PDA

View Full Version : I need JAVA



carlwill
6th March 2005, 07:29 PM
Man oh man is Java apain in the butt! I have been trying this for as long as I have had FC3. Can someone point me to the easiest Java install how to? I have tried many suggestions but none work...<I am not ruling at user error>

ilja
6th March 2005, 07:33 PM
http://www.fedorafaq.org/#java
this should be the easiest one

tiberiu
6th March 2005, 07:36 PM
Hi!

I think the easiest way to install java (jre) may be found here:
http://www.java.com/en/download/help/5000010500.xml

Brian1
6th March 2005, 07:50 PM
Read over this post I beleive it should help you out.
http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showpost.php?p=147709&postcount=12

Brian1
" Google the Linux way @ http://www.google.com/linux "

james_in_denver
6th March 2005, 07:52 PM
What Tiberiu said.

Download the JDK from java.sun.com

and just set "export JAVA_HOME=/where/you/installed/java" in the "/etc/profile" and add "export PATH=$JAVA_HOME/bin:$PATH" in the "/etc/profile" file.

THen log out, log back in, and voila, instant Java.

(wish my coffee was that quick.)

imdeemvp
6th March 2005, 07:58 PM
All I did was download java, install java and create the plugin for java, it is very simple to do. (http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=29928)

xathrasmurphy
6th March 2005, 08:23 PM
All I did was download java, install java and create the plugin for java, it is very simple to do. (http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=29928)

It is very simple except none of them seem to work for me and some other people. And after you've downloaded, installed, uninstalled, symlink, not symlinked, re-installed, upgraded etc. about four or five time following yet another set of instructions and Firefox still shuts down as soon as it gets a whiff of Java, you begin to get a peeved. And that includes the link you provided. It works for you, I'm pleased for you.

Xathras Murphy

imdeemvp
6th March 2005, 08:38 PM
I see your frustation....but why dont you try to do a reinstallation and DO all the updated for fedora 3 or whatever version you are using....THEN install the flash plugins, java and other stuff needed.

I always do the updates first and then install the rest.... and the only time I had a hard time installing JAVA was when fedora 3 was first released.

xathrasmurphy
6th March 2005, 08:55 PM
I see your frustation...

I'm ok now. A few beers and who needs Java? :)

carlwill
6th March 2005, 11:55 PM
I just used "YUM" to install Java and here is what I did: Is there a way I can test Java and make sure it was installed and Firefox is using Java?


[carlos@server ~]$ su -
Password:
[root@server ~]# yum --enablerepo=dag install j2re mozilla-j2re
Repository updates-released already added, not adding again
Repository base already added, not adding again
Setting up Install Process
Setting up Repo: core
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Setting up Repo: dag
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
Setting up Repo: updates-released
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Setting up Repo: livna-stable
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Setting up Repo: base
http://klid.dk/homeftp/fedora/linux/core/3/i386/os/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 4] IOError: HTTP Error 403: Forbidden
Trying other mirror.
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
Setting up Repo: updates
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Setting up Repo: atrpms-stable
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Setting up Repo: livna-unstable
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Setting up Repo: freshrpms
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
core : ################################################## 2622/2622
dag : ################################################## 1728/1728
updates-re: ################################################## 709/709
primary.xml.gz 100% |=========================| 47 kB 00:00
MD Read : ################################################## 168/168
livna-stab: ################################################## 168/168
base : ################################################## 2622/2622
updates : ################################################## 726/726
atrpms-sta: ################################################## 1479/1479
primary.xml.gz 100% |=========================| 14 kB 00:00
MD Read : ################################################## 48/48
livna-unst: ################################################## 48/48
freshrpms : ################################################## 467/467
Resolving Dependencies
--> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
---> Downloading header for mozilla-j2re to pack into transaction set.
mozilla-j2re-1.4.2-11.1.f 100% |=========================| 4.9 kB 00:00
---> Package mozilla-j2re.i586 0:1.4.2-11.1.fc3.rf set to be installed
---> Downloading header for j2re to pack into transaction set.
j2re-1.4.2-11.1.fc3.rf.i5 100% |=========================| 75 kB 00:00
---> Package j2re.i586 0:1.4.2-11.1.fc3.rf set to be installed
--> Running transaction check

Dependencies Resolved
Transaction Listing:
Install: j2re.i586 0:1.4.2-11.1.fc3.rf
Install: mozilla-j2re.i586 0:1.4.2-11.1.fc3.rf
Is this ok [y/N]: y
Downloading Packages:
mozilla-j2re-1.4.2-11.1.f 100% |=========================| 199 kB 00:01
j2re-1.4.2-11.1.fc3.rf.i5 100% |=========================| 20 MB 00:43
Running Transaction Test
Finished Transaction Test
Transaction Test Succeeded
Running Transaction
Installing: j2re 100 % done 1/2
Installing: mozilla-j2re 100 % done 2/2

Installed: j2re.i586 0:1.4.2-11.1.fc3.rf mozilla-j2re.i586 0:1.4.2-11.1.fc3.rf
Complete!

Woad_Warrior
7th March 2005, 12:56 AM
apt will also install the java packages for you. it's available on dag's repository.

carlwill
7th March 2005, 02:52 AM
I am not using APT, I have YUM and is there a way I can test and see if Java is installed and working? I see a Java Icon under preferences but the main reason I wanted Java (for Limewire) is not working and I don't know if its Java or the application (Limewire) itself.

I downloaded a Java .RPM and when I tried to install it, I get an error saying that Java is already installed but I don't know if Java is working or what.

imdeemvp
7th March 2005, 03:20 AM
Can you see JAVA? (http://www.bodo.com/javame.htm)