PDA

View Full Version : How i get midi works?



madrugada
2nd January 2005, 10:44 AM
I have this packages installed:
alsa-lib-1.0.6-3
alsa-utils-1.0.6-3
alsa-lib-devel-1.0.6-3
i inserted a lot of modules to make midi works...
My lsmod|grep snd is:
snd_virmidi 3973 0
snd_seq_virmidi 6593 1 snd_virmidi
snd_seq_midi_event 8385 1 snd_seq_virmidi
snd_seq 56785 2 snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_intel8x0 34829 1
snd_ac97_codec 64401 1 snd_intel8x0
snd_pcm_oss 47609 0
snd_mixer_oss 17217 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 97993 2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm_oss
snd_timer 29765 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc 9673 2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
gameport 4801 1 snd_intel8x0
snd_mpu401_uart 8769 1 snd_intel8x0
snd_rawmidi 26725 2 snd_seq_virmidi,snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device 8137 2 snd_seq,snd_rawmidi
snd 54053 14 snd_virmidi,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq,snd_intel8x0,s nd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,sn d_timer,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
soundcore 9889 1 snd

I use kmid and i have tryed all "Virtual Raw Midi" as midi devices...
The problem is that the midi song play but i listen nothing!!!
Is it possible the my sound card have to be supported by alsa for midi??
I use a laptop asus l5820...it has SiS SI7012 chip that is recognized as intel8X0.
Alsa works fine!
Any help??

Regards

pigpen
2nd January 2005, 07:41 PM
Hi! If you do not need to rely on your soundcard to play the midi files,
try "timidity". It uses normal PCM output and comes with Fedora anyways.
Plus: I always had to play around with "alsamixer" in order to hear anything.
Hope this helps. Cheers

madrugada
3rd January 2005, 11:39 PM
Thanks pigpen! I used "timidity" and i can hear the sound....good!
But i'd like to use kmid for changing channel and various option.....
Can anyone help me?
I noted one more things....i have no /dev/midi..... should i have it?
Thanks