Fedora 8 - Horizontal Lines on External Monitor
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Birmingham, AL
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Fedora 8 - Horizontal Lines on External Monitor

    I've encountered a bug that I'm hoping to get some help with. I have a Toshiba laptop (intel gma 950 GPU) with an Acer 22" monitor connected to the VGA port. That machine is running Ubuntu 7.04 perfectly using the Acer monitor as the main screen and with the lid on the laptop closed.

    I booted Fedora 8 from the LiveCD in order to test Fedora before I leap into a full blown installation. Unfortunately, I keep getting the same problem about 50% of the time. The LiveCD properly detects the 1680x1050 resolution of my monitor, launches X windows and shows the mouse pointer and the Fedora loading screen (just like in this picture)



    After the progress bar reaches the end, the screen flashes blank again and then the GDM login screen comes up. At this point a pair of thin (1 or 2 pixel thick) lines appear on the screen. (Below is a mockup of the lines and NOT a screenshot)




    When I login to a session, the lines return on the desktop and never go away. They appear to be connected in some way. When I drag a window over 1 line, the other line moves accordingly. This problem only happens about 50% of the time. I've noticed this same problem with Ubuntu 7.10. I'm wondering if it has to do with the xorg-server 1.3.0 that they are both using. (Ubuntu 7.04 uses 1.2.0)

    By the way, when I bootup the laptop with just the internal LCD screen, I experience NO problems at all. Any idea on what this may be?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    RJFUatHOME Guest
    Does it ever happen with older liveCDs like Ubuntu 7.04 or any other older liveCDs you have around?

    You could try a different video cable as a test, it might be hardware related.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Birmingham, AL
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This happens on hard drive installs as well. It's not just the LiveCD itself. I don't think it is a hardware issue, because ...

    a. Ubuntu 7.04 is installed on the hard drive and the monitor works 100% of the time.
    b. the monitor is only 2 months old
    c. the laptop is about a year old.

    As I said above, I've experienced this problem with the latest distro releases. The other reason I think it is software related is because I can get to the first screen in my original post and there are no glitches. As soon as it goes to GDM and beyond the lines appear. On an Ubuntu 7.10 LiveCD, it boots to a desktop and NOT GDM. So, I don't think it is related to GDM.

    I've tried unplugging each and every peripheral from my system in case there was something weird happening with one of those on bootup. Finally, the BIOS has 2 settings for the external monitor. This glitch happens on either setting. The Xorg.0.log does NOT indicate any problems. The outputs are identical whether the lines appear or not. I'd love to know if there is another way to see a log of what happens all of the way from initial loading of the kernel all the way to the display of the desktop (or GDM).

    Any ideas?
    Todd Morgan
    Birmingham, AL

  4. #4
    RJFUatHOME Guest
    Is there an alternative driver for your intel card that you could try? I don't have Fedora 8 installed yet , but usually I think there's and intel and an i810 driver that can be used, but I'm not sure about your specific chipset number.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Birmingham, AL
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It doesn't matter whether I use the "intel" driver of the "i810" driver.

    I tried a Fedora 7 live CD and it booted GREAT 100% of the time (10 - 20 boots). I never experienced the glitch. Both Fedora 7 and 8 use the same version of xorg-server, so I think that rules out my previous theory.


    Here are a couple more of my observations.

    1. I don't seem to experience this problem with KDE based live CD's (Slax 6.0 Beta works 100%)
    2. I believe I experienced the same problem with a Wolvix 1.1.0 CD which uses XFCE.

    Soooooooooooo what does this problem have in common....

    I have no idea.
    Last edited by tubatodd; 14th November 2007 at 03:18 AM.
    Todd Morgan
    Birmingham, AL

  6. #6
    RJFUatHOME Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by tubatodd
    Soooooooooooo what does this problem have in common....

    I have no idea.
    I feel your frustration! Sometimes no matter how good we all get at troubleshooting our own glitches, the answer still eludes us...especially when it happens inconsistently.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Birmingham, AL
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My big fear right now is that it appears that I'm the only person with this problem and if I don't fix this myself or at the very least find out what is causing the problem....I can't file a bug report in order for this to be fixed before the next release.

    As of right now I am using Fedora 7 and Ubuntu 7.04. I can't upgrade.

    Is there not a log file that I can check to see what is happening during this process?
    Todd Morgan
    Birmingham, AL

  8. #8
    RJFUatHOME Guest
    Hopefully it's one of those glitches that will mysteriously disappear in a couple months of updates.

    Did you try using the xorg.conf files from fedora 7 or ubuntu 7.04 in fedora 8 or unbuntu 7.10?

    I'm still on Fedora 7 myself, I wait a few months for the preliminary glitches to get fixed before reinstalling.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Birmingham, AL
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've tried the xorg.conf from my previous installation and I experience the same problems.
    Todd Morgan
    Birmingham, AL

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Birmingham, AL
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    NEW DISCOVERY

    I tried a Slax 6.0 RC7 CD and sure enough the problem came back. So, it doesn't matter if it is a GTK based environment, as I previously thought. This is an equal opportunity problem.

    I guess this narrows down the problem to something generic like the kernel or the xorg-server. Any ideas..?
    Todd Morgan
    Birmingham, AL

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Birmingham, AL
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Perhaps I'm not describing my problem quite accurately (the mockup wasn't 100% accurate). Each of the lines on the screen appears to be acting as a miniature screen in itself. For example (sticking with Slax), if I click on the KDE menu, the menu covers where the left line is whereby the line on the right side of the screen shows a 1 pixel thick version of what is happening on the left side. The opposite is also true. If I put a picture or any other window on top of the line on the right, a 1 pixel thick view of that image appears in the left line.



    Help....
    Todd Morgan
    Birmingham, AL

  12. #12
    RJFUatHOME Guest
    On the distros that it happens on all using the same driver version? You could see if there are any driver updates in the testing repos. I would search around check the Ubuntu forum to see if anyone is having issues with that chipset also on 7.10.

    You can look in var/log/messages and var/log/Xorg.0.log and possibly in the hidden .xsession-errors log in your home/user name folder. There might be a hint of an issue in there.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Birmingham, AL
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My gut feeling is that this is a new problem because of how xrandr is newly implemented. on Fedora 7 and Ubuntu 7.04 I get the following results...

    Code:
    todd@todd-laptop:~$ xrandr
     SZ:    Pixels          Physical       Refresh
    *0   1680 x 1050   ( 474mm x 301mm )  *60  
     1   1600 x 1200   ( 474mm x 301mm )   60  
     2   1400 x 1050   ( 474mm x 301mm )   60  
     3   1280 x 1024   ( 474mm x 301mm )   75  
     4   1440 x 900    ( 474mm x 301mm )   75   60  
     5   1280 x 960    ( 474mm x 301mm )   60  
     6   1360 x 765    ( 474mm x 301mm )   60  
     7   1152 x 864    ( 474mm x 301mm )   75  
     8   1024 x 768    ( 474mm x 301mm )   75   70   60  
     9    832 x 624    ( 474mm x 301mm )   75  
     10   800 x 600    ( 474mm x 301mm )   72   75   60   56  
     11   640 x 480    ( 474mm x 301mm )   75   73   67   60  
     12   720 x 400    ( 474mm x 301mm )   70  
     13  1680 x 1680   ( 474mm x 301mm )   60  
    Current rotation - normal
    Current reflection - none
    Rotations possible - normal left inverted right 
    Reflections possible - none
    todd@todd-laptop:~$
    In Fedora 8 and Ubuntu 7.10 I get these results...

    Code:
    See "man sudo_root" for details.
    
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1680 x 1050, maximum 1680 x 1680
    VGA connected 1680x1050+0+0 (normal left inverted right) 474mm x 296mm
       1680x1050      60.0*+
       1400x1050      60.0  
       1440x900       59.9  
       1280x960       59.9  
       1360x765       59.8  
       1152x864       75.0     74.8  
       1024x768       75.1     70.1     60.0  
       832x624        74.6  
       800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2  
       640x480        75.0     72.8     66.7     60.0  
       720x400        70.1  
    LVDS connected 1280x800+0+0 (normal left inverted right) 303mm x 190mm
       1280x800       60.0*+   60.0  
       1280x768       60.0  
       1024x768       60.0  
       800x600        60.3  
       640x480        59.9  
    TV disconnected (normal left inverted right)
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$
    Notice the 474mm x 301mm in the old dimensions and 474mm x 296mm in the old. Correct me if I'm wrong. but a 5mm difference is a big deal.
    Todd Morgan
    Birmingham, AL

  14. #14
    RJFUatHOME Guest
    Wow, what a catch,

    I wonder if there is a conf file you can alter for xrandr? Are the settings in the standard xorg.conf file? A search on google might lead to locating a configuration settings file to test it (assuming it's changeable).

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd July 2009, 03:52 PM
  2. External monitor on Fedora Core 8
    By pleomaxfun in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th April 2008, 09:40 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th April 2008, 02:38 PM
  4. Monitor horizontal scan problem
    By townssj in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 1st November 2007, 02:31 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st February 2005, 12:36 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •