.
    Good job leigh!
    Tinh.
    Linux User number : 451678
    Desktop:
    AMD X2 3800+, ASUS M2NPV-VM, GeForce 6150 128MB (onboard), 2GB RAM Corsairs 667, ASUS VW192T LCD 19" Widescreen.
    Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron) x86
    ------------------------
    Laptop:
    HP Pavilion DV 5000
    Fedora 10 (Cambridge) x86
    Linux Machine Number: 359564

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    76
    Am I doing this correctly? Could someone help me?

    I tried finding the compiz folder to delete first, but I was unable to find it. So, I thought about finding all the compiz packages installed by using Add / Remove programs... I un-selected those packages, and it removed them from my system.

    So now I have the two packages listed on page 1 (1st one and the updates), and I don't know how to install them. Would my below command work?

    cd /home/Jbanicar/Desktop/compiz-fusion-0.6.99.i386
    rm *debuginfo*
    rpm -i *rpm
    When I did the above in Terminal, it kept asking me if I wanted to remove origional file, etc, etc, and I don't think that is what should happen... ?

    And did I even uninstall all the compiz packages, correctly, that were on my system to begin with?

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2

    How to run compiz-fusion on a T60 - ATI X1400

    Hi,
    I upgraded fc7 to fc8 yesterday and now tried to make compiz-fusion work by following the steps in post #1.
    I am doing it on a Lenovo-T60 ATI X1400 setup and gettting this error when i execute fusion-icon. At this moment I don't know what I need to do ...
    Code:
    [root@lenovo-nb updates-i386]# fusion-icon -v
     * Detected Session: kde
     * Searching for installed applications...
     -- /usr/bin/compiz
     -- /usr/bin/kwin
     -- /usr/bin/metacity
     -- /usr/bin/xfwm4
     -- /usr/bin/gtk-window-decorator
     -- /usr/bin/kde-window-decorator
     -- /usr/bin/emerald
     -- /usr/bin/ccsm
     -- /usr/bin/emerald-theme-manager
     * Opening CompizConfig context
     * No GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap with direct rendering context
     ... nor with indirect rendering, this isn't going to work!
     * Using the GTK Interface
     * Starting Compiz
     ... executing: compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp --indirect-rendering --loose-binding
    compiz (core) - Fatal: No sync extension
     * Setting option Indirect Rendering to False
     ... executing: compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp --loose-binding
    compiz (core) - Fatal: No sync extension
     * Setting option Loose Binding to False
     ... executing: compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp
    compiz (core) - Fatal: No sync extension
    My xorg.conf settings look like
    Code:
    Section "Module"
       Load  "i2c”
       Load  "bitmap”
       Load  "ddc”
       Load  "dri”
       Load  "extmod”
       Load  "freetype”
       Load  "glx”
       Load  "int10"
       Load  "type1"
       Load  "dbe”
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
    	Group        0
    	Mode         0666
    EndSection
    
    Section "Extensions"
    	Option	    "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
    	Option	    "AIGLX" "on"
    EndSection
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    	Option	    "Centermode" "off"
    	Option	    "PseudoColorVisuals" "off"
    	Option	    "UseFastTLS" "0"
    	Option	    "BlockSignalsOnLock" "on"
    	Option	    "ForceGenericCPU" "off"
    	Option	    "KernelModuleParm" "locked-userpages=0"
    #	Option	    "UseInternalAGPGART" "no"
    	Option	    "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "true"
    	Option	    "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
    	Option	    "VideoOverlay" "on"
    	Option      "DRI"     "true"
    EndSection
    Last edited by prranab; 12th November 2007 at 07:52 AM.

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16
    we have the same video card. ATI Mobility Radeon X1400. Let me know if it's working for you. I get the white screen.

Page 3 of 151 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 53 103 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th July 2008, 04:00 PM
  2. preupgrade F8 official-> F9, update presto repo is wrong
    By marko in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st May 2008, 10:08 PM
  3. F9 compiz-0.7.5 packages added to the compiz-fusion repo
    By leigh123linux in forum Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th April 2008, 01:08 AM
  4. Official Fedora Core 4 Installation Guide
    By Ug in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 1st December 2005, 02:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •