FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    36

    how to add websites on a fedora server

    hi guys. i know it might seem .. funny.. but.. after i fallowed all the steps in those how to's .. i can't get my websites directed to their specific directories on a fedora 6 server.

    i use ISPConfig , and every service is working fine. if i connect to the main address of the server, it does show me the index.html file from /var/www/web.
    but after i set-up the virtualhosts based on IP, i can't connect to any other website. is there anything else that keeps track of this path for a website's files , other than httpd.conf .. where you set-up the virtualhosts tags ?

    i do have Domain Names for websites and i just want to know how do i have to set-up those things to work. im so confused about this .. redirection to the right file...


    and another thing.. anyone knows why after i create a user login in ISPConfig... and then i try to log in using that user name.. ... i can't log in? it gives me wrong username or password. but i put there the right things.

    id be thankfull to any help,
    Razvan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Age
    31
    Posts
    7,909
    What is this ISPConfig thing?

    What do you mean after you set up the virtual hosts you can't connect to any other website? Can you not access external sites from the server, or when you accessed your sever by IP it didn't serve web pages?

    Is this IP based or name based? See the Apache virtual host documentation for the difference.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    36
    it is IP based. what i mean is that after i set up the virtual hosts.. , i can't get the right site i want from my server. it does work just for the index.html page in the /web/html directory.
    for example.. i have 2 websites on my server and i gave each one an IP. if i go online from other computer i can't connect to any of those.

    the ISPConfig is the control panel.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    46
    Posts
    4,167
    Are you using dynamic ip addresses for both site. Can you ping both IP addresses?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    36
    no. i don't use dynamic ip. i only have static ips. as i said.. i can reach the server from internet, but just for the defult page (index.html). if i change that with an other page.. i can get that one. but i want to have more websites on my server and the thing is that i can't reach them.
    anyone knows all the steps and can guide me through this? do you guys have any .. "how to.." document .. with all the steps required to add websites in fedora??? and i mean.. ALL THE STEPS.. cause.. .. .i found lots of articles saying.. how to set up virtual hosts.. .. or.. multi-ip for a server.. but.. no article saying exactly how to make all the settings.. step-by-step.. .. to get a website installed on a server and running online.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Novi Sad
    Age
    34
    Posts
    88

    install Webmin

    go to http://www.webmin.com/
    and download
    webmin-1.320-1.noarch.rpm

    rpm -ivh webmin-1.320-1.noarch.rpm
    then : https://localhost:10000 login with your root password.....
    this is GUI for configuring Apache.......

    See where is doc_root for host that you create....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    22
    I also have this problem. I have a fresh install of Fedora core6 setup as a web server. Now I have setup virtual host for my 3 web sites. I have tried both name based and ip bases virtual hosts and both fail to work. Now if I connect to the loacl host I get my default web page in /var/www/html/ when I try any other of my sites it fails. Now the interesting thing is that the httpd gui doesn't change the httpd.conf in etc/httpd/conf/ but instead changes /etc/httpd/conf.d/system-config-httpd.conf ????? I have a dynamic dns pointing to my net ip and the IP reflects the correct address. I have setup forwarding on my speedtouch and it is open on portscan. I also tesed it with my Windows pc with firewall and it showed up stealth as it should. This means the speedtouch is working. So the problem looks to be with virtual hosting. I tried manual configuration of httpd.conf and that didn't work. I have followed the Howtos and the man pages with no result. I should atleast see my default test page but that doesn't work from the internet. I can do it locally only. Any ideas???? I have been using linux for a while and pre fer to manually configure most settings. I am currently working on my DNS skills hoping that this is the problem .. I also turned off ipv6tables and iptables to see if that fixed things//


    Michael Smith

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    36
    hey michaelsmith,

    hmm.. i donno anything about that.. speedtouch but if you say it is working then.. it should work.
    the thing is that.. i can access my default webpage (/var/www/html/index.html ) from the outside internet.

    the thing is that:
    1) you must have a registered DNS (go to www.dyndns.com they have free static or dynamic dns)
    2) you must edit your hosts file in /etc directory, and add the ip of the server there, specify the domain and host name (be aware to have every ip with it's own host and domain in a single line)
    3) again.. check that if you use a router, it does have the http port (80) opened
    4) the default page should work without virtual hosts.
    5) try again

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    36
    the thing is that i tried to access the websites .. and they work just in my local network. (i have a network .. with a router. the router does have http port opened. )

    the outside internet can't access the websites. it can access only the default webpage.

    is there anything that i'm doing wrong?

    and.. an extra detail.. when you register the DNS, it asks u for an IP. what IP should i use there? the server's ip address? the router's IP address? or the virtual IP that i gave on the derver, for that particular website?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    22
    from what I understand is that if you see the default webpage from the internet the virtual hosting should work. I use dyndns too I have the correct ip stored at the DNS. My router points port 80 tcp >to my NIC 10.0.0.200 on my server. Apache should be able to resolve the rest from the http header info contained in the data comming in on port 80 to the NIC ...and yours does because you can see your default page....I wish I could... I can't connect even with the hosts file entered. I am going to setup a local DNS I think.

    Michael Smith

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    36
    hmm i don't have an ideea what is wrong with urs... but... i guess u can access internet from the server right? if you can't.. you have to specify the right dns provided from your ISP. and yes.. i do have set-up a local DNS on my router.. (but be aware.. those have to be the DNS from your ISP; the router usually recognize them .. if not.. on your windows computer.. run a cmd and type in "ipconfig /all"..
    this would show your configuration. and ur DNS.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    22
    Computer 1 me Nil

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    GA, USA
    Posts
    311
    I have set it up in the past and all works well with name based virtual hosting. The ip in dyndns to point to is the ip of your router. Then any name based virtual hosts can be reached by that same ip address. In the router config you point requests for port 80 to the internal ip of the fedora server. Then all requests for port 80 are forwarded to the fedora server and it directs it to the correct folder. The default folder is /var/www/html. My website no 1 is at /var/www/website1, and my website 2 is at /var/www/website2. Website 3 is at /var/www/website3. You must set up virtual hosting in the /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf file. I hope this will give you guys a start on figuring it out.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    GA, USA
    Posts
    311
    In section 3 of the httpd.conf file.
    NameVirtualHost *:80
    # Virtual host 0
    <VirtualHost *:80>
    DocumentRoot /var/www/html
    ServerAdmin you@yourdomain.com
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.php index.htm index.shtml index.php3 index.phtml home.html
    ServerName yourregisteredname.dynalias.net
    </VirtualHost>

    # Virtual host 1
    <VirtualHost *:80>
    DocumentRoot /var/www/yourvirtualhostname #I name the folder the name of the virtualhost.
    ServerAdmin you@yourdomain.net #So it is at /var/www/yourvirtualhostname
    ServerName yourotherregisteredname.dynalias.net
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.shtml index.html.var welcome.html
    </VirtualHost>

    Good luck. Hope I didn't have any typos and you can make sense of it.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    GA, USA
    Posts
    311
    PS . After you make changes to the httpd.conf file.

    service httpd restart

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. fedora 8 showing websites vs windows websites
    By FreeAngel in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th January 2008, 03:04 PM
  2. Multiple websites on same server
    By straytalk in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th February 2007, 02:17 PM
  3. Unable to browse websites other than Fedora
    By krokos in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th November 2006, 10:02 PM
  4. Fedora only goes to some websites?
    By agentstewie in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 31st August 2006, 04:16 AM
  5. Fedora Websites and Representation...
    By Mtnear in forum Fedora Focus
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th March 2006, 03:49 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •