open url from thunderbird email in firefox
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    rufous_swanson Guest

    open url from thunderbird email in firefox

    I am running Fedora Core 1 with FireFox 0.8 and Thunderbird 0.5 and latest kernel and package revs. I installed both applications using the tar ball from mozilla.org. Both operate fine. I am also using the stock gnome desktop manager that came with Fedora Core 1.

    I am not sure if this is a Fedora problem or Mozilla, but I have found the answers at this forum to be much kinder and clearer than others and I am hoping someone can help.

    Scenario:
    1) FireFox is running with an open tab (or two).
    2) Thunderbird is running... reading email fine.
    3) Click on a url in an email hoping that it will automatically open the link.
    4) It does nothing.
    5) I googled and bashed my head against the wall finding all sorts of different ways to "solve my problem".

    Here is what I have tried:
    1) Created this bash script from .... http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=55002 (see bottom of the page)

    #!/bin/bash
    MFDIR=/usr/bin/firefox/
    MFBIN=firefox-bin
    MOZSTAT=`ps -C $MFBIN|grep -v PID|wc -l`
    if [ 0 -eq $MOZSTAT ]
    then
    $MFDIR/firefox $* &
    else
    case $# in
    0)
    $MFDIR/firefox -remote xfeDoCommand\ \(openBrowser\) &
    ;;
    1)
    $MFDIR/firefox -remote openurl\($*,new\-tab\)
    ;;
    *)
    echo Usage: $0 "[url]"
    ;;
    esac
    fi

    2) Named the script "/home/bozo/ffstart.sh"

    3) Under "Preference/Control Center/Preferred Applications" added "Custom web browser" to be:
    /home/bozo/ffstart.sh %s

    4) Added this line to prefs.js
    user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.http", "/home/bozo/ffstart.sh");

    5) Added Tabbrowser extension to FireFox

    Problem:
    It runs FireFox, but then tells me that I have to select a different profile.

    Question:
    How do I ...
    1) Have it open the url in FireFox as a new tab or a new window (I don't care which at this point!!!)
    2) Bring the FireFox window (with my requested URL) to the front of the screen
    3) All under the same profile.

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Euregio
    Posts
    3,612
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Or from me the additonal question:
    4. how do I make mozilla/firebird to run with one profil only. When I start a new instance it must work in the same profil and don't ask for a new one.

  3. #3
    ghenry Guest
    Just do "File > New Window" as it will always want to start a new instance with a new profile.

  4. #4
    rufous_swanson Guest
    Yes. I want to operate with one profile only...

    "file / new window" defeats the purpose and misses the whole reason I posted. There is a way for this to all happen automatically.


    Thanks!
    Rufous

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Euregio
    Posts
    3,612
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by ghenry
    Just do "File > New Window" as it will always want to start a new instance with a new profile.
    How do you insert it in a script? Or if Mozilla is not closed proper (it happens sometimes, that there is one instance of it left after closing), how do you start then?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    China
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  7. #7
    rufous_swanson Guest
    I have tried it and it doesn't work. I still get prompted for a different profile if FireFox is already running.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    China
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by rufous_swanson
    I have tried it and it doesn't work. I still get prompted for a different profile if FireFox is already running.
    that's weird, it works for me just fine

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    China
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    my bad, i forgot something that i modified

    still, the script is useful, that's where i started but i replaced "openURL\("$url"\)" with "openURL\($url,new-tab\)"
    Last edited by redhat71; 25th April 2004 at 12:57 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Euregio
    Posts
    3,612
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, to force mozilla use only one profil :
    tools --->switch profile.... --> [x]Don't ask at startup

  11. #11
    leonking1945 Guest
    You may try one trivial thing:

    chmod 755 ffstart.sh

    It worked for me after some struggling.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th August 2009, 08:23 AM
  2. Firefox won't re-open after using email links
    By tmick in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th January 2006, 08:07 PM
  3. Getting Thunderbird to open links in Firefox
    By fryem720 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th January 2005, 08:38 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •