PDA

View Full Version : NVidia Linux driver manual install + Fedora 21 = quiet NVidia GTX 980 fans + high res

Jeff72
13th December 2014, 01:11 AM
NVidia Linux driver manual install + Fedora 21 = quiet NVidia GTX 980 fans + high resolution

Fedora 21 version installed: Fedora-Live-Workstation-x86_64-21-5.iso
NVidia Linux x86_64/AMD64/EM64T driver installed: NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-343.36.run
Download the NVidia "Linux x86_64/AMD64/EM64T" 343.36 driver here: http://www.nvidia.com/object/unix.html
Graphics card I am using: Gigabyte GV-N980G1 GAMING-4GD (http://www.gigabyte.us/products/product-page.aspx?pid=5208#ov)

DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK. THE BELOW WORKED FOR ME, BUT I AM NOT AN EXPERT ON THIS MATTER AND AM LIMITED TO THE INFORMATION BELOW.

Note: All commands are run as root.

Install the pre-requisites:
yum install gcc kernel-devel

Blacklist the default nouveau graphics driver by creating /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf:
echo "blacklist nouveau" >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

Add "rd.driver.blacklist=nouveau" to middle of "GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=" line in /etc/sysconfig/grub
Example line from /etc/sysconfig/grub:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="rd.lvm.lv=fedora/swap rd.lvm.lv=fedora/root rd.driver.blacklist=nouveau rhgb quiet"

Activate blacklist change:
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg

Remove default nouveau driver:
yum remove xorg-x11-drv-nouveau.x86_64

Set computer to boot to run level 3 (non-graphical boot) and reboot:
systemctl set-default multi-user.target
reboot

Install the NVidia NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-343.36.run driver:
chmod +x NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-343.36.run
sh ./NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-343.36.run
accept license
install 32bit compatibility
allow it to update your xorg.cfg file

If successful, then:
Set computer to boot to run level 5 (graphical boot) and reboot:
systemctl set-default graphical.target
reboot

Enjoy!

The information at the below web link by "Duke Nukem" was helpful in getting the above to work for Fedora 21: