PDA

View Full Version : Multi hard-drive problem....Installlation

twn_onizuka
11th June 2005, 10:17 AM
Hi guys, im new to fedora core 3...i used to use corel linux (yes, i know...most of you guys were in your nappies...j/kin) and decided to relive command bashing an os...but mostly want to get use to the interface since i used unix and loved it....

My comp specs are;
Vid card: Nvidia gf2 ti 64mn
CPU: Intel p4 willamete core (0.18um) 1.6 @2.0g
Ram: 512 mb (elixr)
Dvd burner: BenQ 1620 pro
CD-Burner: Asus 1610a
Hard drive: ~ 80gig WD 8mb spec. Buffer (hda)
~ 6 gig Maxtor (Hdb)
Ok, done with the formality...Here's my problem
My windows XP and my loved files are on my 80 gig hard-drive (IDE-0, master) and i managed to scam a 6 gig from a friend (IDE-0, slave)...ive changed my boot up sequence for the Ide-0 slave so i could install a fresh FC3 on it. I installed grub onto the mbr of the hdb or slave h/d...by altering the sequence and added/edited an extra link to hda's windows XP....Everything installs dandy, however when i reboot i can interupt the count down (set windows xp as default link) and enter fc3; however if let it count down it won't enter windows xp. It says
Booting windows xp
chain-logger +1 or something
and something to with verifynoharddisk...can't remeber the details....~ so the million dollar question (its pun) how can i get it to log into xp and fc 3 through grub without disturbing my hda/windows xp/wd hard-drive (have a lot of my research on it)????

Other questsions...
When i enter fc3 and go through the explorer i cant see my WD/hda/windows xp hard-disk (VFAT 32) i remember i installed a program the package in the custom folder to see it....
Also, when i plug in my usb ram drive i cant see it, i know i have to type "mount XYZ" in the shell...but what...can you guys help my with my questions?

tanis
11th June 2005, 10:21 AM
i have a similar problem
thoght i just let fedora figure out the OS and it calls it other.