View Full Version : Install selected a subvolume.. now what.

27th November 2017, 06:12 AM
Hello everyone.
I'm using btrfs for my /home , and after installing F27 from scratch, I did not format /home.
Apparently anaconda has picked a subvolume of home and I have been using it like this for a few weeks..
I am not sure if I can remove the subvolid= clause without losing data..

Here is the system-generated /etc/fstab:
UUID=2f5908d1-626d-474e-966a-aeb77f123ce0 /home btrfs subvolid=5 0 0

In my previous installation the "subvolid=" clause did not exist, it was just
UUID=2f5908d1-626d-474e-966a-aeb77f123ce0 /home btrfs defaults,space_cache,noatime 0 0

I'm worried about removing the "subvolid=5"

Should I be?
Thanks! -t

27th November 2017, 12:43 PM
No, the 2 lines are equivalent. subvolid=5 is the "root" subvolume. This subvolume cannot be removed and is mounted by default.

The missing options space_cache, noatime may cause some effect, but nothing to worry about.


30th November 2017, 05:56 AM
Ah! Many thanks!

3rd December 2017, 07:22 AM
If you are using a SSD, it's recommended to use noatime, with the defaults.
And if using gnome, there is a requirement to have nocow for ~/.config/dconf/user

As follows - user is not logged in:

# cd /home/user_name/.config
# mv dconf dconf.old
# mkdir dconf
# chattr +C dconf
# chown user_name.group_name dconf

Then login and Gnome will create a new file .config/dconf/user . chattr on a existing file won't work.