PDA

View Full Version : how to switch from gnome to kde ???



oldopensuseuser
17th September 2017, 05:35 PM
Greetings !!

I'm comfortable with KDE and wanted to switch fedora 26 to KDE is this possible ?

amiga
17th September 2017, 05:46 PM
You only have to install the KDE environment with dnf and then select it in GDM when logging in. The KDE package would be a group. Use dnf grouplist to find the name.

solo2101
17th September 2017, 06:58 PM
Open a terminal and use :


su -
password:
dnf install @kde-desktop

antikythera
18th September 2017, 08:51 AM
or if you have only just installed and don't mind starting again from scratch, use the KDE Spin:

https://spins.fedoraproject.org

amiga
19th September 2017, 10:09 PM
or if you have only just installed and don't mind starting again from scratch, use the KDE Spin:

This would waste over a GB of bandwidth to download a whole new OS iso, take hours to download, and half hour or so to re-install. Most of the OS would be the same of course except for the DE.

Much quicker with:

sudo dnf install @kde-desktop

antikythera
19th September 2017, 11:31 PM
yes it seems like an odd suggestion but actually over time you'd recover that bandwidth usage through not updating a redundant desktop environment and set of packages that is never going to be used.


it's almost impossible to remove GNOME after installing another desktop environment because so many packages are marked as dependencies that dnf wants to remove pretty much the entire system and you are guaranteed to end up with a broken mess. it's the code equivalent of Japanese knotweed.


So by just installing another DE, you end up stuck with a load of bloatware essentially left on the pc and consuming processing time and bandwidth needlessly every time dnf is run.

flyingdutchman
20th September 2017, 03:48 AM
Install KDE, XFCE, LXDE, IceWM, Blackbox and Windowmaker and choose whichever desktop you feel like using/abusing when you log in.

kkshethin
21st September 2017, 12:13 PM
Install KDE, XFCE, LXDE, IceWM, Blackbox and Windowmaker and choose whichever desktop you feel like using/abusing when you log in.

https://img.cs.montana.edu/linux/montanalinux/

amiga
21st September 2017, 09:36 PM
yes it seems like an odd suggestion but actually over time you'd recover that bandwidth usage through not updating a redundant desktop environment and set of packages that is never going to be used.

Actually no as if you don't want dnf to update a package all you have to do is add exclude=packagename to /etc/dnf/dnf.conf for each package you don't want update. That is all you have to do. This isn't an issue at all.

Also even if you won't be using the full GNOME desktop again many popular Linux applications such as browsers Firefox and Chromium use the GTK3 libraries. I use KDE Plasma but am using Firefox right now.

If someone were to re-install the entire OS with a KDE spin they would have to re-install the GTK3 GUI libraries if they wanted to use Firefox, Chromium, or other popular software such as the GIMP photo editor.


So by just installing another DE, you end up stuck with a load of bloatware essentially left on the pc and consuming processing time and bandwidth needlessly every time dnf is run.

With exclude=packagename in /etc/dnf/dnf.conf you don't have to update anything you don't want to. Perhaps you should read up on your dnf configuration.

wolfv
21st September 2017, 11:04 PM
Official instruction are on https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Switching_Desktop_Environments
This is how I did it.

From Terminal:

$ ~/scripts/backup_to_gcs/backup_to_gcs.sh
(took 8 minutes)
$ sudo dnf install @kde-desktop-environment
Complete!
(took 70 minutes)
Reboot
On the login screen:

click display manager (gear icon) > select "Plasma"