PDA

View Full Version : Setting Thunderbird as default e-mail client in Firefox

4ebees
10th March 2005, 12:30 PM
Hi all,

First of all I'd like to say thanks to everyone that has helped me previously. I'm new to FC3 and have found the support here to be very impressive.

My current problem is that I cannot work out how to make Thunderbird the default e-mail client when clicking on an e-mail link in Firefox. :confused:

I'm using Ffox 1.0.1 and Thunderbird 0.9

I've managed to do this in my 'other' OS, but cannot work it out for my Linux box. I've had a look on the Mozilla forum and Firefox and Thunderbird support - most of it is about Winders.

I'm using a fastmail account - this is all fine and works okay. I uninstalled Evolution and changed the KDE setting to Thunderbird as default. So when I click on an e-mail link in Konquie, it opens T'bird... but Firefox doesn't do anything.

Any help, advice, redirection/referral most appreciated.

dickinsd
10th March 2005, 12:53 PM
With FC, I think this is more down to the Fedora preferences than Firefox's preferences.

If you go to you Applications menu, down to Preferences and More Preferences, and then choose Preferred Applications, the window that opens has a tab for Web Browser, Mail Reader, Text Editor and Terminal.

Goto Mail reader, click the option to select a mail reader, and choose Thunderbird.

click OK, and then try using a mail link in firefox, this should now open thunderbird for you.

Hope that helps

Dave

greatscot
10th March 2005, 01:16 PM
I believe dickinsd is correct. That is how I solved this problem on my box.

Paul_Vandenberg
10th March 2005, 01:30 PM
In order for the above to work, you need to have Gnome installed or at least gnome-control-center, even if you use KDE.

dickinsd
10th March 2005, 01:36 PM
Oh good point, I don't actually use KDE, I only use Gnome, so wouldn't know how to set default applications using KDE or whatever your choice of desktop manager is.

Good catch Paul_Vandenberg

Dave