PDA

View Full Version : can we run yum command with no internet conection?



nuaing
4th July 2005, 02:50 AM
Hi... i am still learning and learning......

at home I do not have internet connection. Can I run yum command with no internet conection after I downloading all the extras that I need for my FC4 at home?

I downloaded the extras in my office using dual 128 connection.

kg4cbk
4th July 2005, 03:01 AM
You need to setup a local repository and configure yum to use that repository. Do a google search on settng this up.

The alternative is to use rpm to install the packages you downloaded. The big issue there is that rpm on its own won't resolve dependencies except to notify you if something is required. You then have to install those packages with rpm either prior or at the same time with the package you started to install at first.

w5set
4th July 2005, 04:33 AM
using
info yum gives (with a lot more)

-c [config file]
Specifies the config file location - can take http, ftp urls and
local file paths
so, it looks very possible to me--this is how I use "different" then normal yum repo's without making one active all the time.