KDE & QT acting up on x86_64 Fedora.
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Mexico City, Mexico
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    KDE & QT acting up on x86_64 Fedora.

    Anyone else having problems with some KDE or QT applications under Core 5? After the last series of updates, I have been unable to run amaroK and K3B... Details, here.

    I am also experiencing difficutlies accessing Bugzilla (to file a bug regarding this issue), any body has the same problem?

    TIA!
    If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
    If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

    FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
    Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

  2. #2
    tangotiger Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Thetargos
    Anyone else having problems with some KDE or QT applications under Core 5? After the last series of updates, I have been unable to run amaroK and K3B... Details, here.
    Me too ! Except that I found out the hard way... I thought I screwed my computer installing a bad package and reinstalled fc5 for the whole day only to find out that *that* wasn't the problem. Since my clean install crashed after updating, I guess it's a broken update. I'm using x86_64 btw. I think my fc5 got broken about two days ago.

    Found out too that it's not necessarily a KDE problem. Lyx also dies, so maybe it's QT. Other applications that I tried to open and got killed are like amarok, k3b, konsole, noatun, kplayer, juk, konqueror, some kioslaves etc. Managed to log in to my KDE but can't do anything else.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Porto, Portugal
    Age
    51
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Screensaver crashes my pc

    Hello, so far one single problem : on KDE control center, if i try to configure screensavers the whole system freezes. CTRL-ALT-Backspace does not work. I need to reboot to get it working again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Mexico City, Mexico
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by tangotiger
    Me too ! Except that I found out the hard way... I thought I screwed my computer installing a bad package and reinstalled fc5 for the whole day only to find out that *that* wasn't the problem. Since my clean install crashed after updating, I guess it's a broken update. I'm using x86_64 btw. I think my fc5 got broken about two days ago.

    Found out too that it's not necessarily a KDE problem. Lyx also dies, so maybe it's QT. Other applications that I tried to open and got killed are like amarok, k3b, konsole, noatun, kplayer, juk, konqueror, some kioslaves etc. Managed to log in to my KDE but can't do anything else.
    Ok, so I'm not alone on this... that's good. Have you been able to file a bug report? I haven't tried to file one today, but yesterday all day bugzilla seemed to be down (for me) for some reason.

    It has GOT to be a bad QT update, and this has GOT to be corrected ASAP, as there are a lot of KDE users out there, so please if one of the mods could sticky a warning NOT to update the QT packages on x86_64 that would prevent other users from these problems.

    By the way, this seems to only affect x86_64 systems.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tquilha
    Hello, so far one single problem : on KDE control center, if i try to configure screensavers the whole system freezes. CTRL-ALT-Backspace does not work. I need to reboot to get it working again.
    Does this happen with any Screensaver or only the 3D ones? If only the 3D ones, more details about your hardware would be necessary (graphics card, drivers used, etc). Also, are you on x86_64 (AMD64/EM64T, fully updated? (if so, could you please check the above errors?)
    If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
    If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

    FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
    Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

  5. #5
    tangotiger Guest

    Bugzilla's up, bug filed.

    Ok Bugzilla's online. Bug no 192788

    Hope this gets fixed cos I can't do a lot of things on my com without amarok running . Incidentally, it's my first bug report. w00t!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Mexico City, Mexico
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Excellent! you beat me to it. Thaks for contributing back to the community!
    If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
    If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

    FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
    Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I am *also* having trouble with kde applications, on a regular i386.
    I do not know if it is the same problem -- the applications will open and run, but closing them generates a SIGSEGV 11 error. I posted about it here:

    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=110238

    but no one responded, so I wasn't sure if it was just me or not. But I'm going to assume that this is the same error (whew, not just me!!), so I added to your bug report.
    Last edited by mtl2002; 23rd May 2006 at 04:01 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Mexico City, Mexico
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Interesting to see i686 having an issue similar to this... I'm not that sure they are the same issue, but what's patent is that the latest QT update does have issues. Thanks for adding your input to the bug report!
    If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
    If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

    FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
    Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Mexico City, Mexico
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Those who posted in Bugzilla, already should know, but this is solved by removing the scim-qtimm package, apparently this is a bug in such module for QT.
    If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
    If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

    FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
    Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Removing scim-qtimm fixed the problem on i686 as well. BUT the weird thing is that this package has not changed since installation of FC5 (which for me was April 02, 2006), and yet the problems didn't start until last week.

  11. #11
    tangotiger Guest
    Fix works. Glad this is over and I can get back to doing my things. Then again, it is true that there was a whole slew of scim updates last week... I'm not really informed about this, but I have my suspicions. lol

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Mexico City, Mexico
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mtl2002
    Removing scim-qtimm fixed the problem on i686 as well. BUT the weird thing is that this package has not changed since installation of FC5 (which for me was April 02, 2006), and yet the problems didn't start until last week.
    scim did not change (for i686) but QT did.
    If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
    If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

    FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
    Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Similar Threads

  1. Fedora 9 acting screwy after update
    By Castle_Romeo in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th November 2008, 12:27 PM
  2. fedora 8 acting up when booted without network
    By wiad in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th January 2008, 10:20 AM
  3. Touchpad acting up in Fedora 7
    By eruthven in forum Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st September 2007, 05:03 PM
  4. Yum Acting Crazy AGAIN!
    By brobertsleo in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd August 2006, 11:36 AM
  5. yum is acting up
    By VStrider in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th April 2005, 03:21 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •