FC6: Hibernate, Suspend / Dell
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Austria
    Age
    35
    Posts
    9

    Red face FC6: Hibernate, Suspend / Dell

    Hi!

    Is there any chance to get native suspend or hibernate working on FC6 machine?

    I have tried alternative kernel:
    kernel-suspend2

    Hibernate worked fine!

    But: no wifi (i use ndiswrapper), no vmware (no kernel headers)...


    Hardware: Dell 1501 / AMD / ATI-Chips

    Tnx.

  2. #2
    stevea Guest
    What happens when you suspend or hibernate (without the altrenate kernel) ?

    FWIW I have hibernate and suspend working on my IBM laptop inFC6 & 7.
    I did have to add a switch to the kernel in /etc/grub/grub.conf
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-1.2948.fc6 ro root=LABEL=/1 rhgb quiet acpi_sleep=s3_bios

    Sometimes it's necessary to add a parameter to the pm-suspend command too.

    I don't use a "wrapped" wifi driver nor VMware. I'm surprised that Vmware fails.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Austria
    Age
    35
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by stevea
    What happens when you suspend or hibernate (without the altrenate kernel) ?
    For example suspend to RAM (S3):

    I get immediatly consle screen and following messages:

    Disabling non-boot CPUs ...
    Cannot set affinity for irq 0
    Breaking affinity for irq 1
    Breaking affinity for irq 9
    Suspending cosole(s)...

    and no reaction ... hangs

    Quote Originally Posted by stevea
    I did have to add a switch to the kernel in /etc/grub/grub.conf
    hm... i try it now.

    Quote Originally Posted by stevea
    I'm surprised that Vmware fails.
    Vmware needs to be rebuild each time after new kernel was installed.
    I have tried that alternative-kernel... everything was fine... but i couldn't build Vmware, as i should point builder to new kernel headers).
    I must go back to my native kernel...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Austria
    Age
    35
    Posts
    9
    Now I have tried:

    1) Menu: KLaptom > Hibernate...

    I got console and something like that:

    ...
    Stopping disk... done
    Shrinking memory.. done
    Suspending cosole(s)

    and hangs...
    power off/on helps...

    2) I have added in grub.conf param:
    acpi_sleep=s3_bios
    reboot...

    Menu KLaptop > Suspend...

    laptop immediatly goes in unknown state... Display off, but lights of wlan and power were on.

    power off/on helps...

    /var/log/messages

    un 28 10:16:07 localhost kernel: Disabling non-boot CPUs ...
    Jun 28 10:16:07 localhost kernel: Cannot set affinity for irq 0
    Jun 28 10:16:07 localhost kernel: Breaking affinity for irq 9
    Jun 28 10:16:07 localhost kernel: Breaking affinity for irq 14
    Jun 28 10:16:07 localhost kernel: Breaking affinity for irq 16
    Jun 28 10:18:04 localhost syslogd 1.4.1: restart.
    ...

Similar Threads

  1. Hibernate && Suspend
    By arun_maurya in forum Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 29th May 2008, 06:06 PM
  2. hibernate and suspend
    By elevar in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th February 2008, 06:33 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th December 2007, 09:32 AM
  4. Suspend / hibernate in FC7 -- any better?
    By mdogruel in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th April 2007, 12:21 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd April 2006, 02:50 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •