Fedora 8 fails to boot after install - Page 2
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 145
  1. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is there maybe a bootlog file that I can access? I can mount that partition from Ubuntu no problem. I just don't know where any bootlog file would be.
    Registered Linux user #456500
    Partition 1: OpenSuSE 10.3 * Partition 2: Ubuntu 7.10
    Partition 3: Fedora 8 * Partition 4: PCBSD 1.4
    Haikus can be fun, but sometimes they don't make sense, refrigerator.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've got the same problem. I did try changing a setting in the BIOS that makes SATA drives (which I use) appear as IDE drives. I thought that might be messing things up, but there's no change. Reinstalling with all default settings, just to see.
    I am a figment of my own imagination.
    Smolt Profile

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have the exact same problem here. I removed "quiet" from the kernel line in Grub and was able to see a lot more boot up messages. It hung after the message "Creating root device." I checked the installation CD and it was fine. I tried acpi=off and it didn't make any difference (I actually didn't see any ACPI errors with or without this switch). I also looked at /var/log while booted from another partition and there was no syslog or any new logs there except the installation log anaconda.log. I think I'm going to try to install it in a primary partition instead of the logical partition where it is installed right now. Or maybe try the DVD installer (I'm currently using the live CD, Gnome version), or even a previous RC CD.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, I thought about making it a primary partition, but that'll involve a fair amount of rearranging so I'm going to hold off. If you try it, let us know if it helps. This is the DVD installer, so I don't think that's the problem. Actually, it's /images/boot.iso from the DVD installer, loading the DVD image off the hard drive, but that should be the same, right?
    I am a figment of my own imagination.
    Smolt Profile

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, I installed it as a logical and a primary because I thought maybe that was the problem. The same thing happened in both.

    Right after it says "Red Hat nash version 6.0.19 loading" (or whatever), I see my usb mouse flash, meaning the system has read it. However, I do not hear the hard drive doing anything.
    Registered Linux user #456500
    Partition 1: OpenSuSE 10.3 * Partition 2: Ubuntu 7.10
    Partition 3: Fedora 8 * Partition 4: PCBSD 1.4
    Haikus can be fun, but sometimes they don't make sense, refrigerator.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    77
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    New FC8 install hangs at the message "Creating root device."

    It acts like it is not able to load the root partition.

    I've edited fstb to point to the drive directly and did the same with the grub menu.lst file.

    I also installed FC8 on just my SCSI drive.

    My system consists of a SCSI drive, IDE (ATA-66) drive and a CD-ROM. I also have a Promise controller with two drives attached to it (ATA-100) .

    The /var/log/messages is empty.

    I was able to install ubuntu on this machine, but I had to do hack the gurb file and get everything pointed to the root drive. I had slackware running without any problems, as well. (I need some programs from GNOME) With FC8 everything looks okay, it just does not seem to be able to load the root partition.

    Removing rhgb and quiet from the gurb kernel line and watching the messages go by, I don't see any error messages.

    -JJ

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    193
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have an Abit IP35 and couldn't get through the installation
    it wouldn't recognize my WD Raptor drive
    I got around it by booting the live CD and then installing it to disc
    a hack, but it worked
    let us know what you find out, I'd rather just have a clean install off the DVD

    Dave

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you remove "rhgb quiet" from the kernel line, does it give you any additional information?
    (I'm having a similar problem, though the boot process goes about two lines of text longer on mine before stopping)
    I am a figment of my own imagination.
    Smolt Profile

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok! I deleted "quiet" from the kernel line in GRUB, and I see now where it gets stuck. It says something along the lines of "attempting to resume from sda3." NOW, sda3 is my swap partition. I made it swap when I installed Ubuntu. Would I have had to remake it as swap under Fedora?
    Registered Linux user #456500
    Partition 1: OpenSuSE 10.3 * Partition 2: Ubuntu 7.10
    Partition 3: Fedora 8 * Partition 4: PCBSD 1.4
    Haikus can be fun, but sometimes they don't make sense, refrigerator.

  10. #25
    richwest Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Figment
    If you remove "rhgb quiet" from the kernel line, does it give you any additional information?
    (I'm having a similar problem, though the boot process goes about two lines of text longer on mine before stopping)
    Afraid it doesn't for me, I removed those parameters and still got exactly the same output. Could be a different problem, who knows.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paris, TX
    Posts
    24,121
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  12. #27
    richwest Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by TangledWeb
    As these two threads appear to be the same issue,

    threads merged.
    I'm not at all sure that they are the same issue to be honest, since in the other thread problems seem to occur further through the boot process, whereas I don't even get any error message...

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paris, TX
    Posts
    24,121
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just a hunch. And all the better opportunity to help each other out!


    In other words ...

    Now I've got 'em mixed up ...

    I don't know if I could get 'em pulled apart right again. <....>


    Dan

  14. #29
    richwest Guest
    Haha fair enough

    I guess there's a good chance it could be something similar.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rudeboyskunk
    Ok! I deleted "quiet" from the kernel line in GRUB, and I see now where it gets stuck. It says something along the lines of "attempting to resume from sda3." NOW, sda3 is my swap partition. I made it swap when I installed Ubuntu. Would I have had to remake it as swap under Fedora?
    I wouldn't expect it to be necessary, but that doesn't mean it isn't. You don't have to reinstall to remake it, though. If you boot from the recovery CD, mkswap /dev/sda3, and make sure that the swap partition in /etc/fstab is listed as /dev/sda3, it should take care of anything left over from Ubuntu that Fedora isn't expecting.
    I am a figment of my own imagination.
    Smolt Profile

Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. F11-install from external DVD using boot.img CD fails
    By fun_4_me_now in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th August 2009, 01:45 AM
  2. New Fedora 10 Install Fails to Boot
    By crosen in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th February 2009, 06:15 AM
  3. Fedora 2 Install CDROM Fails too boot
    By Viffer in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th September 2004, 08:07 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •