PDA

View Full Version : Fedora Password changed automatically, can't enter

Chemgadi
1st November 2017, 10:41 AM
Hey everyone.

I'm totally new to fedora, and Linux in general. Decided to learn from 0 since started learning science engineering degree :)

Today I tried to make fedora open without requiring password in the beginning. Went to settings and somehow it changed the password to a random one. I pressed cancel but probably it didn't help since now I can't open my computer at all. It asks for password and I don't know it.

Fortunately I have nothing important I'm my PC since it's new. What can I do to solve this?

My guess is that the simplest way is to format it again. But how do I do it without logging?

Thanks in advance.

Gadi

topiwala
1st November 2017, 10:59 AM
i think you would have tried the following already
- old password

-pressing enter on blank password field

Other solution

Ctrl+Alt+F2 will send you to different tty terminal try entering as superuser. You will be asked to type username which is "su" and password will be the root password which you entered while installation(two passwords at time of installation one was of root and other was of user). use the "passwd" command to change the passwd of user like this

# passwd <username>

where in place of <username> place your username whose passwd you have forgotton.

After changing passwd type "poweroff" and start again and use new password on the login screen.

EDIT: CORRECTION: the username for root is "root" not "su"

Chemgadi
1st November 2017, 11:35 AM
Thanks very much for your reply.

I've tried what you explain, but I get "login incorrect".

I know what my login is. it's strange that it's incorrect

topiwala
1st November 2017, 11:43 AM
were you able to change password by logging as root? the root users name is "su" not your username.

EDIT: CORECTION:it is "root" not "su"

Chemgadi
1st November 2017, 12:35 PM
no, doesn't work :(

topiwala
1st November 2017, 01:35 PM