PDA

View Full Version : Kernel 2.6.11 has ceased my sound



Damian Brennan
14th April 2005, 12:42 PM
I have just updated to Kernel 2.6.11 via a yum update.

My system sound which took me weeks to fix has now been stolen from me again. Can anyone help mein turning on my sound again, I can't remember how I did it last time........

AndyGreen
14th April 2005, 12:43 PM
cat /proc/asound/cards to see if you have sound, just muted.

Damian Brennan
14th April 2005, 12:55 PM
0 [SI7012 ]: ICH - SiS SI7012
SiS SI7012 with AD1888 at 0x9400, irq 193
1 [CA0106 ]: CA0106 - CA0106
Live! 7.1 24bit [SB0410] at 0x8400 irq 193

This is the results......................

No volume settings are muted

AndyGreen
14th April 2005, 12:59 PM
Well then, sounds good to me, two cards are recognized and configured by ALSA.

See if you have alsamixer installed (just try to run it)

If not,

yum install alsa-utils

Then run first

alsamixer

which will allow you to set the volume for the board sound, and then

alsamixer -c1

which will set the volume for the Live card. Unmute things and turn things up is the name of the game.

--edit

BTW Escape key gets you out.

Then,

alsactl store
alsactl store 1

will save your settings so they come up next boot.

Damian Brennan
14th April 2005, 01:28 PM
Thanks for the concern, but I have already checked all these.

I doubt I will have to install as per the alsa page for my soundcard. I have already done this......
What would I need to change in order for the new kernel to recognise my current card
It is a Sound Blaster Live! 24-Bit card

AndyGreen
14th April 2005, 01:30 PM
Er... hello... Damian...

1 [CA0106 ]: CA0106 - CA0106
Live! 7.1 24bit [SB0410] at 0x8400 irq 193

means your Live is recognized by Alsa and should be ready to roll. Can you explain to me why you continue to insist that it isn't recognized?

jim
14th April 2005, 01:32 PM
what version of alsa do you have?

rpm -qa | grep alsa

version 1.0.6 doesn't support your card
so you must have the 1.0,8 and had a ker module built ito it
post the results of the above command

I worked with a friend a bit back who had the same card

he grabbed the 2 rpms from ATrpms
http://www.atrpms.net/dist/fc3/alsa-driver/
alsa 1.0.8
&
alsa-kmdl

makuz
14th April 2005, 02:11 PM
usually this happens because of the mixer settings. run alsamixer and check if headphone jack sense and line jack sense are muted. i had the same symptoms as you do when updating to kernel 2.6.10 and 2.6.11, first i had to mute the external amplifier, then the jack senses with 2.6.11. for more information check out: http://www.ces.clemson.edu/linux/alsa.shtml

exe
14th April 2005, 02:15 PM
I did fix that with adding alsactl restore to rc.local script.
hth.

rega451
14th April 2005, 06:49 PM
I have just updated to Kernel 2.6.11 via a yum update.

My system sound which took me weeks to fix has now been stolen from me again. Can anyone help mein turning on my sound again, I can't remember how I did it last time........
Which kernel version did you update from?

Damian Brennan
14th April 2005, 11:43 PM
To answer all of the above enquiries

rpm -qa | grep alsa
alsa-lib-1.0.6-7.FC3
alsa-lib-devel-1.0.6-7.FC3
alsa-utils-1.0.6-3

I have upated from Kernel 2.6.10 to 2.6.11 using the update feature in yum.

And I have no idea what adding alsactl restore to rc.local.script is

I have only been in the Linux world for about a month now.

I am updating alsa as per Fedorajim's post, so wish me luck... lol

Damian Brennan
14th April 2005, 11:47 PM
A quick question before I go re-installing too much.....

I have installed alsa 1.0.9 while I was running the 2.6.10 kernel.
Will I have to completely re-install this again for the 2.6.11 kernel or is there a shorter way to change the kernel to run 1.0.9 instead of 1.0.6????

vishnumrao
15th April 2005, 03:28 AM
Damian Brenan,

I think you should install the asla rpms available from atrpms. i.e the 1.0.8. I am the friend that jim mentions he worked with. It worked for me. I was not even able to get my sound card detected. Installing the 1.0.8 worked like magic. and Since then I have had no problems. (Thanks to jim.)

I definitely think jim's advice should work in your case too.

Grinnz
15th April 2005, 03:40 AM
Try muting things in alsamixer/volume control while playing a song or sound, this is how i found out that on this computer and another one I built that "IEC958 Capture Monitor" must be muted for sound to play. This is on AC'97 onboard audio, though, so it's probably different. Good luck.

rega451
15th April 2005, 05:05 AM
A quick question before I go re-installing too much.....

I have installed alsa 1.0.9 while I was running the 2.6.10 kernel.
Will I have to completely re-install this again for the 2.6.11 kernel or is there a shorter way to change the kernel to run 1.0.9 instead of 1.0.6????
You don't have to do anything to the FC3 kernel to install (or remove) alsa. You can download the latest stable 1.0.8 version of alsa directly from www.alsa-project.org . First, do a yum remove [all-of-the-alsa-version-1.0.9-modules-you-have-installed]. Next install the alsa version 1.0.8 modules you find on the alsa project website. Read the documentation in the Tools module, you may or may not need anything from it. You should also install the Lib plugins as well. Reboot, and Good Luck! :D

exe
15th April 2005, 06:55 AM
There is a file /etc/rc.local
It is executed when machine starts. You should open it with editor as root user, and add
following string:

alsactl restore

This workarounds the problem with alsa, when sound is muted after reboot.

AndyGreen
15th April 2005, 07:44 AM
This guy is saying he has never heard a peep from his Live! card if I understand him correctly. Your tip is good but it's not his problem.

Sounds like he should follow FedoraJim's advice and install a later Alsa.

rega451
15th April 2005, 07:12 PM
Damian...Can you list the results of dmesg | grep IRQ? You may have a conflict or just too many devices assigned to a particular irq. Also please consider using the stable alsa version 1.0.8 as suggested, at least until you resolve your problem. Version 1.0.9 is a development release and it may have a bug or two that could make it more difficult to work through your problem.

klined
16th April 2005, 08:36 PM
I had exactly the same problem after upgrading to the new 2.6.11.-1.14 kernel.

I still don't understand quite why this occurred but the following solved it:

I was using the atrpms alsa-1.0.8 packages. I removed all of them using rpm -e --nodeps

Then I installed the alsa-1.0.6-8 packages from fedora updates (->still no sound) , then rebooted.

After reboot (->still no sound) I upgraded back again to the alsa-1.0.8 packages from atrpms (->still no sound).

And again a reboot, then magically sound worked again!

If anyone understands why this worked, let me know. It has me stumped. But anyhoo, my sound is back.

Maybe this will be of help to anyone.

mdeggers
16th April 2005, 11:32 PM
I reported a bug to Red Hat concerning the latest kernel upgrade and /etc/modprobe.conf. This stomped my sound as well.

Basically, I have three sound cards on my system. I have an onboard Intel card (disabled via BIOS on the Dell 8200), a Turtle Beach Santa Cruz card, and a Logitech QuickCam Messenger (which won't work until the driver patch for the latest kernel is done).

Anyway, the kernel upgrade changed my /etc/modprobe.conf file, even though I have it read-only and under RCS control.

In particular, it changed two things:

It deleted the following line (apparently no longer needed in 2.6.x kernels)

alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0

And here's the kicker. It change the following line from:

alias snd-card-0 snd-cs46xx

to:

alias snd-card-0 snd-card-0

This killed my sound, since now /etc/modprobe.conf has the Intel card as my primary sound card, but it's disabled in BIOS and I have no speakers plugged into it.

Reverting my alias back to the original fixed my sound.

I've reported the issue to Red Hat, and they feel it's a potential bug with kudzu.

In the meantime, I suggest that any conf files you tweak, you keep under RCS control (man rcs and rcsintro for details).

HTH

Atlantis
12th May 2005, 07:28 PM
Hi there,

as not few of you, I have installed the FC3 (the sound was working), then I have completely updated it with "yum update"
Then the sound was found off.
I have read a lot of messages in this forum, but I didn't find a way to sort out this trouble.
Reading the comment of "mdeggers", I gave the command "vi /etc/modprobe.conf" that give me back the following values:
Can anyone say to me if they are right?

Thanks,
Atlantis
__________________________
alias eth0 e100
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
options snd-card-0 index=0
install snd-intel8x0 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-intel8x0 && /usr/sbin/alsactl restore >/dev/null 2>&1 || :
remove snd-intel8x0 { /usr/sbin/alsactl store >/dev/null 2>&1 || : ; }; /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove snd-intel8x0
alias usb-controller ehci-hcd
alias usb-controller1 uhci-hcd
_________________________________

Atlantis
14th May 2005, 04:21 PM
Well... is there no one reading posts over there?

mg_sv_r
24th May 2005, 05:43 PM
I have exactly the same problem on my HP Compaq NX7010 Laptop.

Only been using Linux for about a week so is really frustrating as the whole OS is pretty alien to me.

lspci on my laptop gives this....

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 82855PM Processor to I/O Controller (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82855PM Processor to AGP Controller (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 81)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corp. 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corp. 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corp. 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corp. 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 01)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R250 Lf [Radeon Mobility 9000 M9] (rev 01)
02:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev 80)
02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 20)
02:02.0 Network controller: Intel Corp. PRO/Wireless 2200BG (rev 05)
02:04.0 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB1410 Cardbus Controller (rev 01)

and as far as sound goes lsmod gives this....

snd_intel8x0m 18565 2
snd_intel8x0 34049 2
snd_ac97_codec 71097 2 snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0
snd_pcm_oss 51953 0
snd_mixer_oss 18241 3 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 99657 4 snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_ oss
snd_timer 33093 1 snd_pcm
snd 56741 11 snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_ oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore 10785 3 snd
snd_page_alloc 9669 3 snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm

All of that means very little to me despite hours of reading books etc.

Have tried uninstalling alsa and using a different version but Yum wants to remove a lot of other stuff that I really don't want removing. Also tried removing Alsa with Synaptic but that wants to uninstall half my system too.

Any ideas folks? I am getting very tempted by the dark side and the HP Windoze XP disk is not all that far away :-)

Atlantis
24th May 2005, 08:40 PM
Hi guys,

reading here and there through the forum, I met across the right tip that helped me to finally solve the problem of the sound with the last FC3 kernel.
Btw, I have FC3 installed on a laptop Toshiba Satellite A30 with 512 MB ram that is greatly working.
I have just followed the very simple instructions described at the following address, and now, finally, my sound went back again together with the last FC3 kernel (2.6.11-1.27_FC3)

Simply go there and with just a fingertouch you will solve this specific problem:
http://www.ces.clemson.edu/linux/alsa.shtml[/url]

Just let me know if this is working for U2.
Bye,
Atlantis