PDA

View Full Version : mpg123: broken by design, or a true bug?



tempest766
4th March 2018, 05:43 PM
In F25 it worked, and still works on my lab machine. In F27 it plays static on my main workstation.

The ambiguous nature of mp3 with regards to patents and licensing makes me have to ask the purely rhetorical question, which I don't expect to be honestly answered: is mpg123 broken in F27 by design, or is it an application bug that found its way into the release?

flyingdutchman
4th March 2018, 05:51 PM
There is nothing ambiguous about mp3 - the patents expired already.

My guess is that you need to install/upgrade the codec.

tempest766
4th March 2018, 06:03 PM
Actually I found that if I output to a wav file and then use aplay to play that file it works. Something is weird with the "-o alsa" module in mpg123.

RupertPupkin
5th March 2018, 06:51 PM
Actually I found that if I output to a wav file and then use aplay to play that file it works. Something is weird with the "-o alsa" module in mpg123.

Hmm, 'mpg123 -o alsa' works fine on my F27 system, which uses just plain ALSA, no PulseAudio at all.