PDA

View Full Version : How to install

indi
20th December 2004, 03:54 PM
i have downloaded 4 ISO images from Fedora FC3-i386-SRPMS-disk1, 2 3, & 4 on a comp.
now i want to install this OS on a [old ] comp with 133 MHZ Pentium family.
how to go about it. The 4 Gb Hd has Win 95 but i can formate that HD. i want to use this comp as a desktop.
plz help, i am new to the comps...
Thanks
indi

Pegasus
20th December 2004, 04:19 PM
For installation, you need the installation cd's, NOT the SRPMS cd's

The following CPU specifications are stated in terms of Intel processors. Other processors (notably, offerings from AMD, Cyrix, and VIA) that are compatible with and equivalent to the following Intel processors may also be used with Fedora Core.

* Minimum: Pentium-class
Fedora Core 3 is optimized for Pentium 4 CPUs, but also supports earlier CPUs (such as Pentium, Pentium Pro, Pentium II, Pentium III, and including AMD and VIA variants). This approach has been taken because Pentium-class optimizations actually result in reduced performance for non-Pentium-class processors, and Pentium 4 scheduling is sufficiently different (while making up the bulk of today's processors) to warrant this change.

* Recommended for text-mode: 200 MHz Pentium-class or better
* Recommended for graphical: 400 MHz Pentium II or better

For more information, also have a look @ http://www.fedorafaq.org

indi
20th December 2004, 06:16 PM
For installation, you need the installation cd's, NOT the SRPMS cd's

For more information, also have a look @ http://www.fedorafaq.org

where can i download " installion Cds"? stupid me, Whole day i have been downlaoding those SRPMS-4 disk..
how i will be able to install fedora/Lynux on my old comp?...
is there any way, i could upgrade to higher MHZ?
Thanks for above info...

h4d
20th December 2004, 06:17 PM
is there any way, i could upgrade to higher MHZ?

hmmm...get a new/faster CPU? I really don't get the question!

indi
20th December 2004, 06:19 PM