FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    89

    Question compiz not working on Fedora 7

    I have been unable to get compiz to work on Fedora 7. Beryl works just fine. I am using the Nvidia drivers. I was going to install compiz-fusion but decided to try compiz first. With compiz I get windows without buttons or borders and windows that can't be moved or closed.

    I would appreciate any help offered.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    stevea Guest
    There is a long thread on compiz/beryl - search the forum.. These are neat eyecandy, but it seems that they are still quite dependent on the graphics settings and driver features and AFAIK no one has a detection script to tell you if you have a chance of succeeding. Instead you are expectdedto try, fail (often with a lot of difficulty) revize your driver & xorg.conf and then try again. Very sad actually.

    FWIW my ATI laptop chip runs compiz w/ no problem and locks hard when I try to start beryl. I realize there are half a dozen things I could try ... but I don't have 1 or 2 hours to play. Great software (tho' mostly useless IMO) but the installation and support detail for the various devices is primitive at best.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Harrisonburg, VA, USA
    Posts
    771
    If you are just choosing Compiz with beryl-manager, the same thing happens to me. You might want to try disabling Beryl and starting Compiz via the Desktop Effects option. Beryl is much cooler than Compiz, but Compiz-Fusion 0wnz them both . You might wanna try installing Compiz-Fusion and see how it works.
    Something new coming to this space soon...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    89
    Trying to install Compiz-Fusion is what started this process. I installed it and it didn't work. I had windows withut title bars or buttons. I couldn't manipulate open windows in any way.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    344
    Do you have compiz installed?

    Are you using the livna packaged nvidia drivers?

    try turning on aiglx/xgl with 'livna-config-display --tui -a'

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    89
    'livna-config-display --tui -a' did the trick!!

    Thanks for your help

Similar Threads

  1. Compiz not working on F10?
    By Vector in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 4th June 2009, 10:30 PM
  2. Compiz settings manager not working with Fedora 10
    By Thaidog in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th January 2009, 11:44 AM
  3. fedora 8 Emerald/compiz fusion not working correctly
    By mircobeaker in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th November 2007, 05:02 PM
  4. Fedora 8 - compiz no longer working
    By sptj in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17th November 2007, 08:09 AM
  5. Fedora 7 +Intel965+ [Beryl, Compiz, Compiz-Fusion] Freezes
    By bala04 in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th September 2007, 08:43 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •