PDA

View Full Version : MPlayer - Very distorted audio with XViD files - recorded on Archos AV420

linuxnewbiestu
16th March 2005, 01:28 AM
Hi everyone,

First of all, I'm pretty new to Linux, and it's been a challenging week or so to get sound, graphics, and various other bits up and running, all I can say is thank smeg (red dwarf ref there) for yum!

My current problem is this - I have used yum to get mplayer, including all the skins etc.

I can play mpegs fine it would seem, but when it comes to trying to play the XViDs (AVI Files) that my Archos produces I get audio distorition if I try to search through the video, listening to it it appears to be the audio from the start of the file overlayed on top of the current section's audio.

This is driving me potty as I'm trying to escape Win XP for my video viewing - editing comes next :-) I've installed the all codecs pack from mplayerhq.hu into both /usr/llocal/lib/codecs and /usr/liblocal/win32 (as suggested in another post) But with no joy - maybe I'm doing something wrong in the video and audio codecs preferences in MPlayer. My sound system is ALSA 1.0.8

I would be appreciative of any help people can give

thanks - Stu

PS. More info on my system :
P4 3.6, 1gb RAM, ATi Radeon X600 256mb graphics, 2 x 250gb SATA HDDs (Linux gets 82gb of that to itself and 32 as a FAT32 partition to share files with my Win XP install)

linuxnewbiestu
16th March 2005, 01:29 AM
Oops, forgot to say I'm running Fedora Core 3, 2.6.10.770 kernal with Gnome

Sorry about that!

Woad_Warrior
17th March 2005, 03:26 AM
try running mplayer from a terminal. it should tell you what is happening. (if the problem isn't clear, post any error messages it outputs.)

linuxnewbiestu
17th March 2005, 02:55 PM