PDA

View Full Version : Skype : skype-4.3.0.37 dead :-(



nohup
13th November 2017, 07:13 PM
Hi! I worked many years in Skype but it is fully dead now. Why it happened?

After start of Skype I had received next messages:

./skype

(evince:6189): Gtk-WARNING **: Allocating size to EvSidebar 0x816dbc40 without calling gtk_widget_get_preferred_width/height(). How does the code know the size to allocate?

(evince:6228): Gtk-WARNING **: Allocating size to EvSidebar 0x821cde40 without calling gtk_widget_get_preferred_width/height(). How does the code know the size to allocate?
1510594218540 addons.update-checker WARN Update manifest for webcompat@mozilla.org did not contain an updates property
1510594218613 addons.update-checker WARN Update manifest for firefox@getpocket.com did not contain an updates property
1510594218650 addons.update-checker WARN Update manifest for e10srollout@mozilla.org did not contain an updates property
1510594218683 addons.update-checker WARN Update manifest for {972ce4c6-7e08-4474-a285-3208198ce6fd} did not contain an updates property

(evince:11139): Gtk-WARNING **: Allocating size to EvSidebar 0x80f2cdd0 without calling gtk_widget_get_preferred_width/height(). How does the code know the size to allocate?
ATTENTION: default value of option force_s3tc_enable overridden by environment.

Where to search other skype.tar,gz for Fedora 4.10.14-200.fc25.i686+PAE ?

Regards,
Sergey

alphacrucis
14th November 2017, 01:10 AM
I don't know what is causing your problem but note that Microsoft recently released Skype version 5 for Linux. It is working on fedora 27. As reported by OMGUBUNTU, Linux users can now enjoy the hated Skype redesign ;)

leigh123linux
14th November 2017, 01:27 AM
See https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/skype/forum/skype_linux-skype_startms-skype_installms/skype-43-will-stop-working-after-july-1-2017/4063192f-09b6-4ee9-9d2a-e69757d4d85d



Important notice: All Skype for Linux clients version 4.3 and older will be retired on July 1, 2017. To keep chatting, please install the latest version of Skype for Linux.

nohup
14th November 2017, 07:18 AM
Thanks, you opened the way how to solve this problem.

How about to use the VIBER instead of SKYPE?

Where is possible to download old version of the VIBER as the VIBER.tar.gz?

[s...~]$uname -a:

4.10.14-200.fc25.i686+PAE #1 SMP Wed May 3 23:20:35 UTC 2017 i686 i686 i386

God bless your service.

nohup
14th November 2017, 07:23 AM
rpm -i viber.rpm
error: Failed dependencies:
ld-linux-x86-64.so.2()(64bit) is needed by viber-7.0.0.1035-2.x86_64
ld-linux-x86-64.so.2(GLIBC_2.2.5)(64bit) is needed by viber-7.0.0.1035-2.x86_64
ld-linux-x86-64.so.2(GLIBC_2.3)(64bit) is needed by viber-7.0.0.1035-2.x86_64
libGL.so.1()(64bit) is needed by viber-7.0.0.1035-2.x86_64
........
And many others !!!

nohup
16th November 2017, 05:18 PM
Hi!

Where is the 32bit viber.rpm for successful downloading? I download some viber.rpm and after command rpm -i viber.rpm I had many difficult messages:
error: Failed dependencies:
ld-linux-x86-64.so.2()(64bit) is needed by viber-7.0.0.1035-2.x86_64
ld-linux-x86-64.so.2(GLIBC_2.2.5)(64bit) is needed by viber-7.0.0.1035-2.x86_64
ld-linux-x86-64.so.2(GLIBC_2.3)(64bit) is needed by viber-7.0.0.1035-2.x86_64
libGL.so.1()(64bit) is needed by viber-7.0.0.1035-2.x86_64

. . . . .

Regards,
Sergey.

antikythera
17th November 2017, 09:15 AM
duplicate thread merged, please do not open any more

fedoraforum.org posting rules and guidelines (https://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?316098-Posting-Rules-FedoraForum-org-Rules-amp-Guidelines)

srakitnican
17th November 2017, 11:37 AM
Instead of using rpm to install the package, use dnf that way you will get dependencies pulled automatically. From command posted by you replace "rpm -i" with "dnf install".

nohup
17th November 2017, 05:13 PM
How to detect the kind of kernel 32 or 64 I use?

nohup
17th November 2017, 05:27 PM
Instead of using rpm to install the package, use dnf that way you will get dependencies pulled automatically. From command posted by you replace "rpm -i" with "dnf install".
- dnf install viber.rpm
Last metadata expiration check: 0:42:48 ago on Fri Nov 17 15:44:07 2017.
Error: package viber-7.0.0.1035-2.x86_64 does not have a compatible architecture

antikythera
17th November 2017, 07:29 PM
How to detect the kind of kernel 32 or 64 I use?

in the terminal type

uname -mrs

nohup
18th November 2017, 08:31 AM
in the terminal type

uname -mrs

Linux 4.10.14-200.fc25.i686+PAE i686

srakitnican
18th November 2017, 10:12 AM
So you need 32-bit version of Skype then. Newer Skype seems to not provide one, 64-bit only. There is a possibility of installing Windows version through Wine if you need it desperately. Nowadays, you should really use a 64-bit system if possible to avoid this sort of problems altogether.

nohup
18th November 2017, 10:32 AM
So you need 32-bit version of Skype then. Newer Skype seems to not provide one, 64-bit only. There is a possibility of installing Windows version through Wine if you need it desperately. Nowadays, you should really use a 64-bit system if possible to avoid this sort of problems altogether.

Thank you, very good proposal - to use Wine but is my unsolved problem with Wine - after start of it I see the message on screen: "Ooops, problems.." Wine doesn't work because my computer is very old for new Fedora.

antikythera
18th November 2017, 11:32 AM
How old? What specific processor model do you have? There's a very strong case for re-installing with the 64-bit OS if your system can handle it because 32-bit support across many distributions is being officially phased out.

nohup
18th November 2017, 04:21 PM
How old? What specific processor model do you have? There's a very strong case for re-installing with the 64-bit OS if your system can handle it because 32-bit support across many distributions is being officially phased out.

My notebook DELL Latitude E5420 has processor Intel Core i5

srakitnican
18th November 2017, 09:04 PM
I am pretty sure it supports 64-bit, it is not that old.

https://ark.intel.com/products/52229/Intel-Core-i5-2520M-Processor-3M-Cache-up-to-3_20-GHz


EDIT: Also, to be sure we are talking about the right processor, execute the following command to confirm.


$ grep "^model name" /proc/cpuinfo

antikythera
19th November 2017, 12:39 AM
all core i5 processors support 64-bit instructions

nohup
19th November 2017, 07:11 AM
grep "^model name" /proc/cpuinfo
model name : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz
model name : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz
model name : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz
model name : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz

nohup
19th November 2017, 08:36 AM
A half of problem with 64 or 32 bits is solved - http://www.guralp.com/howtos/running-scream-on-64-bit-linux.shtml
But are other significant problems 32 or 64 bits:
Will it work in 64 bits - ftp://194.44.29.164/pub/publications/Forecasting/lpitsa
or
ftp://194.44.29.164/pub/publications/Forecasting/pitsa ???
Will 64-bits kernel work with 8 Gb operative memory?

antikythera
19th November 2017, 09:20 AM
that garulp page explains how you'd get 32-bit programs running reasonably well even though it's quite out dated. fedora is already setup for multilib so you'd just install the necessary libraries as needed. the same should apply for pitsa as well. if unsure, what you can do is install to a virtual machine or USB stick or external HDD first to try it out. it will of course run slower if you only have USB 2 ports available but it should give an idea of what will work and what won't.

A system with 8Gb of RAM is ideal for 64-bit kernels

srakitnican
19th November 2017, 09:45 AM
A 64-bit system or CPU can run 32-bit software assuming correct 32-bit libraries are present on the system. Other way around is not possible though. 64-bit system favors 64-bit libraries. To install 32-bit libraries manually append ".i686" to a package name.

nohup
19th November 2017, 05:07 PM
Good idea - to use an external USB 16 GB device as you proposed - "... if unsure, what you can do is install to a virtual machine or USB stick or external HDD first to try it out ...". And use it for 64 bit Skype. My old documents will be saved :
df -h | grep sda | awk '{print $1," ",$4," ",$5}'
/dev/sda3 168G 4%
/dev/sda1 233G 12%
/dev/sda2 101G 53%
/dev/sda9 22G 78%
/dev/sda5 14G 76%
/dev/sda8 88M 2%
/dev/sda6 15G 75%
and I will have 16 GB USB device with 64 bits Fedora for Skype. Where to read the instruction how to create bootable USB ? It is very good idea - to use external bootable USB.
What kind of file system must be on bootbale USB - NTFS, ext3,ext4?

lsatenstein
19th November 2017, 06:59 PM
My version of SKYPE from the RFRemix (Fedora Remix) distribution is 4.3.0.37 and it works fine I also have some other Goodies from that Remix such as whatsapp, wire, wireshark, Viber , Transmission, Opera, Chromium and more user I/O software included. If you are dead set on Skype, consider using that off-shore Remix.

All AMD/Intel processors also include 8 bit (char), 16bit (short short), 32bit (short), 64bit. Not sure about long long (128bits),

nohup
19th November 2017, 07:34 PM
For me is more suitable to use bootable 16B USB with 64 bit Fedora and 64 bit Skype and 64 Viber. I want to test 64 bit Fedora for future.

FFedora
21st November 2017, 01:38 PM
Hello everyone.

Last week I have install the Skype on the new Fedora 27 and it works fine.
It is not issue with the 32bit OR 64 bit,the only change is about how to get it done to work for you.
So the option from my end part was to use Outlook.com.
as far as I know that is the solution,The Only issue that I have find was with the sound,
You just need to change the sound Card that works with Skype = >to me that is the sound Card from the right.
and to configure it to work with your Video Card+chose the Option of Default mic.
And that was all to do with the software,made test to Audio/Video and all works well.

You can take A look on that page,and see if that will solve the issue for you:
https://www.howtogeek.com/164220/how-to-skype-without-skype-in-outlook.com/

nohup
26th November 2017, 02:30 PM
livecd-iso-to-disk Fedora-Workstation-Live-x86_64-25-1.3.iso /dev/sdb1
Verifying image...
/usr/games/DownLoadISOs/Fedora-Workstation-Live-x86_64-25-1.3.iso: ec5039af1735642e222e97e02ab0e1e9
Fragment sums: f48e661d962e6316cbc6e16a4ee4ff9f99fa06151ceacc4f3f 1973368a93
Fragment count: 20
Supported ISO: no
Press [Esc] to abort check.
Checking: 100.0%
The media check is complete, the result is: PASS.
It is OK to use this media.
ATTENTION:
The partition isn't marked bootable!
You can mark the partition as bootable with the following commands:
# parted /dev/sdb
(parted) toggle <N> boot
(parted) quit
May be for more exactly writing is other variant of this command: parted /dev/sdb1 <---- where sdb1 is shown more clear
or
livecd-iso-to-disk --reset-mbr Fedora-Workstation-Live-x86_64-28-1.1.iso /dev/sdb1
where is the option --reset-mbr instead of parted /dev/sdb1.

nohup
26th November 2017, 02:55 PM
Parted helped me!
parted /dev/sdb
GNU Parted 3.2
Using /dev/sdb
Welcome to GNU Parted! Type 'help' to view a list of commands.
(parted) print
Model: Pretec 16GB (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdb: 16.2GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos
Disk Flags:

Number Start End Size Type File system Flags
1 32.3kB 16.2GB 16.2GB primary fat32 lba

(parted) toggle 1 boot
(parted) print
Model: Pretec 16GB (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdb: 16.2GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos
Disk Flags:

Number Start End Size Type File system Flags
1 32.3kB 16.2GB 16.2GB primary fat32 boot, lba

(parted) quit
Information: You may need to update /etc/fstab.

AlexTheoto
27th November 2017, 08:40 PM
Don't bump your posts. Right now you have different problem. It's not related to skype.
You can use skype's web interface (web.skype.com). Use Chromium or Chrome browsers because Firefox had (still have?) problems.