<---- template headericclude ----->
FC6:How to most common questions I've answered in the last week
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 162
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Mi
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    FC6:How to most common questions I've answered in the last week

    OK I seem to be answering the same question over and over again, which I dont mind. It gives me something to do. but i figured id throw all the answers into one thread. so that i can refer people here if Im in a hurry or at least have someplace i can copy and paste from.
    in the enitre post $ = user prompt and # = root prompt
    this assumes you have the livna core and extras repos enabled if not see fedora faq or ask
    #1
    "su" != "su -"
    if you switch user to root without the dash you do not get roots path, but your present working directory does not change.
    if you switch to user root with the dash, you get roots path and your present working directory change to roots home directory.
    #2
    I want to boot to text login/I don't want to boot to text login


    as root
    #gedit /etc/inittab
    edit this line
    id:5:initdefault:
    5=graphical boot
    3= text boot
    note: this can also be achieved for a single session by pressing e or a at the grub screen opon reboot and adding a 5 to the end of the kernel line for a graphical boot, or a 3 to enter a text install
    another note: if your xserver is not running use nano or vi instead of gedit
    #3
    how to install mediaplayers/ a media plugin for firefox and their codecs
    note: all players will need to install the codecs located at the bottom of this section

    Ok xine is an easy one
    Xine is my favorite media player to use for dvd's and files already on my hard drive
    $su -
    #yum -y install xine xine-lib xine-lib-extras-nonfree
    #exit
    Mplayer is also pretty simple
    I like mplayer for the plug-in, and i also use it as my default player on my mythbox. it has a lot of powerful features
    $su -
    #yum -y install mplayer mplayer-skins mplayer-fonts mplayerplug-in
    #exit
    totem
    if you are using either of the first two options i recommend removing totem
    $su -
    #yum remove totem
    #exit
    however if you want totem to work with the codecs this how it is done
    adapted from the info i got from hammel
    Code:
    $su -
    #yum install gstreamer-plugins gstreamer-ffmpeg
    #wget ftp://fr2.rpmfind.net/linux/freshrpms/fedora/linux/6/gstreamer-pitfdll/gstreamer-pitfdll-0.9.1.1-1.fc6.i386.rpm
    #rpm -ivh gstreamer-pitfdll-0.9.1.1-1.fc6.i386.rpm
    #exit
    The codecs (you need to do this for all the media players listed above)
    Code:
    $ wget http://www.mplayerhq.hu/MPlayer/releases/codecs/all-20061022.tar.bz2
    $su
    #mkdir /usr/local/lib/codecs/
    #mkdir /usr/lib/win32
    #tar xvfj all-20061022.tar.bz2
    #cp ./all-20061022/* /usr/local/lib/codecs/
    #chmod 755 /usr/local/lib/codecs/*
    #cp /usr/local/lib/codecs/* /usr/lib/win32/
    #rm -rf ./all-20061022
    #rm ./all-20061022.tar.bz2
    #exit
    #4
    madwifi drivers from source/ network manager cant see my madwifi chipset
    $su -
    #yum install kernel-devel
    or
    #yum kernel-xen-devel
    depending on what you need
    #exit
    $svn checkout http://svn.madwifi.org/trunk madwifi
    $cd madwifi
    $ make
    $su
    # make install
    #/sbin/modprobe ath_pci
    # gedit /etc/modprobe.conf
    add these lines
    alias wifi0 ath_pci
    alias ath0 ath_pci
    options ath_pci autocreate=sta
    this will allow you to activate the device ath0 from both the command line and system-config-network

    #5 chmod
    i Think ill give an overview of chmod as some people seem to be having a problem with it
    here it goes chmod a simplified version
    the permisions of linux files are set up into 3 catagories owner, group, others.
    each of these three catagories has 3 options read, write, and execute
    they are set by numbers coresponding to their binary values
    111 in binary = 7 base 10 this gives the coresponding catagory all privilages
    110in binary = 6 base 10 this gives the coresponding catagory read and write privallages
    001 in binary = 1 base 10 this gives only execute permisions
    101 = 5 thus = read execute and so forth
    therefore a command of chmod 755 foo
    would give the file foo
    read write and execute permissions for the owner
    and read and execute permissions for the group and others
    the -R tag makes the Recursive, meaning it applies to all lower levels of the directory and files
    use this with caution
    # 6
    my firefox only is working for some sites. this may be due to ipv6 being enabled.
    ps i stole this from seve b/c im to lazy to type and i saw he just did so i figure ill just do the ole ctrl x ctrl v

    In the firefox address bar bype about: config
    and filter for ipv
    and set network.dns.disableIPv6
    to true
    Next
    open a terminal and log in as root using
    su -
    yourpassword
    then type
    gedit /etc/modprobe.conf
    and add the following lines
    alias net-pf-10 off
    alias ipv6 off
    leave a blank line at the end save, and exit
    then type
    gedit /etc/sysconfig/network
    and check and see if
    NETWORKING_IPV6=yes
    if it does change it to
    NETWORKING_IPV6=no
    save and exit
    # 7
    question: I forgot my root password, how do i reset it?
    reboot
    at grub screen press a
    enter a 1
    continue boot
    at prompt
    #passwd root
    make a new password
    reboot
    use your new passwd
    #8
    how do i set my default enviroment. / when i type startx i want to start kde, gnome, xfce, enlightenment etc
    $rpm -qa | grep switchdesk
    if nothing is found
    $su
    #yum install switchdesk
    if it is found or you just installed it
    $switchdesk "enviroment name here"
    this make the specified enviroment your default, and when you startx or login through gdm it will start this enviroment
    #9
    anaconda installed i586 kernell
    the following will install the i686 kernel and the devel
    $ su -
    $ Password: [Enter 'root' password]
    # cp /boot/grub/grub.conf /boot/grub/grub.conf.bak
    # rpm -e --nodeps kernel
    # rpm -e --nodeps kernel-devel
    # rpm -ivh http://redhat.secsup.org/fedora/core...8.fc6.i686.rpm
    # rpm -ivh http://redhat.secsup.org/fedora/core...8.fc6.i686.rpm
    # cp /boot/grub/grub.conf.bak /boot/grub/grub.conf
    note do NOT reboot until after you have completed all the steps.

    # 10
    how do i play mp3/ what is a good mp3 player
    if your wondering why fedora does not ship with mp3 support a quick trip to http://www.mp3licensing.com/
    should explain why.
    first let me state that it is a matter of opinion, that i happen to like xmms since i do, that is what i am going to describe. plus the install couldnt be any simpler, but bearing that i have got lots of questions. so here it is.
    $su -
    #yum -y install xmms xmms-mp3
    #exit
    now xmms should be able to play your mp3's by typing
    $xmms filename
    now to make this the default through nautalis.
    there is probably a better way to do this. but i just right click on an mp3
    go to properties
    go to opens with
    click add
    click custom
    type xmms
    #11
    how can i install adobe acroread / arcoread wont work
    go to adobe's webpage and download the rpm
    http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html
    save to a directory or uses system-install packages to install(reccomended)
    if you saved it
    $su -
    #cd directroy you saved_rpm_to
    #rpm -ivh A*.rpm (assuming only rpm starting with A in that dir if not type whole name)
    #exit
    now for everyone
    $ su -
    #gedit /usr/bin/acroread
    change the line
    echo $mfile| sed 's/libgtk-x11-\([0-9]*\).0.so.0.\([0-9]\)00.\([0-9]*\)\|\(.*\)/\1\2\3/g'
    to
    echo $mfile| sed 's/libgtk-x11-\([0-9]*\).0.so.0.\([0-9]*\)00.\([0-9]*\)\|\(.*\)/\1\2\3/g'
    to install the plugin
    #cp /usr/local/Adobe/Acrobat7.0/Browser/intellinux/nppdf.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
    #exit
    $ firefox
    go to aboutlugins to check if it worked.

    #12
    how do i install sun jre/ firefox plugin
    got to
    http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/index.jsp
    download
    J2SE(TM) Runtime Environment 5.0 Update 10 the self extracting file
    $su -
    #cd dir_java_downloaded_to
    #mv jre-6-linux-i586.bin /opt
    #cd /opt
    #chmod +x jre-6-linux-i586.bin
    #./jre-6-linux-i586.bin
    #ln -s /opt/jre1.6.0/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so
    #gedit /etc/profile.d/java.sh (add these lines note the blank line at eof)
    export J2RE_HOME=/opt/jre1.6.0
    export PATH=$J2RE_HOME/bin:$PATH

    #source /etc/profile.d/java.sh
    #/usr/sbin/alternatives --install /usr/bin/java java /opt/jre1.6.0/bin/java 2
    #rm jre-6-linux-i586.bin
    #exit
    you should be good then.
    note: to check type java -version and see what you get.
    second note: I learned this from stanton finley, but this is a simplified and changed version of his how to. the original can be found here http://stanton-finley.net/
    although this version is definitely different, thought i would give my source.
    Last edited by nick.stumpos; 29th January 2007 at 11:14 PM. Reason: consolidate
    As always
    Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
    FC6: Common Questions answered

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Mi
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    had to start edditing my second post to fit this.
    #13
    how do i add a new user / firstboot didnt load and i need to create a new user
    first get root permisions
    if you already have a user
    $su -
    if you dont, log in as root, then
    #useradd newusername
    this will create a new user and a home directory for them in /home/
    as well as set some enviromental variables and various other things

    now we need to set up a password for them
    #passwd newusername
    create a password
    you have now created a new user and can log in as them with the new password

    just a note b/c many people have asked this I put this in the do not recomend list if you want to create a user with no password use this command instead of passwd
    usermod -p "" newusername
    but again i don't recommend
    #14 How to use vi
    vi is a very useful, and my personal favorite text editor. here is how to use it
    ok vi has 2 modes, command mode and insert mode.
    1. command mode
    here are some of the basic command to get you through the editor
    h = move the cursor 1 character left
    j = move the cursor 1 character down
    k = move the cursor 1 character up
    l = move the cursor 1 character right
    i = enter insert mode before cursor
    I = enter insert mode at begging of line
    a = enter insert mode after the cursor
    A = enter insert mode at the end of current line
    o = create a new line below current line and enter insert mode
    O = create a new line above current line and enter insert mode
    /string = searches for the first instance of string
    n = next occurrence
    $ = move the cursor to end of line
    :x = move cursor to line x
    u = undo
    r = replace single character
    R = like insert mode but replaces characters until [Esc] is hit
    x = delete single character
    dw = delete word
    dd = delete line
    D = delete rest of line after cursor
    yy = copy line
    p = paste
    <ctrl>g = returns line number
    :w = save file
    :q! = quit without saving
    :wq or ZZ = save and quit
    2. Insert/replace mode mode
    you can type just as you would in any editor
    to quit and return to command mode press [Esc]
    # 15 how do i add myself/group to sudoers file
    in order to edit the sudoers file, you need to use a program called visudo.
    to do this you will need a quick overview of my favorite editor vi. see guide above for a quick overview.
    to open visudo
    $su -
    (password)
    #visudo
    to give a user sudo privs for all programs

    go to the line which reads "root ALL=(ALL) ALL"
    press o
    enter the line
    username ALL=(ALL) ALL
    press [Esc] to return to command mode

    to give a group sudo privs for all programs

    press o
    enter the line
    %groupname ALL=(ALL) ALL
    press [Esc] to return to command mode

    to give user or group privs to only certain programs you will need to either create you own aliases or use the predefined ones. the predfined ones are listed at the top of the file, your own can be made following the same format

    once you know the aliases you want the user or group to have privs in
    for a group replace username with %groupname
    press o
    enter the line
    username ALL = Alias1, Alias2 ALL
    press [Esc] to return to command mode

    to note, if your sudoers file is being used across a network, the All's can be replaced with the hostname of a machine to only give users sudo privs on a certain machine

    also by default sudo requires the user to use their own password, this can be changed to the root password by setting the rootpw flag
    this is done by adding
    Defaults rootpw
    to the file

    also a user can be set to use no password( I do not recommend this) by inserting
    NOPASSWD:
    before the second ALL in the lines listed earlier

    now pressing
    ZZ or :wq
    will save the file.
    #exit
    $sudo command
    (password)
    will run the command as root
    if i think of anything else i will add it here. if anyone wants me to add a how-to on something needed for everyday desktop use just ask and i will add it. with the exception of the proprietary video driver. I dont use them, and do not have any knowledge on there use or installation. feel free to ask for any clarifications
    note: as the how-tos get finalized i am edditing them to the top. so you may read the same things twice. but feel free to respond and just ignore the extra posts, unless you want to see what may have been changed from the original. enjoy the how-tos.
    Last edited by nick.stumpos; 25th November 2006 at 08:52 PM.
    As always
    Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
    FC6: Common Questions answered

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Mi
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just keep thinking of things so here is some more
    # im not reall sure where im at maybe 5
    my firefox only is working for some sites. this may be due to ipv6 being enabled.
    ps i stole this from seve b/c im to lazy to type and i saw he just did so i figure ill just do the ole ctrl x ctrl v
    In the firefox address bar bype about: config
    and filter for ipv
    and set network.dns.disableIPv6
    to true
    Next
    open a terminal and log in as root using
    su -
    yourpassword
    then type
    gedit /etc/modprobe.conf
    and add the following lines
    alias net-pf-10 off
    alias ipv6 off
    leave a blank line at the end save, and exit
    then type
    gedit /etc/sysconfig/network
    and check and see if
    NETWORKING_IPV6=yes
    if it does change it to
    NETWORKING_IPV6=no
    save and exit
    Last edited by nick.stumpos; 5th November 2006 at 10:11 AM.
    As always
    Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
    FC6: Common Questions answered

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Mi
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    just thought of another one
    # ill call this 6
    question: I forgot my root passwor, how do i reset it
    reboot
    at grub screen press a
    enter a 1
    continue boot
    at prompt
    #passwd root
    make a new password
    reboot
    use your new passwd
    this could end up being a long thread if i keep at this. hopefully it is useful to someone.
    As always
    Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
    FC6: Common Questions answered

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    CALIFORNIA, yeah
    Age
    96
    Posts
    1,657
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good idea...post #3
    gedit /etc/modbrope.conf
    should read
    gedit /etc/modprobe.conf
    Ziggy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Mi
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks for the type-o ill edit it
    As always
    Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
    FC6: Common Questions answered

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Mi
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #8
    how do i set my default enviroment. / when i type startx i want to start kde, gnome, xfce, enlightenment etc
    Code:
    $rpm -qa | grep switchdesk
    if nothing is found
         $su
         #yum install switchdesk
    if it is found or you just installed it
    $switchdesk "enviroment name here"
    this make the specified enviroment your default, and when you startx or login through gdm it will start this enviroment
    As always
    Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
    FC6: Common Questions answered

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK, Bucks.
    Posts
    354
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should include steps to fix the i586 instead of i686 bug. Including steps on how to change the GRUB file so it boots.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Mi
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    good point here it is
    #9
    anaconda installed i586 kenrenl
    the following will install the i686 kernel and the devel
    Code:
    $ su -
    $ Password: [Enter 'root' password]
    # cp /boot/grub/grub.conf /boot/grub/grub.conf.bak
    # rpm -e --nodeps kernel
    # rpm -e --nodeps kernel-devel
    # rpm -ivh http://redhat.secsup.org/fedora/core/6/i386/os/Fedora/RPMS/kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686.rpm
    # rpm -ivh http://redhat.secsup.org/fedora/core/6/i386/os/Fedora/RPMS/kernel-devel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686.rpm
    # cp /boot/grub/grub.conf.bak /boot/grub/grub.conf
    note do NOT reboot until after you have completed all the steps
    edit: just to note i did not have this problem as i installed the xen kernel, but my friend did, and this is the procedure he followed. So i have no first hand experience, but i have no reason to believe it wouldnt work
    Last edited by nick.stumpos; 6th November 2006 at 04:08 AM. Reason: edited for typos and to reflect Dead1nside's addition of how to switch into root user
    As always
    Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
    FC6: Common Questions answered

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paris, TX
    Posts
    24,212
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nice guide Nick.

    Perhaps a single use boot into init 3 and / or init 5 from GRUB by appending 3 or 5 to kernel command?

    EDIT: Gotcha! content deleted.

    Thanks,

    Dan
    Last edited by TangledWeb; 6th November 2006 at 02:39 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK, Bucks.
    Posts
    354
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for adding that, there's been many guides. But none as clear as just that list of commands.

    Edit: Just a few corrections, for typos and to make it a tad more noob friendly.

    Code:
    $ su -
    $ Password: [Enter 'root' password]
    # cp /boot/grub/grub.conf /boot/grub/grub.conf.bak
    # rpm -e --nodeps kernel
    # rpm -e --nodeps kernel-devel
    # rpm -ivh http://redhat.secsup.org/fedora/core/6/i386/os/Fedora/RPMS/kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686.rpm
    # rpm -ivh http://redhat.secsup.org/fedora/core/6/i386/os/Fedora/RPMS/kernel-devel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686.rpm
    # cp /boot/grub/grub.conf.bak /boot/grub/grub.conf
    Last edited by Dead1nside; 6th November 2006 at 02:31 AM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Mi
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nice guide Nick.

    Perhaps a single use boot into init 3 and / or init 5 from GRUB by appending 3 or 5 to kernel command?
    thanks i edited the original post on runlevels to reflect this
    As always
    Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
    FC6: Common Questions answered

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    1,279
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd like to add nice guide! I've definitely responded to a few madwifi posts myself. May I suggest possibly adding something about how Atheros devices are always ath0. Users seem to be getting confused with having the wifi0 and ath0 for a single device. Or at least explain what's going on with the device naming process.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Mi
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dead1nside: thanks for the typo corrections, seem to be having those alot lately, ill change my original to reflect your changes as well

    scotta3234: I will reply with why in a sec when i got some time to type it out prolly in like 20 minutes, i get bored of studying pretty quickly y im responding now. but i think your post that it is called ath0 is enough for some new people to read the thread and understand with what to do. ill post the why in a little bit. prolly in a reply as i think an edit might just make the directions confusing
    As always
    Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
    FC6: Common Questions answered

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    1,279
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    True... I realized that in saying that I had already stated the answer to their questions as to why their wireless still wont work when they can see both devices. I also realized that i could have said what was what with the devices but it really doesn't matter. What matters is that the device is ath0.

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Need a few questions answered
    By spontaneous in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 12th January 2006, 12:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
[[template footer(Guest)]]