Help needed recompiling xine
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    leigh123linux Guest

    Help needed recompiling xine

    Hi I have no problem recompiling source rpm and making new rpm, The trouble is when I make rpm it is only i386 and I wanted i686 , Is this because the devel packages used were all i386.
    Do I have to recompile all the devels as well or is there something that I have missed.

    thanks leigh

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    684
    The build architecture s defined in your ~/.rpmrc file. I don't remember the link, but there's a thread on this forum started by "scarpaz" about building optimized rpms for i686.
    I am Bill of Borg. Resistance izkx GPF 0x5654 8820 Application
    RESIST.EXE has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down.

  3. #3
    leigh123linux Guest
    How do I change build arch to i686

    [leigh@localhost rpm]$ rpm --showrc
    ARCHITECTURE AND OS:
    build arch : i386
    compatible build archs: athlon i686 i586 i486 i386 noarch fat
    build os : Linux
    compatible build os's : linux
    install arch : athlon
    install os : Linux
    compatible archs : athlon i686 i586 i486 i386 noarch fat
    compatible os's : linux


    I have made rpmrc files and rc files for each user including mockbuild.

    any clues

    please

  4. #4
    leigh123linux Guest
    got there edit /usr/lib/rpm/rpmrc

    thanks for info

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, Czech Republic, Chrudim
    Age
    31
    Posts
    841
    One question - I am just interested: why do you need to build a rpm for i686 arch? The ones for i386 can run at i386, athlon, i586, i686, ... archs, but the ones for i686 cannot run on i386 (and other older archs than i686)...
    FŽannatar

    Your freedom ends where others' starts.
    It's the same with software => promote GPL.

    Registered Linux User: #431562
    My blog: Martin's Chronicles

    Echo Icon Theme: homepage

    Nodoka: homepage

    Fedora Core future enhancements?

    JID: martin.sourada AT jabber.cz

  6. #6
    leigh123linux Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by martin.sourada
    One question - I am just interested: why do you need to build a rpm for i686 arch? The ones for i386 can run at i386, athlon, i586, i686, ... archs, but the ones for i686 cannot run on i386 (and other older archs than i686)...
    How do I change arch type from i386 to 1686

    Wont xine run better as a i686 package than i386.
    I have never understood why they bother releasing fedora as i386 does any one still use these processors. I had to look it up its before my time. (its ancient)

    I had to do a google for i386 , this is what I got .

    Designed and manufactured by Intel, the i386 processor was taped-out in October of 1985
    Last edited by leigh123linux; 27th November 2006 at 06:38 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, Czech Republic, Chrudim
    Age
    31
    Posts
    841
    Quote Originally Posted by leigh123
    How do I change arch type from i386 to 1686
    Have you tried rpmbuild --target=i686 --rebuild source-package-name.rpm?
    Last edited by martin.sourada; 28th November 2006 at 12:01 AM.
    FŽannatar

    Your freedom ends where others' starts.
    It's the same with software => promote GPL.

    Registered Linux User: #431562
    My blog: Martin's Chronicles

    Echo Icon Theme: homepage

    Nodoka: homepage

    Fedora Core future enhancements?

    JID: martin.sourada AT jabber.cz

  8. #8
    leigh123linux Guest
    [QUOTE=martin.sourada][QUOTE=leigh123]How do I change arch type from i386 to 1686
    Have you tried rpmbuild --target=i686 --rebuild source-package-name.rpm?

    Hi thanks for option it works fine on i586 or athlon for targets but wont make a i686 package
    could this be a bug.
    I was playing with /usr/lib/rpm/rpmrc earlier and got same problem , since then I reinstalled RPM.rpm package to restore this file , Am I right.
    If this is wrong , do you have a copy of fc6 32 bit rpmrc file.

    thanks leigh

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, Czech Republic, Chrudim
    Age
    31
    Posts
    841
    Quote Originally Posted by leigh123
    Hi thanks for option it works fine on i586 or athlon for targets but wont make a i686 package
    could this be a bug.
    I've just tried to rebuild gxine source package for i686 arch with this result: i686 packages were created. Could you post an error message or something to describe your problem more?
    I was playing with /usr/lib/rpm/rpmrc earlier and got same problem , since then I reinstalled RPM.rpm package to restore this file , Am I right.
    If this is wrong , do you have a copy of fc6 32 bit rpmrc file.

    thanks leigh
    I attach my /usr/lib/rpm/rpmrc (rpmrc.txt).
    Attached Files Attached Files
    FŽannatar

    Your freedom ends where others' starts.
    It's the same with software => promote GPL.

    Registered Linux User: #431562
    My blog: Martin's Chronicles

    Echo Icon Theme: homepage

    Nodoka: homepage

    Fedora Core future enhancements?

    JID: martin.sourada AT jabber.cz

  10. #10
    leigh123linux Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by martin.sourada
    I've just tried to rebuild gxine source package for i686 arch with this result: i686 packages were created. Could you post an error message or something to describe your problem more?

    I attach my /usr/lib/rpm/rpmrc (rpmrc.txt).
    Hi Martin thanks for your rpmrc I coppied it to my rpmrc and removed other rpmrc that i had put in my home file and root as well as etc. With this done I can now make i686 packages.
    Do you think I should use i686 or athlon for my processor , is there much difference between the two.
    I have already done all four xine packages (athlon seemed logical) and it seems to start and run better.

    many thanks for you help

    leigh
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot.png 
Views:	98 
Size:	308.1 KB 
ID:	10513  
    Last edited by leigh123linux; 28th November 2006 at 01:09 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, Czech Republic, Chrudim
    Age
    31
    Posts
    841
    Quote Originally Posted by leigh123
    Do you think I should use i686 or athlon for my processor , is there much difference between the two.
    I have already done all four xine packages (athlon seemed logical) and it seems to start and run better.
    Well, I don't know. What processor do you have? An old athlon or some newer one? And of course, you can try both athlon and i686, and decide what is better for you
    FŽannatar

    Your freedom ends where others' starts.
    It's the same with software => promote GPL.

    Registered Linux User: #431562
    My blog: Martin's Chronicles

    Echo Icon Theme: homepage

    Nodoka: homepage

    Fedora Core future enhancements?

    JID: martin.sourada AT jabber.cz

  12. #12
    leigh123linux Guest
    I have a AMD 64 3800 X2 .

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, Czech Republic, Chrudim
    Age
    31
    Posts
    841
    Quote Originally Posted by leigh123
    I have a AMD 64 3800 X2 .
    In that case I think, you should rather try i686 if not even x68_64...
    FŽannatar

    Your freedom ends where others' starts.
    It's the same with software => promote GPL.

    Registered Linux User: #431562
    My blog: Martin's Chronicles

    Echo Icon Theme: homepage

    Nodoka: homepage

    Fedora Core future enhancements?

    JID: martin.sourada AT jabber.cz

  14. #14
    leigh123linux Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by martin.sourada
    In that case I think, you should rather try i686 if not even x68_64...
    when you say x86_64 you mean upgrade to fedora 6 x86_64

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, Czech Republic, Chrudim
    Age
    31
    Posts
    841
    Quote Originally Posted by leigh123
    when you say x86_64 you mean upgrade to fedora 6 x86_64
    Well, it could speed up your computer, but I heard (read somewhere in these forums) that there are problems with this architecture...
    FŽannatar

    Your freedom ends where others' starts.
    It's the same with software => promote GPL.

    Registered Linux User: #431562
    My blog: Martin's Chronicles

    Echo Icon Theme: homepage

    Nodoka: homepage

    Fedora Core future enhancements?

    JID: martin.sourada AT jabber.cz

Similar Threads

  1. xine-lib = 1.1.7 is needed by package xine-lib-moles
    By light speed in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th February 2008, 12:00 AM
  2. Recompiling PHP with gd
    By fuelharp in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th August 2007, 05:42 AM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17th April 2007, 04:57 AM
  4. Recompiling PHP.... eh?
    By t3hl33td4rg0n in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd March 2007, 08:38 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •