PDA

View Full Version : MP3 Support



catacon
26th September 2005, 03:09 AM
I know there have been a lot of questions about this, but I can not seem to get it to work. I have Core 4 and have used yum install xmms-mp3, apt-get install xmms-mp3, yum install gstreamer-plugins-mp3, yum install kdemultimedia extras...everything...and nothing works! Everytime it says that there is no argument for xmms-mp3 or whatever. Also, in Audacity, when I try to import or export an mp3, it says "This version of Audacity was compiled without MP3 support", or thereabouts. How do I fix this? What do I do?

Thanks!

smfinley
26th September 2005, 03:21 AM
Yes the version of audacity available in extras is not compiled with MP3 support. However there is a version in the Dries repo that is. As an alternative method to obtain it you could configure apt and synaptic as described here (http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_4_installation_notes.html) and get audacity via synaptic. Then do "yum --exclude audacity update" to keep it from being overwritten by the extras build. Also described there (http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_4_installation_notes.html) is an alternative method for getting MP3 support in xmms and how to install rhythmbox, amarok, and beep with MP3 support as well.

iamroot
26th September 2005, 04:13 AM
There is no xmms-mp3 RPM for FC4. You will have to use the FC3 one. You can get it from www.rpmfind.com. It works. Been using it for a while.

markkuk
26th September 2005, 12:41 PM
Livna (http://rpm.livna.org/) has xmms-mp3 for FC4:

http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/4/i386/RPMS.lvn/xmms-mp3-1.2.10-0.lvn.3.4.i386.rpm

MP Nesto
26th September 2005, 02:06 PM
Livna (http://rpm.livna.org/) has xmms-mp3 for FC4:

http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/4/i386/RPMS.lvn/xmms-mp3-1.2.10-0.lvn.3.4.i386.rpm

I know for a fact this works. I just set it up on my box last night :)

catacon
27th September 2005, 12:14 AM
Well, I was able to get the MP3 support working and was able to install Audacity. However, I cannot open Audacity, in KDE it tries to open it then stops and in GNOME it doesn't even try. I tried opening it from a terminal, and it said:

"audacity: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libwx_gtk-2.4.so.0: undefined symbol: _ZTV11wxFileProto"

I am assuming that is the problem, so how do I fix it?

Thanks!

Bloodbat
27th September 2005, 06:51 PM
Why not try rhythmbox, I got an mp3 version or at least the plugins for it from livna...and all my MP3s play perfectly, actually I think those are the streamer plugins (the ones Rhythm...) uses

Bloodbat

catacon
27th September 2005, 09:58 PM
As I said, I got the MP3's to play in XMMS, RhythmBox, etc. It's just in Audacity that it's not working.

Thanks!

catacon
27th September 2005, 10:28 PM
Well, I got Audacity to work. I just did yum install libwx_gtk-2.4.so.0 and it worked fine. One more problem though: Audacity only detects my onboard soundcard (dsp), which I do not want to use. I want to use a PCI one I added. Every other audio program I use detects the second card (dsp1) fine. How do I get Audacity to detect it?

Thanks!

catacon
30th September 2005, 12:31 AM
Anybody? Anbody at all?

ghostofra
30th September 2005, 01:19 AM
Mplayer wooks great too i think better then XMMS it's a ll you need from a multimedia player here is a good site where i get most of my fc4 rpm's http://rpmfind.net/linux/rpm2html/search.php

Shadow Skill
30th September 2005, 01:32 AM
Umm guys Audacity is an audio editor its not exactly an audio player. :)

catacon
1st October 2005, 12:17 AM
Yeah, I have the MP3 players setup and they work fine. What I need know is to get Audacity setup. Does anybody know how to fix my problem?

Thanks!

LinuxHippy
1st October 2005, 02:29 AM
Well, I got Audacity to work. I just did yum install libwx_gtk-2.4.so.0 and it worked fine. One more problem though: Audacity only detects my onboard soundcard (dsp), which I do not want to use. I want to use a PCI one I added. Every other audio program I use detects the second card (dsp1) fine. How do I get Audacity to detect it?

Thanks!

My new pc has onboard 64 bit sound and available PCI slots. I haven't installed a soundcard in this pc yet. The manufacturer's tech guy emailed me and told me that I would need to first disable the onboard sound in the BIOS setup in order to install a PCI soundcard. I saw what he meant-I have an AMD Athlon 64-3200+ pc. If this is done on a hardware level, Linux shouldn't detect the onboard sound ....I would think.

ghostofra
1st October 2005, 06:29 AM
you probly need to install some libriaries. If youre installing from an rpm and it says it's mising so so use http://rpmfind.net/linux/rpm2html/search.php and type the library in or whatever it's missing i gerentee you get get a fc4 rpm for it. I only use yum for updating critical updates for fc4.

BMBeeman
1st October 2005, 06:36 AM
EDIT:sorry for the error

iamroot
1st October 2005, 09:03 AM
It would depend on the sound card. Some cards are instantly recognized and some aren't.

LinuxHippy
8th October 2005, 03:39 AM
Well, I got Audacity to work. I just did yum install libwx_gtk-2.4.so.0 and it worked fine. One more problem though: Audacity only detects my onboard soundcard (dsp), which I do not want to use. I want to use a PCI one I added. Every other audio program I use detects the second card (dsp1) fine. How do I get Audacity to detect it?

Thanks!

I just installed a PCI soundcard but my onboard sound was still being used. This is what I did. I edited /etc/modprobe.conf and found that there were 2 entries in there for sound. I commented out the onboard sound lines and rebooted. Running alsamixer showed my PCI soundcard was configured.

Hope this helps!!

arpadh
11th October 2005, 09:21 AM
Can anybody help me? (FC4)

I'm trying really hard to install XMMS , but I get only
error messages. Here are some:

xmms-1.2.10 :

checking for GLIB - version >= 1.2.2... no
*** The glib-config script installed by GLIB could not be found
*** If GLIB was installed in PREFIX, make sure PREFIX/bin is in
*** your path, or set the GLIB_CONFIG environment variable to the
*** full path to glib-config.
configure: error:
*** GLIB >= 1.2.2 not installed - please install first

xmms-1.2.10-1.src.rpm :

warning: user havardk does not exist - using root
warning: group havardk does not exist - using root

xmms-1.2.7-21.1asp.i386 :

error: Failed dependencies:
libmikmod.so.2 is needed by xmms-1.2.7-21.1asp.i386

libmikmod.so.2 is also needed for installation of xmms RPM found in
FC4 extras.

So, what to do?