PDA

View Full Version : "Out of range" after new gpu and monitor



ezshre
6th November 2017, 06:07 PM
Hello, I upgraded my monitor to a 2k benq and my gpu to a gtx 1070.
When i try to boot my working fedora from and external ssd I get to choose "fedora with linux" and i see the bar loading but one i get to the desktop my monitor goes black with the out of range error.

I tried reducing the resolution and installing the latest drivers but it doesnt work

amiga
7th November 2017, 12:13 AM
I tried reducing the resolution and installing the latest drivers but it doesn't work

The resolution itself should not be a problem as 2K is only 2560 x 1440 and the gtx 1070 can support a maximum resolution of 7680x4320@60Hz, so 9 times the number of pixels.

It could be kernel modesetting which the NVidia binary doesn't support. You should put nomodeset as a kernel parameter in grub. There are people with modeset problems with standard HD monitors.

ezshre
15th November 2017, 07:50 PM
The resolution itself should not be a problem as 2K is only 2560 x 1440 and the gtx 1070 can support a maximum resolution of 7680x4320@60Hz, so 9 times the number of pixels.

It could be kernel modesetting which the NVidia binary doesn't support. You should put nomodeset as a kernel parameter in grub. There are people with modeset problems with standard HD monitors.

How do i add nomodeset? I am new to linux fedora, just using it for school

smr54
15th November 2017, 08:02 PM
https://www.systutorials.com/qa/1825/how-to-add-nomodeset-to-grub2-in-fedora-and-ubuntu gives a good explanation. After adding nomodeset, regenerate grub with

sudo grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg

I

leigh123linux
15th November 2017, 08:36 PM
Or


sudo grubby --update-kernel=ALL --args='nomodeset'

amiga
17th November 2017, 08:34 PM
I should have given more details in my first post as I was unaware that you were a beginner.

To add kernel parameters to grub for booting you need to edit the /etc/default/grub file and add nomodeset to the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX variable.

Then as smr54 said you would then regenerate the config by running either sudo grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg for a BIOS/CSM system or grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/efi/EFI/fedora/grub.cfg for an UEFI system.

To do a simple one time test to see if adding nomodeset will fix your problems you can edit the grub command line at boot time by pressing 'e' to edit the command line before the timer runs out.

antikythera
17th November 2017, 09:14 PM
Or


sudo grubby --update-kernel=ALL --args='nomodeset'

thanks for that pointer, so much quicker and simpler. grubby is an excellent tool

ezshre
24th November 2017, 04:54 PM
I should have given more details in my first post as I was unaware that you were a beginner.

To add kernel parameters to grub for booting you need to edit the /etc/default/grub file and add nomodeset to the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX variable.

Then as smr54 said you would then regenerate the config by running either sudo grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg for a BIOS/CSM system or grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/efi/EFI/fedora/grub.cfg for an UEFI system.

To do a simple one time test to see if adding nomodeset will fix your problems you can edit the grub command line at boot time by pressing 'e' to edit the command line before the timer runs out.

I can't login to my user, i only get to the screen where i can press e to edit or open a command prompt, how do i add nomodeset from here?

amiga
25th November 2017, 09:58 AM
Did you try pressing e to edit ? You will be allowed to edit the kernel parameters. You can add nomodeset to the parameters and then boot following the instructions on the screen.

ezshre
25th November 2017, 04:47 PM
Did you try pressing e to edit ? You will be allowed to edit the kernel parameters. You can add nomodeset to the parameters and then boot following the instructions on the screen.

I added nomodeset, the error still persists

leigh123linux
25th November 2017, 05:13 PM
I added nomodeset, the error still persists

TBH I think adding nomodeset was a bad mistake, as far as I know it's only useful for the open source drivers (not nvidia!).

1. You didn't do anything stupid like trying to use xorg.conf?
2. You don't provide any useful info
a) Previous card and driver used
b) What fedora release
3. What DE
4. Where did you get the new nvidia driver? (if it was nvidia.com your on you own as I have no time for people who choose to use it).

ezshre
25th November 2017, 05:36 PM
TBH I think adding nomodeset was a bad mistake, as far as I know it's only useful for the open source drivers (not nvidia!).

1. You didn't do anything stupid like trying to use xorg.conf?
2. You don't provide any useful info
a) Previous card and driver used
b) What fedora release
3. What DE
4. Where did you get the new nvidia driver? (if it was nvidia.com your on you own as I have no time for people who choose to use it).

I didn't touch any xorg.conf, im a beginner only using linux for school and have no idea what im doing.
Its Fedora 20
I just update my drivers with GeForce Experience
I had a gtx 970 which linux worked fine on, then i upgraded to a gtx 1080 and a 2k monitor and i suddenly "get out of range"

amiga
25th November 2017, 05:56 PM
TBH I think adding nomodeset was a bad mistake, as far as I know it's only useful for the open source drivers (not nvidia!).

Well then what you know is very wrong as nomodeset is needed for the nvidia binary driver which doesn't support kernel modesetting and not needed for open source nouveau which does support KMS. I have used the nvidia binary from their .run file for years and need to use nomodeset to be able to use virtual consoles Ctrl-Alt-F1-6. What you think you know is backwards.


1. You didn't do anything stupid like trying to use xorg.conf?
4. Where did you get the new nvidia driver? (if it was nvidia.com your on you own as I have no time for people who choose to use it).

Quite angry rude comments from someone who clearly doesn't know what they are talking about. I have been using the nvidia package for years without problems. Since you "don't have time" perhaps you should stay off this thread and maybe even this forum until you develop a better attitude and some knowledge.

leigh123linux
25th November 2017, 06:24 PM
Well then what you know is very wrong as nomodeset is needed for the nvidia binary driver which doesn't support kernel modesetting and not needed for open source nouveau which does support KMS. I have used the nvidia binary from their .run file for years and need to use nomodeset to be able to use virtual consoles Ctrl-Alt-F1-6. What you think you know is backwards.



Quite angry rude comments from someone who clearly doesn't know what they are talking about. I have been using the nvidia package for years without problems. Since you "don't have time" perhaps you should stay off this thread and maybe even this forum until you develop a better attitude and some knowledge.

Sorry if my dev attitude offends (dealing with 100+ bug emails a day hardens your attitude), as for nvidia I doubt you know 10% of what I know.
I maintain the nvidia drivers for rpmfusion!


P.S Apparently I'm rated in the top 100 for fedora devs so fedora must be doomed if I'm clueless :)

https://badges.fedoraproject.org/user/leigh123linux

leigh123linux
25th November 2017, 06:36 PM
I didn't touch any xorg.conf, im a beginner only using linux for school and have no idea what im doing.
Its Fedora 20
I just update my drivers with GeForce Experience
I had a gtx 970 which linux worked fine on, then i upgraded to a gtx 1080 and a 2k monitor and i suddenly "get out of range"

Fedora 20 is very old (27 is current).
What is GeForce Experience?
GTX 1080 will need a recent version to function, the "out of range" warning could indicate the driver doesn't support the new card

ezshre
25th November 2017, 06:54 PM
Fedora 20 is very old (27 is current).
What is GeForce Experience?
GTX 1080 will need a recent version to function, the "out of range" warning could indicate the driver doesn't support the new card

It's a software that installs the latest drivers for you whenever a driver comes out. I have the latest drivers for my gpu, my desktop is a gaming PC running windows 10, whenever I have homework I simply boot Linux from an external SSD, I don't have linux nvidia drivers but it worked fine with my gtx 970

leigh123linux
25th November 2017, 07:09 PM
It's a software that installs the latest drivers for you whenever a driver comes out. I have the latest drivers for my gpu, my desktop is a gaming PC running windows 10, whenever I have homework I simply boot Linux from an external SSD, I don't have linux nvidia drivers but it worked fine with my gtx 970

OK, your issue is happening because F20 nouveau driver has no Nvidia Pascal support, F27 may support the 1080 better.

ezshre
25th November 2017, 07:16 PM
OK, your issue is happening because F20 nouveau driver has no Nvidia Pascal support, F27 may support the 1080 better.

Ah alright, unfortunately F20 is required for my class. Thanks for the help!

leigh123linux
25th November 2017, 07:23 PM
Ah alright, unfortunately F20 is required for my class. Thanks for the help!

You could try installing the rpmfusion f23 or f24 nvidia driver using the akmod method with the old card then switch to the 1080.

antikythera
26th November 2017, 11:06 AM
Ah alright, unfortunately F20 is required for my class. Thanks for the help!

well the curriculum is out of date and pretty much useless then if the course module is Fedora specific. you should inform the lecturer that current Fedora is managed differently to Fedora 27. All components are much newer versions, including the GNOME desktop if you are also forced to use Workstation.

However, if he/she wants to deliver a course where skills are transferable to RHEL then instead of Fedora, both the lecturer and students would benefit much more from running CentOS 7.x, 7.4 is the current release.