PDA

View Full Version : RPM build of licq



MaegRil
17th March 2005, 10:40 PM
Has anyone tried building a licq RPM from source?

Or if not, maybe someone can tell me why it's not working for me.

I've put the source (licq-1.3.0.tar.gz) in the SOURCES dir. & I've got a spec file.

anyways this what happens



# rpmbuild -ba /usr/src/redhat/SPECS/licq.spec
Executing(%prep): /bin/sh -e /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.37057
+ umask 022
+ cd /usr/src/redhat/BUILD
+ LANG=C
+ export LANG
+ unset DISPLAY
+ rm -rf /var/tmp/licq-1.3.0-buildroot
+ cd /usr/src/redhat/BUILD
+ rm -rf licq-1.3.0
+ /bin/mkdir -p licq-1.3.0
+ cd licq-1.3.0
+ /usr/bin/gzip -dc /usr/src/redhat/SOURCES/licq-1.3.0.tar.gz
+ tar -xf -
+ STATUS=0
+ '[' 0 -ne 0 ']'
++ /usr/bin/id -u
+ '[' 0 = 0 ']'
+ /bin/chown -Rhf root .
++ /usr/bin/id -u
+ '[' 0 = 0 ']'
+ /bin/chgrp -Rhf root .
+ /bin/chmod -Rf a+rX,u+w,g-w,o-w .
+ exit 0
Executing(%install): /bin/sh -e /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.45316
+ umask 022
+ cd /usr/src/redhat/BUILD
+ cd licq-1.3.0
+ LANG=C
+ export LANG
+ unset DISPLAY
+ /usr/bin/install -d -m 755 /var/tmp/licq-1.3.0-buildroot/usr/lib
+ cp -a licq /var/tmp/licq-1.3.0-buildroot/usr/lib
cp: cannot stat `licq': No such file or directory
error: Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.45316 (%install)


RPM build errors:
Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.45316 (%install)




Any clues for someone a little clueless? :)

Jman
18th March 2005, 07:27 AM
What the error means is that /usr/src/redhat/BUILD/licq-1.3.0 is missing. How to fix it I'm not sure. You can try grabbing the source rpm from FC2 and do a
rpmbuild --rebuild licq* on it. Not sure why I can't find anthing for it for FC2.

foolish
18th March 2005, 08:13 AM
May I ask why you would like to use the outdated licq instead of the integrated, modern, GAIM?

GAIM does support icq, it included in Fedora Core and it has a better user interface. See your menu and look for "IM". If it's not installed:


yum install gaim

pigpen
18th March 2005, 02:47 PM
1) Licq has recently been updated
2) You don't have to love gaim -or- kopete (like me :D)

I always install Licq from source into my home dir, but if someone wrote a
quick-and-dirty rpm howto, I (and probably MaegRil) would prefer to install
my home-made rpms.

MaegRil
18th March 2005, 03:56 PM
May I ask why you would like to use the outdated licq instead of the integrated, modern, GAIM?

GAIM does support icq, it included in Fedora Core and it has a better user interface. See your menu and look for "IM". If it's not installed:


Yes, I know about GAIM (& kopete).
GAIM is OK, and don't really like kopete.
I prefer licq. And I still want to build an RPM.


What the error means is that /usr/src/redhat/BUILD/licq-1.3.0 is missing. How to fix it I'm not sure. You can try grabbing the source rpm from FC2 and do a on it


I have already tried downloading & using the FC2 source RPM but the package is broken.
No matter which server I grab it from I get an MD5 error.