PDA

View Full Version : Azureus and emule

raghavendra
22nd January 2005, 07:17 AM
Hi
I am a beginner in Linux and have installed Fedore Core 3. I download azureus client for GTK and ran it using ./azureus but it is showing me errors related to JRE and azureus gets terminated. So i tried installing JRE but it showed the version is already present.
So please help me to run Azureus in Linux.
Also i was using emule in windows........now in linux i download amule and tried installing it but it is not installing since it is showing openssl packages missing......I tried installing openssl packages but it showed a newer version was already present.....Wat do I do now?

it would be of great help if you would help me out............ :)

garnertr
22nd January 2005, 08:30 AM
Greetings,

MAKE SURE you read the FAQ for AZUREUS, b/c this concept is WAY DIFFERENT than what you are used to under e-mule. Meaning that if you want to share you'll need to UPLOAD TORRENTS to a site (and/or host your own).

Also, once you get Azureus up/running, remember that the only way to "share" your files is to upload the torrent.

The gist of the installation goes:

(copied from the homepage):

1) Install JRE from here.

2) Extract latest linux package (choice of GTK or Motif) from here

To extract the program files from the package, type
tar xvjf Azureus_x.x.x.x_linux...tar.bz2 where Azureus_x.x.x.x_linux...tar.bz2 is the name of the downloaded package.

3) Change to the azureus directory and run ./azureus to start

cd azureus
./azureus

----

Make sure that you scan google for tips and tricks, but remember that "bittorrent" is "different" then what you are used to w/ e-mule... :0 But once its up/running, its great! :)

Kocch
22nd January 2005, 10:39 AM
Azureus:
open ./azureus with any text editor, change the path "JAVA_PROGRAM_DIR" to where your JRE installed.
For my case, with latest JRE 1.5, the line should be changed like this:

JAVA_PROGRAM_DIR="/usr/java/jre1.5.0_01/bin/"