Adding a GRUB entry to the Vista boot menu
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,108
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post Adding a GRUB entry to the Vista boot menu

    With Microsoft having done away with the boot.ini file, the procedure to get a GRUB entry in your Windows boot menu has changed. Instead of boot.ini which was a simple text file, the boot configuration is now stored in C:\BOOT\BCD. This being a binary file, it cannot be edited manually. Microsoft has provided bcdedit.exe to do add,delete and modify entries from this file.
    Follow the steps mentioned below
    • While installing FC, Install GRUB on the first sector of the boot partition
    • After installing FC, boot using the FC disc, go into rescue mode and run the following command
      dd if=/dev/sda2 of=grub.bin bs=512 count=1
      [Replace /dev/sda2 with your boot partition]
    • Copy the file grub.bin to your Vista partition.
    • Under Vista, start Command Prompt in Administrator mode by right-clicking on it and choosing "Run as Administrator".
    • Enter the following commands
      bcdedit /store c:\boot\bcd /create /d "GRUB" /application BOOTSECTOR
      You'll get an output similar to
      The entry {some-description-id} was created successfully.
      Copy {some-description-id}. You'll need it for the remaining commands.
    • Next,
      bcdedit /store c:\boot\bcd /set {some-description-id} device partition=C:
      bcdedit /store c:\boot\bcd /set {some-description-id} path \grub.bin
      bcdedit /store c:\boot\bcd /displayorder {some-description-id} /addlast

    • Thats it, the GRUB entry should now be present in the boot menu !!
    Last edited by mndar; 10th May 2007 at 08:23 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think Grub is nicer; it loads windows boot-loader.

    But do you (or anyone else) know how to change the text (Another windows...) in the Vista boot-loader. I want to have the text "Windows XP SP2".

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    74
    Posts
    23,915
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Mndar; that at least gives dual-booters an option and a pretty complex one at that.
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

  4. #4
    kolorahl Guest
    Two quick questions since I'm a n00b at this sort of stuff:
    1) How do I copy grub.bin to my Vista partition? Just 'cp' the file to my partition?
    2) Which boot drive am I going for? I've installed Linux on my external hard drive and have Vista on my internal, and I selected the option to install GRUB on my external with Linux. Should I use the external drives boot partition in lieu of /dev/sda2?

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,108
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi folks!
    But do you (or anyone else) know how to change the text (Another windows...) in the Vista boot-loader. I want to have the text "Windows XP SP2".
    Unfortunately, I messed up my partitions, so I don't have access to Vista right now. Check the help for bcdedit.exe. Its pretty extensive and I'm pretty sure there is an option to change the 'display text'. There's also an option to take a backup of the current config. You might want to do that before trying anything else.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,108
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi folks!
    1) How do I copy grub.bin to my Vista partition? Just 'cp' the file to my partition?
    Yeah you just need to copy it over to the Vista partition using a pen drive or a FAT32 partition.
    2) Which boot drive am I going for? I've installed Linux on my external hard drive and have Vista on my internal, and I selected the option to install GRUB on my external with Linux. Should I use the external drives boot partition in lieu of /dev/sda2?
    Since the first menu you'll be seeing is the Vista boot menu, the Vista partition is your boot partition.
    But the method of using grub.bin doesn't work well with multiple hard drives even if they are internal hard drives. I doubt it will work at all in your case. You can try anyway and hope that I am wrong!
    Last edited by mndar; 29th June 2007 at 01:35 AM.

  7. #7
    dvtriple6 Guest
    I have a prompt to add, the OP couldn't test it so he didn't wanna add it but anyway, it changes the name of the GRUB entry in the Vista bootloader to whatever you prefer.

    Code:
    bcdedit /set {some-description-id} description "your name here"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,108
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Adding a GRUB entry to the Vista boot menu

    Someone might find this useful.

    I bought a laptop that came with Windows 7 pre-installed. It had a 100MB 'System Reserved' partition. So, as far as Linux is concerned

    sda1-> Windows System Reserved Partition
    sda2-> Windows C:\
    sda3-> Created this as my /boot
    sda4-> Extended Partition
    sda[5-xx] -> Logical Partitions


    I followed this guide to add an entry to the Windows 7 boot menu. http://alien.slackbook.org/blog/addi...ws7-boot-menu/

    The steps are similar to the ones I posted, just the "/store c:\boot\bcd" is not required this time.

Similar Threads

  1. Can't connect to internet after adding Linux Mint to boot menu
    By bluecf66 in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29th September 2009, 12:18 AM
  2. Can't find a Fedora 11 entry in grub boot loader
    By eschi in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11th June 2009, 01:58 PM
  3. Grub fails to boot Vista in an F8-Vista dual boot
    By kpfuser in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd May 2008, 02:57 PM
  4. Adding Fedora to Ubuntu boot menu
    By insub' in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th April 2008, 03:49 PM
  5. Need Linux on the Windows Vista boot menu.
    By Rashid01 in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th August 2007, 06:40 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •