PDA

View Full Version : pointing to libtiff.so.3()

treefiddey
2nd October 2014, 11:02 PM
Hi,

I'm trying to install some software (Lumerical FDTD Solutions) and the installation fails because of a failed dependency:

libtiff.so.3()(64bit)

I manually installed tiff-3.9.7 (./configure; make) and copied libtiff.so.3 to /usr/lib64

but the installer still can't find it. How can I make it see libtiff.so.3?
Any help is appreciated.

PS: I'm a total linux newb. Sorry!

PabloTwo
3rd October 2014, 12:23 AM
First off, when asking questions about dependencies for rpm packages, please state which release of Fedora you are using. Which release you are using can greatly affect what versions of programs, or "resources", are available to you from the repositories. For now, I'll just assume, Fedora 20.

I manually installed tiff-3.9.7 (./configure; make) and copied libtiff.so.3 to /usr/lib64

You can't. Rpm packages contain metadata which describes both what that package provides, and what that package requires as dependencies, among other things. Rpm only knows what's in it's own database about each package. Rpm only knows about your installed rpm packages. Rpm doesn't know anything about something that was installed on your system by some other method outside of an rpm package. And why should it? Rpm also doesn't know how to find and install any missing dependencies to a package.

That's the job yum provides. Yum can look at missing dependencies and search for what package(s) provides those dependencies from all the enabled yum repositories you're using, and if it finds them, installs them along with the primary package you wanted installed in the first place. But again, yum is like rpm in that it doesn't know or care about anything on your system that wasn't installed from an rpm package or that resides in the repositories.

So if you are using F20 and have the libtiff package installed and updated to the latest available, then you will have installed:

/usr/lib64/libtiff.so.5