FedoraForum.org

FedoraForum.org (https://forums.fedoraforum.org/index.php)
-   Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream (https://forums.fedoraforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   At the risk of (https://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=315472)

liderbug 11th September 2017 10:05 PM

At the risk of
 
getting banned ... But I just have to vent. Back in the "teen" versions when I'd do a fresh install: Do you want Desktop or Server? Do you want Gnome, KDE, a, b, c...? Do you want DHCP or fixed?

NOW - you 'will' install Gnome, you will install X & Y & Z - because that's what 'WE' like and 'WE' know better. Ya, sure there's a spin of KDE out there, it'll only take you an hour of searching to find it. Once downloaded and dd'ed to a stick I can have to new machine up and running in 10 minutes - well "up". Another hour of tweek this, set fixed IP, configure this and that.

Could I just ... ya, but I don't like being told what I like by someone who has no idea what I do, how I work, what I need.

toot, toot, toot

antikythera 11th September 2017 10:20 PM

Re: At the risk of
 
vents like that won't get you banned. there's a lot of folk who use the forum that agree entirely with your viewpoints including myself.

smr54 11th September 2017 10:48 PM

Re: At the risk of
 
If you take something like the server version, I think there's more chance for customization. I'm not sure though, I always choose minimal and add on from there.

liderbug 11th September 2017 11:52 PM

Re: At the risk of
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by antikythera (Post 1794384)
vents like that won't get you banned. there's a lot of folk who use the forum that agree entirely with your viewpoints including myself.

Thanks. Understand I like Gnome 48%, KDE 52% - and I run other OSs on my RasPi/OPi boards. And: ie. systemd - why? what was wrong with /etc/init.d/whatever - well we haven't changed that in quite a while, it's not broke, so watch this. It's a case of "this is the way 'my' mind works, so...". (more toot'n)

RupertPupkin 12th September 2017 01:03 AM

Re: At the risk of
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by liderbug (Post 1794389)
I run other OSs on my RasPi/OPi boards.

http://www.reactiongifs.com/wp-conte...BooThisMan.gif

glennzo 12th September 2017 01:04 AM

Re: At the risk of
 
I agree too, and I promise I won't ban you either. Matter of fact, I'd give you a pat on the back if I could.

lsatenstein 12th September 2017 01:01 PM

Re: At the risk of
 
If you choose the network install version or the everything network version, you can definitely pick and choose. The live ISO version is for Turks and for testing new features.

Search for the one or the other.

liderbug 13th September 2017 09:21 PM

Re: At the risk of
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lsatenstein (Post 1794421)
If you choose the network install version or the everything network version, you can definitely pick and choose. The live ISO version is for Turks and for testing new features.

Search for the one or the other.

But .... when you go to Home Page, ..ahhhh, ah, Download you get X. On my own I said "Hmmmm there's got to be a KDE version... Hey Google!".

antikythera 13th September 2017 09:43 PM

Re: At the risk of
 
scroll down past the big bright third of the page width buttons on the get.fedoraproject.org page and there are links to the spins pages and alternate architectures. In fact it is still out of date since the latest spin icon is missing. There's now LXQt as well. Check out labs as well, there's some interesting options there.


https://spins.fedoraproject.org/


https://labs.fedoraproject.org/


the crux of the issue is you like most other users would be were drawn by the big brightly coloured buttons to the three main options only.


the all encompassing offline install ISO that contained everything available from Fedora Project is no more unfortunately. the live-respin SIG did a one off build recently for a FOSS conference but it too is no longer available for download from the servers.

liderbug 13th September 2017 11:04 PM

Re: At the risk of
 
Oh, and I don't know when this changed but ... I install FC2x and along with this and that I run ssh-keygen... then ssh-copy-id... and then I can ssh from my laptop to my server - NOT! password> OK Google 'ssh still requires password' - your permissions have to be... you have to abc then xyz and then check your permissions then - after about 3 days and I don't know how many queries only to find that ssh_config: PubkeyAuthentication no
I've never had to fix that before.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.