FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    spnetspec Guest

    Question fstab entries will not mount on boot.

    I just upgraded from fedora core 3 to core 6. I have a serial ata drive that I boot from and have a ata drive that I have the following mount labels. 1) /var/ftp 2) /home/webusers. I added the mount points during the install. The install went smooth, but upon boot the two ata drive mount points listed give a "write protected" error during the boot. and a kernal audit in the message log.
    here is the message log audits:

    Nov 15 18:25:17 rayout kernel: audit(1163636707.486:4): avc: denied { mounton } for pid=1548 comm="mount" name="webusers" dev=dm-0 ino=21528578 scontext=system_u:system_r:mount_t:s0 tcontext=user_u:object_r:user_home_dir_t:s0 tclass=dir
    Nov 15 18:25:17 rayout kernel: audit(1163636707.486:5): avc: denied { mounton } for pid=1548 comm="mount" name="webusers" dev=dm-0 ino=21528578 scontext=system_u:system_r:mount_t:s0 tcontext=user_u:object_r:user_home_dir_t:s0 tclass=dir
    mount output following boot
    [root@rayout ~]# mount
    /dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00 on / type ext3 (rw)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
    /dev/sda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
    tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
    sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)


    ## mount output when mount -a performed
    [root@rayout ~]# mount -a
    [root@rayout ~]# mount
    /dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00 on / type ext3 (rw)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
    /dev/sda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
    tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
    sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)
    /dev/hda2 on /home/webusers type ext3 (rw)
    /dev/hda1 on /var/ftp type ext3 (rw)
    [root@rayout ~]#
    ## df -v output
    [root@rayout ~]# df -v
    Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
    /dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00
    115126668 2237236 106946956 3% /
    /dev/sda1 101086 10942 84925 12% /boot
    tmpfs 257336 0 257336 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/hda2 59084964 37340800 18742824 67% /home/webusers
    /dev/hda1 59084932 4823464 51260128 9% /var/ftp
    [root@rayout ~]#
    ## fstab

    [root@rayout ~]# cat /etc/fstab
    /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 / ext3 defaults 1 1
    LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/home/webusers /home/webusers ext3 defaults 1 2
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/var/ftp /var/ftp ext3 defaults 1 2
    /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda3 swap swap defaults 0 0
    [root@rayout ~]#

    Am I just overlooking something,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,757
    Might be that I misunderstood what you're trying to do but couldn't you get the same result by making a webusers folder in the home directory and an ftp folder in var and then editing your fstab to mount those partitions into those folders.

    /dev/hda2 /home/webusers ext3 defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda1 /var/ftp ext3 defaults 0 0

  3. #3
    spnetspec Guest
    That is the same only I'm using Label.. This works great when I do a "mount -a" but it give a "device write protected error " on boot. after the machine boots I run the mount -a it mounts all entrys perfectly.

  4. #4
    spnetspec Guest
    The reason I use this I have all of my data stored on its own drive. It has worked great up to this point. it worked good from core 3 to core 4, I skipped core 5 and dosn't work w/core 6.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,757
    Right, but did you try it that way?

  6. #6
    spnetspec Guest
    yes same effect. On boot still compained bout both block devices being write protected, but mounted perfectly after logging into root and executing a mount -a.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Mi
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,221
    in fstab try
    /dev/hda2 /home/webusers ext3 rw exec auto user async 1 2
    /dev/hda1 /var/ftp ext3 rw exec auto user async 1 2
    As always
    Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
    FC6: Common Questions answered

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Mi
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,221
    also did you try with 0 0 not sure if a user can check the filesystem
    As always
    Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
    FC6: Common Questions answered

  9. #9
    spnetspec Guest
    I tried your suggestions Nickisgod1 same out come. On boot error "cannot mount block device in read-only", but after boot was able to mount perfectly with mount -a".. I have no idea what is going on here but we must be over looking something. Could it be something with udev ?

  10. #10
    Seve's Avatar
    Seve is offline Retired Community Manager
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Age
    60
    Posts
    12,371
    Quote Originally Posted by spnetspec
    I tried your suggestions Nickisgod1 same out come. On boot error "cannot mount block device in read-only", but after boot was able to mount perfectly with mount -a".. I have no idea what is going on here but we must be over looking something. Could it be something with udev ?
    Hello:
    Been a few changes since FC3
    Since you are trying to mount to /home and /var, I believe that
    SeLinux will not allow this [or is blocking at boot time] and that is why you are seeing some errors.
    So, you have a few options that you can select from:
    Change the mount points to something other than /home and /var .. for example, you could use /mnt/
    Or,
    You have to set SeLinux to permissive or disable it for the mount a boot time to take place.

    Seve
    Registered Linux User: #384977
    .................................................. ............
    See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)


  11. #11
    spnetspec Guest

    Could it be a udev rule issue?

    attached is my "50-udev.rules" any thoughts?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. #12
    spnetspec Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Seve
    Hello:
    Been a few changes since FC3
    Since you are trying to mount to /home and /var, I believe that
    SeLinux will not allow this [or is blocking at boot time] and that is why you are seeing some errors.
    So, you have a few options that you can select from:
    Change the mount points to something other than /home and /var .. for example, you could use /mnt/
    Or,
    You have to set SeLinux to permissive or disable it for the mount a boot time to take place.

    Seve
    Will try in 5 min.. Thanks! I forgot about the Selinux rules. SPNS

  13. #13
    spnetspec Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Seve
    Hello:
    Been a few changes since FC3
    Since you are trying to mount to /home and /var, I believe that
    SeLinux will not allow this [or is blocking at boot time] and that is why you are seeing some errors.
    So, you have a few options that you can select from:
    Change the mount points to something other than /home and /var .. for example, you could use /mnt/
    Or,
    You have to set SeLinux to permissive or disable it for the mount a boot time to take place.

    Seve
    I modified the Selinux " mount any file " option. worked great. Guess I need to review all of the selinux params. ... Thanks !

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,757
    Glad you got it working, I didn't even think about Selinux. You learn something everyday. I had a problem mounting one drive and the only change I made was moving that line to the end of the file and all of a sudden it's fine, go figure.
    Selinux is actually getting kind of annoying now I even had to modify it just to install the ntfs kmod. I see this feature being disabled on more and more machines in the near future.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29th May 2006, 12:36 PM
  2. smbfs/cifs mount point in fstab not mounting on boot
    By rgladwell in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th January 2006, 11:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •