PDA

View Full Version : First linux install ever

blueflowers
3rd August 2005, 10:00 PM
Hello. This is my first time away from windows :eek: And I am very new at this. I have installed the 64 bit version of fedora on my 64 bit amd system. My first question is, and I know its very "noobish", how do I install something from a CD. When I try to do this, from root or from my regular account, it gives me an error. Thank you

dxturner
3rd August 2005, 10:02 PM
What are you trying to install?

blueflowers
3rd August 2005, 10:03 PM
Return to castle wolfenstein and battlefield 2 for now.

dxturner
3rd August 2005, 10:15 PM
What is the error(s)?

What specifically are you doing when you try to install?

This is Linux software, right?

blueflowers
3rd August 2005, 10:23 PM
"Couldn't display "/media/cdrecorder/Setup.exe"."

That is the error I get. It is both windows and linux. I am opening the cd and then trying to run setup.exe

dxturner
3rd August 2005, 10:44 PM
open a terminal window (Applications -> System Tools -> Terminal)
if the CD is in the drive, at the prompt do:

cd /media/cdrecorder
file Setup.exe
(post the output to the forum)
ls -l
(post the output to the forum)

Setup.exe is generally a windows executable, and you won't be able to run it unless you have some windows emulation ( wine, crossover). You say it is windows & linux ... if so, there should be some sort of README or other instruction on how to install in Linux.

have you looked at: http://zerowing.idsoftware.com/linux/wolf/INSTALL ???

blueflowers
3rd August 2005, 10:54 PM
bash: cd/media/cdrecorder: No such file or directory
[root@localhost ~]# cd /media/cdrecorder
[root@localhost cdrecorder]# file Setup.exe
Setup.exe: MS-DOS executable (EXE), OS/2 or MS Windows
[root@localhost cdrecorder]# ls -l
total 1956
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 146 Apr 9 2002 autorun.inf
dr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 2048 Jun 2 2002 Bonus
dr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 2048 Jun 2 2002 DirectX
dr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 2048 Jun 2 2002 Docs