PDA

View Full Version : Cant boot to anything, need help fast



matrixtna
12th March 2005, 09:43 PM
hey

I am currently on my laptop because i am having a HUGE problem with FC3 and my machine

OKAy

i installed fedora core 3 and you know at the end of the installtion u have to reboot, so i rebooted and i forgot to change it in my Bios so my PC boots to the hdd with LInux on it. So it booted to my windows hdd and it said Error loading Operating System on the Screen with a blinking curser after it. So i shut down and booted into the Linux hdd cause I have 3 physical Hard drives, one for windows and one for fc3. so then the installation where u configure the time and stuff finished and I had to reboot. This time it booted to the right hdd but it still said Error Loading Operating System. so i shut down and tried to boot to my windows hdd to get help and it says GRUB with a blinking cursor. then i tried to boot back onto the linux hdd and it worked. i got to fc3. then i did all the updates and when they were done I rebooted. Now when i try to boot into fc3 it says Error Loading Operating System and when I try to boot to Windows it says GRUB. i set it up so it would boot from the linux hdd and i could pick to either use Fc3 or windows, and that has only happened once where i could chose which os to use.

I am really frazzled because i can easily format my linux hdd and reinstall fc3 no problem, but if i do, will I still have a problem booting into Windows. That is my major concern sisnce it has all my files which are not backed up anywhere. i know the reason why it says GRUB is because of the bootloader, but if i reinstall fc3 will i ever be able to boot into my windows drive? pretty much i would like to be able to Fix fedora so it boots right without screwing up my windows drive. is there some way i can remove the GRUB from the windows drive so i at least boot into windows?

i really need help, and since i am a noob i would appreciate it if u fully explained any tips u give me or anything like that

jim
12th March 2005, 09:48 PM
change your Hard drive boot priorty to the windows hard drive then change the boot prioirty to cd-rom
place your windows cd-rom in and go into a rescue mode you'll need to do a fixmbr on the WINDOWS drive.
You should then be able to boot into windows. after that, there are plenty of articles on this forum on how to reinstall grub

matrixtna
12th March 2005, 09:51 PM
ur the man fedora jim,

so pretty much i run my xp cd and chose to do repair.. and then i use the fixmbr command and i should be able to boot? will this delete any of my files on the windows hdd and can u elaborate on the process a little more, sorry for asking so much but im a little shaky right now

jim
12th March 2005, 09:59 PM
No, this won't delete any files on your windows drive. it will only rewrite the mbr of that drive

read bob's post about the same subject
http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showpost.php?p=219633&postcount=3

matrixtna
12th March 2005, 10:04 PM
ok, i did what u said and it worked perfectly. i am in windows right now.

so i guess i need to start figuring out wht to do with FC3, i think i found a solution so im gunna go try it out.

jim
12th March 2005, 10:05 PM
Have fun !!!

matrixtna
12th March 2005, 10:10 PM
i guess my question is, if i have removed GRUB from my mbr, will i have to reinstall Grub on my windows hard drive? or can i just work out the Error Loading Operating system in Linux thus letting me use the GRUB boot loader to chose wheather i want windows or linux

jim
12th March 2005, 10:44 PM
You'll need to install grub onto the windows MBR so you can choose which option you want

matrixtna
13th March 2005, 12:05 AM
okay, i just reinstallled FC3 cause i felt like it, and i chose to install Grub to my Linux Hard Drive instead of the windows one. So now when I boot up I automattically go into FC3, this is no good. I need to know how to install GRUB on my Windows MBR so i can chose which OS to boot

Thanks

matrixtna
13th March 2005, 02:28 PM
okay, i have found out that my windows hard drive is called hdc and my linux is sca (i think) so this is my new question, when i go to install GRUB to the mbr do i install it to hdc or hdc1?

jim
13th March 2005, 03:12 PM
in the terminal what is the output of

fdisk -l

matrixtna
13th March 2005, 03:15 PM
alright i will tell u once i boot back to FC3, so i just open the terminal and type wht u said.

this should tell me the names of my different hard drives, but will it also indicate to me which part or my windows drive to install GRUB to, (hdc or hdc1)?

matrixtna
13th March 2005, 03:32 PM
uhh, this is probably bad but it says command not found and I copied wht u pasted .

but wht i did do is change XP to the defualt booting OS and it says like ChainLoader +1 and one other thing but it also says (hd1,0) so i think hd1,0 is wht i need to use when i follow gonzalo s guide to installing GRUB to mbr

jim
13th March 2005, 03:38 PM
[jim@JimsNotebook ~]$ su -
Password:
[root@JimsNotebook ~]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 40.0 GB, 40007761920 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4864 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 1912 15358108+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda2 1913 4863 23703907+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5 1913 2696 6297448+ b W95 FAT32
/dev/hda6 2697 2710 112423+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda7 2711 2902 1542208+ 82 Linux swap
/dev/hda8 2903 4432 12289693+ 83 Linux
[root@JimsNotebook ~]#

Noticed that i became root to do this You'll need to be root to do just about anything in linux so, get used to switching to root to do commands

matrixtna
13th March 2005, 03:50 PM
ok thanks, here is mine,

[michele@localhost ~]$ su -
Password:
[root@localhost ~]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hdc: 203.9 GB, 203928109056 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24792 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdc1 * 1 24791 199133676 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 14 9729 78043770 8e Linux LVM

Disk /dev/sdb: 122.9 GB, 122941341696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14946 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 2550 20482843+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/sdb2 2551 5100 20482875 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sdb3 5101 14946 79087995 7 HPFS/NTFS
[root@localhost ~]#

The 80 gb hdd is the one with Linux and the 203 gb is the one with Windows, and that is called hdc1 so in GRUB would it be called, (hd1,0)

matrixtna
13th March 2005, 04:14 PM
am i right?

jim
13th March 2005, 04:28 PM
which is the primary drive which is te slave drive?

matrixtna
13th March 2005, 04:43 PM
well both are set to master for this reason,

The Linux HDD is Serial ATA and the windows drive is PATA (IDE) so they are both set to master and in the BIOS the Linux hdd is set to boot first because during the fc3 instalation that is where i installed GRUB. so thats why i need to install grub to my windows hdd so when i pick to boot into windows it will actually boot.

jim
13th March 2005, 05:12 PM
http://fedoranews.org/contributors/bob_kashani/grub/

This should help you