PDA

View Full Version : Floppy disk mounting question



kfaday
15th May 2005, 02:46 PM
How do i mount the floppy disk in the console, without being root?
The mount command only works as root. Is there any way?
I'm using fedora core 3.

Thanks!

tejas
15th May 2005, 03:12 PM
do this

grep floppy /etc/fstab.

If the following line shows up:
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0

then any one can mount the floppy, If not, then add the above line to your fstab [under the CDROM would be fine]

kfaday
15th May 2005, 03:47 PM
what i'm doing, is an installer for a small soft (an university project), and i wanted to know if there was a way for a non root user, to mount the floppy disk, so that the program can be installed.
I can't change any system settings

thanks!

Dav
15th May 2005, 04:05 PM
when the floppy is in the drive will it let you mount the drive in disk management?

I had a similar problem with a hard disk partition which the people here helped me fix yesterday, it was done by editing the fstab so my suggestion is to ask the admin of the system to add it for you if disk management wont work.

tejas
15th May 2005, 04:07 PM
The user can mount the floppy.

The installer may or maynot work.

If it is an rpm then definately not, you need to be root.

If it is something that you can install wherever you want, then you can install it inside your home directory.