PDA

View Full Version : Fedora live usb install frozen during "OK" screen

mcneish4
25th October 2017, 04:27 PM
Computer: Alienware 17 R4 Signature Edition (Core i7-6700HQ, Nvidia Geforce GTX 1070, 16GB RAM)
Storage Setup: 1*(256GB SSD) running Windows 10;
1*(1TB SSD) Partitioned into 700GB storage and 300GB Linux partition (The partition I am trying to install Fedora onto);
1*(1TB HDD) just for storage dump.

Trying to install: Fedora Workstation 26 Live USB (multiple attempts tried with Fedora Media Writer, Unetbootin with pick-a-distro at the top, or an ISO file, and Rufus via an ISO file).

This problem occurs during the black and green "OK" screen when booting through my 128GB USB 3.0 jump drive (I have tried multiple USB drives, same result). The screen will freeze and will not continue during this phase. I am not sure what is happening, as I am fairly new to the Linux community, with only a couple of years under my belt in experience. I cannot get past this green "OK" screen unfortunately, so any help would be appreciated. Thank you very much for your time into helping solve this problem for me.

AlexTheoto
25th October 2017, 07:05 PM
Did you verify the iso?
If you are uefi system, disable 'secure boot'
At bootup, choose to check the integrity before the live session.

mcneish4
25th October 2017, 07:24 PM
Did you verify the iso?
If you are uefi system, disable 'secure boot'
At bootup, choose to check the integrity before the live session.

Secure boot is off, and I have used the ISO files from the Fedora Media Writer, the Fedora Workstation Download Page, and through another mirror. I have the system running in AHCI mode, as I had previously installed Ubuntu MATE and Lubuntu on the partition, both of which I had no problems with whatsoever.

AlexTheoto
25th October 2017, 07:33 PM
I checked the bootup and I didn't see any green OK.
Where do you see this?
The screen is black with blue text but there is no OK option.

mcneish4
25th October 2017, 07:41 PM