PDA

View Full Version : F26 and F27: Kernel causes hardware problem on Compaq Presario F763NR Notebook.



Sethanath
15th November 2017, 07:54 PM
Hi,

I believe the kernel that comes with F26 and F27 would causes hardware problem (Single CPU) with my Compaq Presario F763NR, as I can see from the error message clearly during boot. This same problem would not happen with fresh installation of F25.

1. I started a fresh installation of F25 on my laptop. The installation would go very smoothly. There would be no error message during boot, and I would be able to login to my Gnome DE. However, once I performed the system update, I could see that the newer kernel coming in, performed the rebooting, and I would see the newer kernel causes hardware error (Single CPU and such). My notebook would be locked up on Gnome DE, and it would never work again.

2. I started a fresh installation of F26 on my laptop. The installation would go smoothly. However, there would be the same error message "Hardware Problem (Single CPU)" during booting. I would be able to see the Gnome login, it would start locking up, and it would never work again.

3. I started a fresh installation of F27 on my laptop. The installation would not go smoothly, because I would see the prompt mentioning hardware failure. However, I would still be able to perform the installation successfully. There would be the same error message "Hardware Problem (Single CPU)" during booting. I would be able to see the Gnome login, it would start locking up, and never work again.

I hope someone can help.

antikythera
15th November 2017, 08:47 PM
I see going back 9 years you've had boot issues with the same notebook from your post history. What is the exact model of the processor in your notebook? there are both single and dual core AMD Turion models, so it's entirely possible it is being identified wrongly.

Sethanath
15th November 2017, 10:42 PM
I see going back 9 years you've had boot issues with the same notebook from your post history. What is the exact model of the processor in your notebook? there are both single and dual core AMD Turion models, so it's entirely possible it is being identified wrongly.

The sticker on my notebook has AMD64 AthlonX2 on it, which I believe it is correct.

Thank you very much.

antikythera
16th November 2017, 09:31 AM
yes but, which specific model? most likely TK-57 1.9GHz as per this (https://www.cnet.com/products/compaq-presario-f762nr-15-4-athlon-64-x2-tk-57-vista-home-premium-1-gb-ram-120-gb-hdd-series/specs/). Anyhow, try the power management commands from your 2008 thread (https://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?208908-Can-t-install-Fedora-10-on-Compaq-Presario-F763NR-laptop) please, one by one not all of them should be necessary but if they don't work individually you can then try different combinations. to edit the grub command, press 'e'. find the line with rhgb and silent and add them in there. then press CTRL+X together to boot.

if that works or doesn't work please post back. should it work i'll tell you how to make the change permanent.

Sethanath
16th November 2017, 05:58 PM
yes but, which specific model? most likely TK-57 1.9GHz as per this (https://www.cnet.com/products/compaq-presario-f762nr-15-4-athlon-64-x2-tk-57-vista-home-premium-1-gb-ram-120-gb-hdd-series/specs/).

My notebook is actually this one https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/Compaq-Presario-F700-Notebook-PC-series/3548233/model/3692013/. The link that you would give F762NR with the "2", which is slightly wrong. I also have 2GB of memory and 2TB internal hard drive.

I will try those command that you gave soon.

Thank you so much.

Sethanath
17th November 2017, 06:43 PM
Hi,

This is what I am seeing. Of course, I can't really type everything down :)

/swap rhgb quiet LANG=en_US.UTF-8

So, I changed that line to ..

/swap rhgb quiet linux nolapic apic=off LANG=en_US.UTF-8

I hit "CNTL-X".

Now, the GNOME DE works only slightly better. I can only get by with moving the mouse. I waited one minute, and I see "Something has gone wrong. Please logout".

Thanks.

Sethanath
17th November 2017, 07:08 PM
Please also note that none of this would happen with fresh installation of Fedora 25 Kernel 4.8
I am thinking of using Fedora 25 for this laptop for now, but I will need to lock my kernel 4.8, so that the newer one would not come in.

What do you think?

Thank you.

antikythera
17th November 2017, 07:24 PM
A couple of things spring to mind, try a Xorg session as I think your notebook is not able to handle GNOME 3 Wayland sessions. If you can see the login screen long enough, click on the cog by your username and choose Xorg before logging in. See if that works better. If not, it may be time to investigate lightweight alternatives from https://spins.fedoraproject.org. at the moment all other fedora desktop environments use Xorg, not Wayland.

Also, an alternative distribution that uses long term support kernels may possibly be the better option. CentOS 7 for example with extras from Fedora Project's EPEL repository.

Sethanath
17th November 2017, 07:33 PM
A couple of things spring to mind, try a Xorg session as I think your notebook is not able to handle GNOME 3 Wayland sessions. If you can see the login screen long enough, click on the cog by your username and choose Xorg before logging in. See if that works better. If not, it may be time to investigate lightweight alternatives from https://spins.fedoraproject.org. at the moment all other fedora desktop environments use Xorg, not Wayland.

Also, an alternative distribution that uses long term support kernels may possibly be the better option. CentOS 7 for example with extras from Fedora Project's EPEL repository.

Thanks again for super fast reply. I did not realize at all that the other Fedora 27 might not use Wayland. I will try out Fedora 27 Cinnamon.

Sethanath
17th November 2017, 09:15 PM
Things work great now. For the future release of Fedora, I think I will stick to the Spin Release, as it is so convenient.

Do you happen to know where I can find the release note for this Fedora 27 Cinnamon? I want to see if they use this experimental Pipewire with this Spin.

Thank you again.

antikythera
17th November 2017, 09:31 PM
No idea, you could ask on their IRC channel - http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=fedora-cinnamon