PDA

View Full Version : Japanese problem: ibus-kkc adding words to the dictionary defect

maverick6664
18th February 2018, 01:19 AM
Hi all,

On Fedora 27, ibus-kkc is the default input method. However somehow it's impossible to add words to the dictionary with the keyboard in kana mode. It's possible on Roma-ji mode. I like kana-mode, so it's a bit clumsy.....where should I post this? Is here the right place?

best regards,

smr54
18th February 2018, 03:21 AM
Yeah, that's probably a Gnome decision which many feel is a bad one. Use fcitx-kkc. See http://srobb.net/jpninpt.html which has a Fedora section.

Ibus seems to have gotten worse and worse over the years.

Yes, using Fedora is probably the right place.

maverick6664
18th February 2018, 11:16 AM
Thank you smr54,

When I used bsd/os, freebsd, and linux 27 years ago, Wnn/Canna + kinput2 was the only choices. Since then, I used to use kinput2 + Canna as far as I remember. I went to Windows 5 years ago. I am new to ibus, so I cannot tell fcix is better than ibus. As you say, ibus may be getting worse. I'll try fcix from now on. But before then, I have something to do :) Reading your link, fcitx sounds good.

smr54
18th February 2018, 01:22 PM
Hopefully, it will work better for you. I shouldn't be so harsh on ibus, it may work better with Gnome. I don't use Gnome and began having issues with it a couple of years ago.

Note that if you are using Gnome there's a few steps to take, also mentioned on my page.

maverick6664
18th February 2018, 03:13 PM
Hopefully, it will work better for you. I shouldn't be so harsh on ibus, it may work better with Gnome. I don't use Gnome and began having issues with it a couple of years ago.

Note that if you are using Gnome there's a few steps to take, also mentioned on my page.

I cannot detach ibus and activate fcitx.

gsettings set org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.keyboard active false