PDA

View Full Version : Fedora Core 2 and Apache and php



marks_linux
14th June 2004, 07:49 AM
Can anyone give me a step by step on how to get php and apache working together. Testing php from command line works fine, but any php in web pages does not execute.

I think the module? required for apache is missing or not installed (I'm running with default versions of appache php and mysql from the FC2 AMD 64 distro).I say this cos I've looked in /etc/httpd/modules
and there is no mention of php.

Ta In advance
Mark

ilja
14th June 2004, 08:15 AM
I hope that helps : http://www.php.net/manual/en/install.apache2.php

marks_linux
14th June 2004, 10:25 AM
Thanks for that.

Now up and running :)

ewdi
14th June 2004, 10:26 AM
i personally prefer an installer tools scripts, it's easier for you to compile more modules and etc.

try http://apachetoolbox.com/

tcherbin
21st August 2004, 07:35 AM
I compiled apache and php and changed the config file..

When I do
http://localhost/test.php?function=test

The webpage
prints
function='';

the test.php has
<?php
echo "function = '$function'<BR>"
?>

Please help, I've been trying about 4 times to get this to install correctly. ;)

philipgm
21st August 2004, 11:59 AM
In php from version 4.3 (?I think) global variables are turned off by default to enhance security. You can turn them back on or explicitly GET the variable with $_GET

so

$value=$_GET['function'];

before your echo should fix it