PDA

View Full Version : Bootloader (Grub)

MacZilla
24th January 2005, 03:19 PM
Hello,

I'm no complete noob but I'm still green behind the ears so, don't shoot me if this question sounds easy.
I've installed fedora Core 3 on my laptop (Acer Travelmate 2502) and all was well. The 'other' was the default startup system. But last weekend I did a 'huge' update of all the programs (he told me he had 132 new things), including the kernel. So he updated the bootloader list to add the new kernel version (the 2.10 if I'm correct). But now he chooses this system as the default, and I didn't want this.
I've looked everywere in the root system apps, nothing to find about the loader. Now I've discovered that the only way to edit the bootloader is to press 'c' when he's in charge. I've found the command 'root', even applied it (succesfully) but he still prefers fedora.

Does anyone have a suggestion??

Thx
MacZilla

adolf
24th January 2005, 03:39 PM
Grub configuration file is in
/boot/grub/grub.conf

There near top of file you can see the option:
default=X

where X is some number. This number is number of kernel image to load as default counting from 0 in order they appear in this very file (grub.conf). Changing it will set up other image as default.

If during update entry for older image was removed you will need to see what kernel files you have in /boot folder and edit grub.conf as needed (for exaple by coping image section that is there and changing image name to the old one you want to use).

Hope that helps.

bob
24th January 2005, 04:15 PM
Mac, Adolf is exactly right. A couple of pointers though. You can edit your grub.conf by typing (as su):
gedit /boot/grub/grub.conf