PDA

View Full Version : F25: how load nouveau module at boot ?



boycottsystemd
29th October 2017, 03:25 PM
I''ve created /etc/modules-load.d/nouveau.conf with content:

nouveau

It has been working for some time but it doesn't work anymore. Is there better solution ?

marko
29th October 2017, 05:30 PM
Why do that at all, it's unnecessary? I have a GTX560 TI and I use nouveau and /etc/moduiles-load.d/ is empty on my system.

Does this show that you accidentally have something blacklisting nouveau?


grep -i nouveau /etc/modprobe.d/*conf

That would show if any conf file in there has a nouveau entry

boycottsystemd
6th November 2017, 06:40 PM
It's needed to use nouveau. I would like to use nouveau because CPU has significantly lower temperature with it.



$ grep -i nouveau /etc/modprobe.d/*conf
/etc/modprobe.d/bumblebee.conf:blacklist nouveau

antikythera
7th November 2017, 12:09 AM
It's needed to use nouveau. I would like to use nouveau because CPU has significantly lower temperature with it.



$ grep -i nouveau /etc/modprobe.d/*conf
/etc/modprobe.d/bumblebee.conf:blacklist nouveau
That bumblebee entry seems to be blacklisting nouveau which will prevent it from loading

Sent from my B1-780 using Tapatalk

boycottsystemd
10th November 2017, 01:00 PM
That bumblebee entry seems to be blacklisting nouveau which will prevent it from loading

Sent from my B1-780 using Tapatalk

I would like to use nouveau mostly with possibility to use bumblebee sometime. Is there any easy solution for this ?

antikythera
10th November 2017, 05:21 PM
In fact, you can no longer use the bumblebee software with nouveau any longer even if you want to

https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bumblebee#For_free_or_open_source_solution

if you read that link it says to use PRIME instead. bumblebee look to have abandoned support for nouveau

boycottsystemd
1st December 2017, 11:45 AM
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bumblebee#For_free_or_open_source_solution

if you read that link it says to use PRIME instead. bumblebee look to have abandoned support for nouveau

Thank you, CPU temperature issue and others was solved after upgrading to F26 and reinstalling bbswitch to new version: https://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?316381-Finding-obsolete-packages

Current state is satisfied.