PDA

View Full Version : Need help on removing KDE pls



plsclickme
21st January 2005, 02:38 PM
Could someone tell me how to remove kde since I am not using it, I love gnome (do not get me wrong kde is good too, but just gnome suits me better).

this is what i have done to my machine: -


[root@localhost plsclickme]# yum remove kdebase*
Setting up Remove Process
Resolving Dependencies
--> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
---> Package kdebase.i386 6:3.3.1-4.3.FC3 set to be erased
--> Running transaction check
Setting up Repo: base
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
Setting up Repo: updates-released
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:01
Reading repository metadata in from local files
base : ################################################## 2622/2622
primary.xml.gz 100% |=========================| 228 kB 00:03
updates-re: ################################################## 564/564
--> Processing Dependency: libkonq.so.4 for package: kdeaddons
--> Processing Dependency: kdebase >= 6:3.3.1 for package: kdeartwork
--> Processing Dependency: kdebase >= 6:3.3.1 for package: kdegraphics
--> Processing Dependency: libkdecorations.so.1 for package: kdeartwork
--> Processing Dependency: kdebase >= 6:3.3.1 for package: kdemultimedia
--> Processing Dependency: libkateinterfaces.so.0 for package: kdeaddons
--> Processing Dependency: libkateutils.so.0 for package: kdeaddons
--> Processing Dependency: kdebase >= 6:3.3.1 for package: kdeaddons
--> Processing Dependency: kdebase >= 6:3.3.1 for package: kdeutils
--> Processing Dependency: kdebase >= 6:3.3.1 for package: kdenetwork
--> Processing Dependency: libkonqsidebarplugin.so.1 for package: kdeaddons
--> Processing Dependency: kdebase >= 6:3.3.1 for package: kdepim
--> Restarting Dependency Resolution with new changes.
--> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
---> Package kdeaddons.i386 0:3.3.1-1 set to be erased
---> Package kdeartwork.i386 0:3.3.1-1 set to be erased
---> Package kdegraphics.i386 7:3.3.1-2.1 set to be erased
---> Package kdebase.i386 6:3.3.0-8 set to be updated
---> Package kdemultimedia.i386 6:3.3.1-1 set to be erased
---> Package kdeutils.i386 6:3.3.1-1 set to be erased
---> Package kdenetwork.i386 7:3.3.1-1 set to be erased
---> Package kdepim.i386 6:3.3.1-1 set to be erased
--> Running transaction check

Dependencies Resolved
Transaction Listing:
Remove: kdebase.i386 6:3.3.1-4.3.FC3

Performing the following to resolve dependencies:
Remove: kdeaddons.i386 0:3.3.1-1
Remove: kdeartwork.i386 0:3.3.1-1
Remove: kdegraphics.i386 7:3.3.1-2.1
Remove: kdemultimedia.i386 6:3.3.1-1
Remove: kdenetwork.i386 7:3.3.1-1
Remove: kdepim.i386 6:3.3.1-1
Remove: kdeutils.i386 6:3.3.1-1
Update: kdebase.i386 6:3.3.0-8
Is this ok [y/N]: y
Downloading Packages:
Running Transaction Test
Finished Transaction Test
Transaction Check Error: package kdebase-3.3.1-4.3.FC3 (which is newer than kdebase-3.3.0-8) is already installed
[root@localhost plsclickme]#

jayemef
21st January 2005, 03:02 PM
Try opening a terminal and entering

system-config-packages
Unselect the KDE packages, and you should be set.

plsclickme
21st January 2005, 03:52 PM
Try opening a terminal and entering

system-config-packages
Unselect the KDE packages, and you should be set.

it can only remove "extra packages", what about the "standard packages"? e.g. kdebase, etc.....

thanks for your help

mrtaber
21st January 2005, 06:55 PM
I ran into this, too. Thought I'd try KDE, but decided Gnome was for me. There is no way through normal channels that I can find to remove KDE. It's like the Hotel California...you can check out anytime you like, but you can never leave :) So, it's taking up space on the harddrive, but I don't use it.

If anyone has done this successfully, I'd love to hear how you did it.

Thanks,
Mark Taber

crackers
22nd January 2005, 04:21 AM
I used to do this all the time with older RH systems that had the weird KDE packaging (and obviously conflicted with "sane" RPMs from the KDE group). It'll take a bit of hand-work and/or scripting but it can be done. I can't go into specifics because I don't want to delete KDE on my system, but here's the basic steps:

1) get a list of all the KDE packages installed (rpm -qa | grep kde)
2) rpm -e (entire list of packages)
3) note where it complains of dependencies and add them to the list from (1)
4) repeat (2) and (3) until you get all of KDE off

I think, unless you've added other KDE applications, that you'll probably only end up deleting the kde*, arts, and qt packages...

Void Main
22nd January 2005, 04:42 AM
Thought of trying it with apt-get?

apt-get remove kdebase

It will select the dependent packages for removal as well. I have never had a problem removing software with apt like you are describing. It would only take a second to install apt and try it if you don't already have it installed.

mrtaber
22nd January 2005, 06:35 AM
Thanks, everyone. Void Man, I owe you a beer! Apt worked brilliantly! :) Actually, I'm lazy and used Synaptic :rolleyes: This was my first real use of apt (I've been using up2date, and, more and more frequently, yum).

Thanks!

Mark

Void Main
22nd January 2005, 07:02 AM
Thanks, everyone. Void Man, I owe you a beer! Apt worked brilliantly! :) Actually, I'm lazy and used Synaptic :rolleyes: This was my first real use of apt (I've been using up2date, and, more and more frequently, yum).

Thanks!

Mark

I'll take a microbrew or most any nice thick European beer please. :) Actually up2date, yum, rhn and the rhn-applet are the first things I remove after a fresh install. :) Then I install apt from here:
http://dag.wieers.com/home-made/apt/

Then I add my autoupdate script to cron and my machines automatically update themselves nightly and email me the results:
http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/files/scripts/dist-upgrade

plsclickme
22nd January 2005, 07:17 AM
Hi guys, could someone tell me what is apt-get? Is that only with Debian distro? I was trying to search post from here, but couldn't find any... please help of getting away my KDE... thank you

Void Main
22nd January 2005, 07:24 AM
Hi guys, could someone tell me what is apt-get? Is that only with Debian distro? I was trying to search post from here, but couldn't find any... please help of getting away my KDE... thank you

I could have swore that this is exactly what we just did in this thread. I gave a link to Dag's apt package where you can find instructions on it in my previous message. I also have written an apt for Red Hat howto a couple of years back (originally for RH8 and then RH9 and now FC1 and then I got lazy). It will give you an idea of what it is and does:

http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/redhat/fedora_1_apt-get_must_have.html

Don't follow my installation instructiosn though. Instead go to Dag Wieer's web site and follow his instructions:

http://dag.wieers.com/home-made/apt/

plsclickme
22nd January 2005, 07:37 AM
Guys! I did it, by downloading rpms for apt and sypnatic from http://dag.wieers.com/.
From gnome I run sypnatic, search for kde and uninstall everything! I even uninstall the openoffice.org, which I;ve installed the openoffice.org since it was available.

thanks for the lead! great job!