PDA

View Full Version : using task schedular?

woedend
11th July 2005, 02:41 AM
All I need now is a good working task scheduler to get rid of...windows. The default one doesn't work for me...i add the task, make sure it works by running it,,,but at the specified time nothing happens. I basically need xmms to play 2 different songs at 2 different times as an alarm clock every day...thats all. Anyone who can help?

shams
11th July 2005, 03:12 AM
are you about linux? for linux use cronjobs

crackers
11th July 2005, 03:42 AM
You can't run a GUI program via cron - there's no "X" display to use (even if you're "in" the UI). You can leave XMMS running on the UI session and use a cronjob to run the xmms command-line controls (see the man page). Or try using the xmms-alarm and xmms-goodnight. They're available from Dag's RPM repository.

woedend
11th July 2005, 04:25 AM
i'm very new to linux but learning as I go...i'm not computer illiterate by any means, just...linux illiterate for now. I've picked up basic commands such as using su, yum, and mounting devices in console and fstab...and well thats about it! I don't mind editing services in command mode if that's what it takes. I don't know how to use/get cronjobs or even what that is. I was just using KCron which I assume is barely better than useless since it has never launched anything? xmms alarm I tried but cannot figure out how to shut it down, it doesn't actually show me a window? I need to launch two different instances of xmms or amarok for that matter at two different times and if you guys could point me in the right direction or give me detailed instructions i'd be grateful. Thank you,
Alex

BandC
11th July 2005, 05:25 PM
Since you can't run X programs from task scheduler, would playing your songs with mpg321 (a command line program) work?

crackers
12th July 2005, 04:16 AM